We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My absolute favorite restaurant!”

Takao Japanese Restaurant
Ranked #65 of 215 Restaurants in San Clemente
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
San Clemente, California
1 review
“My absolute favorite restaurant!”
Reviewed April 6, 2011

I absolutely love this restaurant. I've been coming here for years and have never been dissapointed. I highly recommend their house Oh No! roll. Also, they have an amazing hand roll called the Kitchen Sink roll. The service is fantastic and the staff is all super friendly.

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank huntermarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    14
    7
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
217 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Sushi was a mixed bag - nigiri better than the rolls”
Reviewed March 27, 2011

My wife and I look forward to our trips out west, if for no other reason than the good sushi we usually find. This place served good nigiri, but the rolls were a decidedly mixed bag. Most used a krab filler (even the soft shell crab roll was bolstered with this mayo/white fish mix, which I asked be replaced with spicy tuna) and the two house specialty rolls came drenched in something they call tataki sauce, which over-powered the other flavors in the food. But the service was good and quick, and the fish tasted fresh. Given the other options in the area, I'm not sure I'd go back.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Morpheus1041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
“I always come back, its just my favorite Sushi”
Reviewed January 27, 2011

I lived in San Clemente about 10 years ago and this became my favorite place always fresh and always great. I have moved out of state and back a few times and when ever I come home for a visit I have to get my favorite sushi. I now live in San Francisco area and I will be home this week end and my first stop will be lunch at Takao, If you want fresh sushi this is the place. Yes I am a fan 

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Raiyasdoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diamond Bar, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Awesome! Best Sushi in town!”
Reviewed January 21, 2011

GREAT Food & Atmosphere! I don't understand why people are looking for the most authentic sushi in town. Taka-o was never meant to be about that. Its OC Sushi and its fun. Its not meant to be an overly serious Japanese Restaurant. Love this place.

Be sure to check out its Karaoke its awesome. Best San Clemente/OC Sushi joint in town! If I need authentic... I'd drive to LA.

  • Visited September 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sightlessnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The best japanese in town or the surrounding 20 miles at least”
Reviewed March 27, 2010

Great atmosphere . dim lit japan feeling, cool booths, good cocktails, fine japanese dinning.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cpierobello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Takao Japanese Restaurant also viewed

San Clemente, Orange County
San Clemente, Orange County
 
San Clemente, Orange County
San Clemente, Orange County
 
San Clemente, Orange County
 

Been to Takao Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing