We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty Thai in San Clemente, CA”

Mongkut Thai Restaurant
Ranked #34 of 216 Restaurants in San Clemente
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Mojave, California
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Tasty Thai in San Clemente, CA”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Decided to try Mongkut Restaurant even though I was sure the food was cooked with MSG. I asked if their Thai dishes could be cooked without MSG and was assured, if requested, the fresh shrimp Thai style would be delicious. I asked and the Mongkut Restaurant delivered.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank avidhiker2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    23
    10
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Clemente, California
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“A hands on family restaurant”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

The owner and his wife seem to really stay on top of their restaurant. There are lots of great dishes to choose from. We especially enjoy the pad Thai, Curry chicken, the Chicken Satay, the spicy beef salad and their soups. We often take their food to go, although eating in improves your chance of a correctly prepared meal. If you get their food to go, be sure to stir in the extra chili seasonings that put on the top of the curry...

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RealRoadWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
2 reviews
“Family's favorite restaurant”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

My sons and I have been coming to this restaurant for almost 20 years!! It's where we go first when someone comes to town. The owner/manager and his wife/chef are terrific hosts and cooks. Our favorites are the Pad Thai and Curried Chicken. I highly recommended it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PettiVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Decent South OC Thai Option”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

I have been here multiple times, and it is good but nothing special. The only reason it gets 4 stars is for the amazing Panang Curry. All of the other dishes I have tried are simply decent and can be found cheaper and just as good at any other Thai restaurant. Other than that the place is small if cute, but the service is always mediocre.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SoCalTraveller9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“First Timer”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

I've heard great things about this place, and last night finally got to try it. The quality was fantastic. The flavors were good, but I found them bland. Maybe it was simply what we ordered? They have a huge menu, so I plan on trying them again and getting new things.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kerry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mongkut Thai Restaurant also viewed

San Clemente, Orange County
San Clemente, Orange County
 
San Clemente, Orange County
San Clemente, Orange County
 

Been to Mongkut Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing