We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Twist on the Border, in SC.”

South of Nick's Mexican Kitchen + Bar
Ranked #2 of 216 Restaurants in San Clemente
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $35
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: "Southern California Mexican" Featuring Prime steaks, seafood, and Mexican favorites. An Orange County favorite for Mexican dining.
San Clemente, California
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A Twist on the Border, in SC.”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

My wife and I have visited 'South of Nicks, Restaurant, 3 times. Each time it has been a delight. Not only is the food excellent, but the service is excellent. So important, for the value, quality, and preparation. The drinks are creative, and fit the South of the Border decor and ambiance. We enjoy the combo plates, so we can mix and match.
We would highly recommend this restaurant, within the Nick chain. We love it.
Bob and Elizabeth

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    348
    133
    45
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great San Clemente, CA Restaurant”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Dinner was excellent. We were visiting with friends and ordered both fish and Mexican food. All the dinners were excellent. The salmon was exceptional. Wonderful and very attentive service.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank zeldazelda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, CA
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Really loved the upscale touch to some classic favorites!!!”
Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

This is a very nice restaurant. Great service. Good beer selection. I would give it all 5's except it is a little on the pricey side for mexican food. Gourment touches to the presentation and excellent staff. We will visit South of Nicks again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ranman36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central New York
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Upscale but inconsistent”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Great quac, nicely given to us because of wait for reserved table. Some dishes fantastic. One order filled with seafood, but unfortunately same order for my wife had hardly any filling! Very dark central tables.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank silasabby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piedmont, California
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Almost as good as Nick's!”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Big portions, inventive south of the border food, loved the cheese enchilada with green sauce and the fish tacos.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sunnypiedmont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed South of Nick's Mexican Kitchen + Bar also viewed

San Clemente, Orange County
 
San Clemente, Orange County
San Clemente, Orange County
 
San Clemente, Orange County
San Clemente, Orange County
 

Been to South of Nick's Mexican Kitchen + Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing