We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“our favorite place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Zona's - CLOSED

Zona's
Cuisines: Italian, American
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Laguna Niguel, Ca
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“our favorite place”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We have been going here frequently since a friend told us about it. Its tucked away yes across from a movie theatre but don't let that keep you away. Right now it is already decorated for Christmas and beautifully. We go with a group of friends for the Happy hr and early bird specials of $10, but the menu is very reasonable too. There are three areas, one next to the large bar but very separate and not too noisy, the other away from the bar on the other side. Also an outside area with heaters. We plan to take a group there for Christmas and have a private room. seating can be intimate or larger seating. The food is outstanding and the service to match. Very old world charm, beautiful interior, clean, great food, not just Italian and a warm and friendly atmosphere. We have had everything from hamburgers to veal, and pasta dishes , all good .

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbarapaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    9
    8
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Clemente, California, United States
Level Contributor
213 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“pretty good and trying hard”
Reviewed May 4, 2012

This is a pretty good place if you are not expecting to much . We go here often knowing we wont be knocked out of our socks but wont be treated badly either . The food is not to die for but good
and the service is better than average . It appears to be family run and it shows in a positive way,
we find it to be clean and well run and the specials seem to be good . It is on the higher end of the price scale for a family /local sports bar but it needs to be in this area to survive . I wouldn't
drive miles to get here but if you fancy pasta or quiet dinner for two or want to watch the game and keep the wife happy this will work well .

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
423 reviews
241 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Good Selections on Menu”
Reviewed January 24, 2012

The restaurant is in a strip mall so it has NO view of anything. Lots of good things on the menu. We tried the salmon and chicken marsala. Both were very good, also the Caprese Salad. We were quite pleased UNTIL we opened our napkin and food soiled silverware. It almost made me sick. We called the manager over, she apologized and brought new. Not sure if I would go back.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lanzie99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
260 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed January 17, 2012

Had dinner at Zona's on Sunday night with my wife and two teenage boys. It's a relativiely new restaurant that occupies a location that was previously a Melting Pot and shares the parking lot with a movie theater in San Clemente.
The service and food were outstanding. My wife was very pleased with her salmon while the boys and I liked our choice of veal picatta and parmigana.
The bill for the four of us (including a $35 bottle of wine) and tip was around $140. Not inexpensive, but very good food and friendly staff.
We will return in the future.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mgtravles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
874 reviews
594 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
“Lunch at a sports bar, and tasty...”
Reviewed January 14, 2012

We were visiting my sister in San Clemente and stopped for lunch. It is a nicely decorated sports bar, quiet on a weekday at lunch. If a person wanted to watch TV there were many flat screens there were many choices. We ordered a half sandwich and bowl of the soup of the day. The soup was a tomato-basil and very good. One of us had a portabello- melt, and the other a pulled pork. We agreed that all of our dishes were good. The price of half sandwich and soup of the day $10 each. Can't beat that ...

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Morcella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zona's also viewed

 
San Clemente, Orange County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing