We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of our favorite walks anywhere”

San Clemente Coastal Trail
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Laguna Hills, California
Level Contributor
91 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“One of our favorite walks anywhere”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

The San Clemente Coastal Trail is a scenic coastal walk featuring the Pacific Ocean on one side and the cliffs of San Clemente on the other. We start at the historic San Clemente train station and walk south to San Clemente State Beach, about 2 1/2 miles away. In between you are treated to views of Catalina Island, the occasional train, the San Clemente Pier and all of the people watching you could hope for. We usually include walking the pier in our trail walk, but if you like you can stop half way and enjoy Fisherman's on the pier. Be sure to check-out Ole Hanson's home just south of the pier on the bluff. Don't forget to watch a little beach volleyball or surfing along the way. This time of year the dolphins are swimming and put on quite a show. If you like, you can go a little farther south on the beach (past the south end of the trail) and see where Nixon's Western White House was located.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Crewdog13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    219
    65
    5
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
170 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great 4.5 mile beach trail....”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

I love running or walking this trail. Add the pier and its 5 miles. I always say if I lived here, I would run this every day. Amazing views....

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank DaraTheExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
Level Contributor
172 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Great walk in either direction”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We took two walks--one north and one south. Heading north the views of the ocean are fantastic on a well maintained trail and sloping boardwalk. It's about a mile north from the pier to North Beach, where we stopped for a drink and snack at the new eatery, Ellie's Table, just inland from the Ole Hanson Beach Club. The next day we headed south. The trail south is more sandy and uneven and more rustic than the one to the north, running between the tracks and houses and scrubby canyons. The distance from the pier to Calafia Beach is 1.25 miles. There's a snack bar at Calafia Beach but it wasn't open when we visited. If you only do one walk, head north. If you time it right, you can return to the pier in time to see the often gorgeous sunset.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TooMuch2Do
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Outdoor Walking Trail”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

This trail is fantastic for getting out into the great outdoors and walking (or running/jogging/biking) up and down the San Clemente coast. Always well-maintained, the trail is easy to navigate and provides one with a breathtaking view of the ocean, no matter what direction you take. The only negative is that sometimes, especially on really beautiful days, the trail can be too crowded because everyone is out and about. When you meet mommies jogging with their strollers, bike-riders and dog-walkers, it can be a bit much for those of us on foot. But the trail is well-used and a fabulous asset to the city, nonetheless.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank brea2942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
204 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“A great walk with your best friend. ”
Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

This trail is a great walk! There are many start and stop points for you so you can see different portions of this several mile long trail. Cliffs, ocean, waves, natural landscape, birds, and even dolphins and whales are sometimes visible from the trail. Also take time to watch the sunset over Catalina island.

Helpful?
2 Thank timshuwy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Clemente Coastal Trail also viewed

 
San Clemente, Orange County
San Clemente, Orange County
 

Been to San Clemente Coastal Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing