We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
San Clemente Cove Resort Condominiums
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
speechoc
Level Contributor
77 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great getaway”
Reviewed December 23, 2011

We booked this unit through our timeshare and are pleased with the place. Clean and roomy for a couple. Would be close quarters for 4 people, except for maybe a family. Great location, waking up everyday to sounds and view of the ocean cannot be beat. In December it's not crowded or loud but I would imagine in summer it's crazy. The train was not that big of a deal as the bedroom was in back of unit, but keep that in mind. For those not familiar with area, it is on the southern edge of orange county. It's freeway close, local shops and eats. I will be back!

Room Tip: If available get ocean side room. The back units might have less train noise if you are sensitive to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank speechoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    29
    4
    2
    5
See reviews for
42
54
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 14, 2011

When I checked in there was something wrong with my reservation through the timeshare company I purchased through, but the person at the front desk corrected it immediately which was a huge relief since we drove all the way from Vegas. The rooms were clean and well equipped. Huge balconies with amazing views. Beach was literally across the street! Shops and restaurants are within walking distance. Loved it here and will definitely be coming back soon. Thank you for making it an amazing vacation!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Royalton, Ohio
Level Contributor
88 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Right across the street from San Clemente pier.

Places to eat and drink within a very short walk.

Very clean and comfortable resort.

The building plan has many openings to the sky.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ohio_couple_movin_on
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2011

We so enjoyed a week here. The Ocean Festival was happening when we arrived & it was great fun. Our one bedroom unit on the third floor with a huge balcony was wonderful. Everything was clean, & everyone on the staff with whom we interacted was friendly and efficient. Ceiling fans and open windows for cross ventilation made the unit comfortable in spite of having no air conditioning. We obtained this unit as a timeshare exchange through RCI, and thought it was comparable to the Hawaii unit we traded for it. There is a $9/day resort fee which covers parking and wireless internet. The internet connection was frustratingly slow and intermittent, but was useful when it was working properly. Having onsite parking is great in this location, and being able to just walk across the street to the pier and beach was fantastic. There's a great walking trail along the beach/railroad tracks in both directions. There are good restaurants within walking distance. We enjoyed the Fisherman's Cafe on the pier, Nick's and Avila's El Ranchito in the village on DelMar Ave. There appeared to be a Farmer's Market along DelMar on Sunday mornings. The resort provides beach chairs, umbrellas, and beach towels for free. They rent boogie boards for $5/day. The kitchen is fully equipped with dishes, pans, utensils, dishwasher & liquid detergent, as well as starter packs of coffee, tea, popcorn, and hot chocolate. The train comes by several times during the day, but not late at night, so the noise is tolerable. We checked in on Sunday for a week's stay. On Tuesday they exchanged our used towels for clean ones and emptied the trash. On Thursday there was a mid-week cleaning of the whole unit. There is a coin-operated laundry room on site. Parking is secure on the ground level and they give you a garage door opener to get into the parking area. We loved the place and hope to return.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hendersonfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2011

The treatment I received when I encountered problems with my room was unacceptable. Around 3am my bathroom’s ceiling pretty much caved (about 3x3 feet) in from water buildup from an overflowing tub from the room above. For the next 4 hours the ceiling continued to drip which ruined my sleep for the night. When I went downstairs in the morning I voiced the damage and complained about the disturbance to representative at the front desk when a manager stepped out from her office and said “There was no way that water was dripping for that long,” and started to argue with me with additional aggressiveness. She immediately put me on the defensive with her comments and suggested that I had no idea what I was talking about. The front desk representative mentioned that she’d waive the maintenance fees for the room but it’s been a month and there still hasn’t been any compensation.
When I go on vacation I expect my experience to be close to perfect because I am paying top dollar for it. When a problem occurs, nothing can be perfect all the time, I would expect to be treated as a valued customer and compensated for the inconvenience; In this case management seemed to protect the money that I had already paid over any experience that I had, and then insulted me. I will never do business with this resort again. Terrible service!

Room Tip: Just go to another resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank spolsdoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flat Rock, North Carolina
Level Contributor
139 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2011

First of all the location is great. A VERY short walk to the beach and Pier. Secure parking is provided. The rooms are recently remodeled in the past couple years. The service was good. Beach towels, umbrellas, and chairs are provided at no charge. Along with sand toys for the kiddies. Clean Rooms and friendly staff. We try to make it back every Winter.

My only complaint would be the fitted sheets on the bed are too small for a pillow top matress. They continue to come off during the night and you have to pull them back down every morning.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BluesTraveler75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gates of Hell
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2009

On the plus side, the hotel is located close to the beach as you drop down from Hwy. 1. It is more of a San Diego feel, than Orange County. You are close to the 5 Fwy. so you can get around easily. If you surf, you're very close to Trestles, San Onofre, etc. which makes the dawn patrol especially effective. You are less than a block away from a good restaurant (White Horses is closing soon, to be replaced with an Italian place). There is the main drag for shopping, restaurants and cafes. It doesn't lack for atmosphere, but there's where you'll want to think about it. Its super touristy and very over priced.

The Pier area is very busy and our room was incredibly loud. There is no air conditioning and being by the beach it can be humid and if it is warm you need the breeze. Not all rooms have a view of the ocean, and if you don't have one, forget about it. Being a beach town, things close early, but that doesn't stop revelers from making drunken noise at 3AM., which happened a lot. There's a nice place in Newport that puts you right next to a beach an a pier and even with lots of traffic isn't as disruptive, by way of comparison. Once you have had the novelty experience of dining on the pier and checked out the main drag, there isn't much else to do, except try to relax. Again, with the noise and traffic (often including Harley's revving their engines) I have to say there are better places to do this.

The place itself for the money seems a bit "cheap" and lax about service. Granted its a time share, but we kicked off our shoes upon arrival and before leaving the room had dark black gunk on our feet-most likely from car exhaust wafting through the windows. I can't honestly say that there were any major problems, but there were enough minor ones to add up to a sense of annoyance (the card key system doesn't work properly, the garage clearance is only 6'4" and we narrowly averted a disaster, the flat screen TV mounted incomprehensively in the upper right hand corner of the wall next to the ceiling,

In short, we felt this place was essentially dingy, touristy and not at all a bargain for the money. The bad parts of a beach community seem to have rubbed off.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank J-PBelmonto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Clemente hotels
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites San Clemente
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Casablanca Inn
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Clemente
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
San Clemente Inn
San Clemente Inn
#5 of 18 in San Clemente
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Volare, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
0.1 mi away
Seahorse Resort
Seahorse Resort
#7 of 18 in San Clemente
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Clemente Cove Resort Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Clemente Cove Resort Condominiums

Property: San Clemente Cove Resort Condominiums
Address: 104 S Alameda Ln, San Clemente, CA 92672-5303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > San Clemente
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Specialty Lodging in San Clemente
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — San Clemente Cove Resort Condominiums 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your San Clemente Cove Resort Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Clemente Cove Resort Condominiums Hotel San Clemente

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing