We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sonny's Pizza

Sonny's Pizza
Ranked #6 of 215 Restaurants in San Clemente
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
la verne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Love this place!”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

great food and enjoyed a bottle of wine. we stop in every time we are in the area! great pasta. wish they had something on the menu that was a healthy option though.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank sheri j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    74
    30
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mission Viejo
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Wonderfully delicious pizza!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

This is my favorite neighborhood pizza place. I drive 40 miles round trip to eat here, and it's definitely worth the drive! The ingredients are so fresh and they have never messed up one of my orders. I'm not much of a meat-eater, but I cannot resist their sausage. It's crumbly, spicy and tastes homemade. I highly recommend it! And my friend says they have the best meatballs around!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Danean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
352 reviews
206 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Great Family Italian Cafe”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Nice casual atmosphere, and even though it's right on Camino Real, the setting feels comfortable. Food is very good, priced reasonably. Pizza is good, but many of the single entrees were even better. Nice wine choice. Helpful staff. It's the kind of place that just looks homey and happy... and is. Definitely worth it for friends, families, groups. Maybe not a totally romantic dinner choice, but it could work that way if you drink enough wine!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PucksterColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
106 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“OK Italian Food. Lot of people like this place.”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Always busy. At dinner time there is often a line of people waiting to eat here. I suppose it's appeal is that it have been around for a few decades. Italian food is good, but nothing special.
If you plan on eating here, do an early dinner, or you will be waiting for a table.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cal92673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana Point, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Gotta Have It!”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Sonnys is casual. Locals know and love it! Generous, yummy Italian and a good wine selection. The staff is friendly, efficient, and the restaurant is family owned and operated. Prices are fair. Parking is limited, but the street behind (El Portal) has plenty. Casual attire: flip flops are almost mandatory. You can't go wrong with this joint, and it is well worth the wait!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KillerDana33842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sonny's Pizza also viewed

San Clemente, Orange County
 
San Clemente, Orange County
 
San Clemente, Orange County
San Clemente, Orange County
 

Been to Sonny's Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing