We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Decent West Coast Pizza”
Review of Sonny's Pizza

Sonny's Pizza
Ranked #8 of 217 Restaurants in San Clemente
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Upper Saddle River, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A Decent West Coast Pizza”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

My wife and I found this place by chance when we stopped in San Clemente to fill up our gas tank while driving up the California coast. The place was crowded with patrons, so we thought that it might be a good spot to have lunch. We split a salad as an appetizer, which was just your typical dinner salad and also decided to try their Margarita pizza, made with fresh basil, tomato and garlic. The pie had a nicely flavored tomato sauce, that was loaded with fresh garlic. If you are a garlic lover, then this pie will hit the spot. The crust was someone different than we are used to back home in New Jersey, where there is no shortage of great pizzerias. It had more of a cake like consistency to it. Not bad, but a little different! On the whole, I would call this a decent "West Coast" pizza. We would definitely dine here again if ever in the area in the future.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bulls76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    76
    32
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best place to dine in San Clemente!”
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

A little wait pays off at Sonny's! atmosphere was inviting and fun . The pizza was good. The tortellini tasted delicious and was just enough that I wasn't stuffed, but totally satisfied. My party ordered a sampler plate with 3 different Italian dishes and it fed 2 people easily! We will definitely return next time we come!
Gotta try this place!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alyspence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannon Beach, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
300 reviews
212 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Worth the wait in line”
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

We drove by and saw people waiting outside, and thought there must be good pizza. And there was! Excellent service, with frequent checks to ask if we needed more lemonade or water. The pizza was our preferred thin crust, with toppings right to the edge. Mine was Roman Orgy - just couldn't resist! Loaded with meats and veg. My wife's vegan option was equally loaded, lots of mushrooms and black olives. No rom for desert, but tempted by their tiramisu.
The 70 year old owner still makes the sauces every morning.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kevan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mims
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Sonny's Pizza”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We had excellent food. But they need much better management! While we waited for our table an air headed cocktail server repeatedly got orders wrong and gave incorrect change to patrons.
She spilled a whole tray of drinks after taking two steps out into the patio area. Glass wine and beer went everywhere, and a great deal of it on those of us waiting. She was then more interested in straightening her clothing and hair than the patrons discomfort.
She did not even attempt to pick up any of the glass or other spilled items. She left and a man wearing an apron came out to clean up the mess. Many of us had to move to facilitate this. He never apologized, nor thanked us for moving. The waitress never apologized, and management never apologized. She returned to continue the poor service about 10 minutes later.
The restaurant waitress seemed distracted and did not ask if we needed anything during the meal. The FOOD was absolutely awesome, though. It was so good that we would go back, even though the service was lousy.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gayle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Wouldn't stand in line!”
Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

I read the previous reviews and people mentioned waiting in line for a seat. We ate there for lunch and glad it wasn't dinner with a wait.

The atmosphere is dated and dirty. The basket our garlic bread came in was filthy. The bread was very good and I would recommend it in a clean basket.

The pizza was ok. My husband thought it was very good. I thought it was too salty. The crust is thin. I like Chicago deep dish the best.

My daughter had the tortellini Alfredo which she said was very good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chicago1450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sonny's Pizza also viewed

San Clemente, Orange County
San Clemente, Orange County
 
San Clemente, Orange County
San Clemente, Orange County
 

Been to Sonny's Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing