We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great”

South of Nick's Mexican Kitchen + Bar
Ranked #2 of 217 Restaurants in San Clemente
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $35
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: "Southern California Mexican" Featuring Prime steaks, seafood, and Mexican favorites. An Orange County favorite for Mexican dining.
Laguna Beach, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not great”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Ate here a few months ago and if you're in the mood for mexican food, this is NOT the place you want to go. Overpriced and the food is just OK. Didn't like to seating area since it was so cramped and loud you couldn't even hear the person next to you. Only went here once, which was enough not to go again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank L J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    354
    136
    47
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Upscale mexican food”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Decided to try South of Nick's after going to Nick's down the street for dinner. This place was pretty good as well, personally I prefer the food at Nick's but this wasn't bad. It seems a little pricey for mexican food but this is not just a burrito with rice and beans. The margaritas here are absolutely excellent!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eric L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Since it opened South of Nicks has improved immensely and the food and staff are excellent. We would have no hesitation in recommending it.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank rogermb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boone, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great spot”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

salsa is on point! Margaritas are stellar and the shrimp taquitos appetizer is a must, even good for a dinner plate really. You can also bring in a bottle of wine without a corkage fee, I believe the limit is two. I know a lot of people don't drink wine with Mexican food but it's a nice option to have.
Service is good, but just average really.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank neek o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“It's The Real Deal”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

This was my first time to the restaurant and I just loved it. The carnitas were perfect, but it was a huge amount. I took 1/2 of my meal home because I pigged out on the salsa and hot chips. There isn't a corkage fee so we brought our own bottle of wine to share. I will go back the next time I am in the area,

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vicki D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed South of Nick's Mexican Kitchen + Bar also viewed

San Clemente, Orange County
 
San Clemente, Orange County
San Clemente, Orange County
 
San Clemente, Orange County
San Clemente, Orange County
 

Been to South of Nick's Mexican Kitchen + Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing