We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ah-mazing”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Clemente
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
San Mateo Campground
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Ah-mazing”
Reviewed April 3, 2012

This campground was awesome! We stayed here for 5 days in our 5th wheel. Yes, there were squirrels, bunnies, & birds but our 2 dogs kep them all away. We heard the artillery & helicopters at Camp Pendleton but it didn't bother us.

Only 1.5 miles to Trestles Beach! Also, the San Clemente Beach Walking Trail was spectacular! Great things to do nearby, beautiful beaches. What's not to love?

Showers & campground were always very clean!!! Friendly staff & campers. We loved the space between neighbors. Will be back definitely

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank webbiegurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    20
    6
    5
    4
See reviews for
25
4
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chula Vista, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2011

Stayed here in mid-August and really enjoyed it. Better than the San Clemente campground, which is technically closer to the water but not a surfable beach. San Mateo had larger campsites with trees for privacy and shade in between sites. Closest drive to San Onofre State Beach for surfing, and the $30 you paid for a campsite waives the $15 parking fee at the beach! There are no grills, only firepits, so we brought a spare oven rack which made for a perfect grill. It's also a dog-friendly campground, so our pooch had plenty of company. (San O beach also allows dogs, on leash.) Other reviews complain about squirrels -- bring your dog! We never saw one in our site. The only complaints: they don't have separate areas for RVs and tents. We were lucky the campers near us did not have noisy ambience-destroying generators, but one was setting up just as we were leaving. And we heard some pretty loud artillery fire, and what sounded like bombs and helicopters both nights, up until midnight. I know it's next to Camp Pendleton, but geez... is this common at this campground? Also, people unlucky enough to have sites on the outside loop facing east had their view of what would otherwise be open space ruined by nighttime lights from the base.
Also, in response to some other posts here; we felt safe, like the other campers were good company. Regular families, lots of surfers. No creepy types. But there was one site with loud drunks which fortunately was far from us. Unfortunately, you can't choose your neighbors.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
9 Thank Leslie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laguna niguel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2011

We love this camp ground. Third time coming here.. love it love it.. This time.. squirrels chewed my hubby's engine wires. A cost we can't afford.. Be careful! Otherwise, enjoy the site.

Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank shneebop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2010

My family of nine spent two days at space # 151. Very large site compared to most. The bathrooms were nice and clean. Lots of large bushes everywhere. Our neighbors on either side had loud music at night and a generator running most of the day that were very annoying. We slept peacefully, though, once the music was turned off. The weather was chilly! Would have enjoyed it more if it had been warmer.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HisMineAndOurs14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido,CA
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2010

My best friend and I took our families camping at this campground based on the great reviews and the location to the beach. The campground was very nice, it was clean. The restrooms were cleaned daily and we always had a hot shower. We got lucky with our site and had a decent sized site. Be careful when you choose your site because we walked around and looked at the sites and some were super small. Had we gotten one of those sites our family would not have fit.

We were unlucky enough to get next to a large family that had tons of kids from baby to teenagers and they were up at 6:00 am every morning talking like it was the middle of the day! You can't pick your neighbors, and I guess that's just part of camping.

The reason why I gave this such a low review was because the squirrels were over taking the campground. You could not leave your food on the picnic table for 5 minutes with out one of them jumping on the table looking for lunch! They were always in the trash, climbing on stuff, the tent, camp chairs, everything! We thought we had outsmarted them by keeping our food in plastic containers in the trailer. The worst thing was that they climbed under my friends truck and chewed some wires so badly that now its going to cost her 300-400 to get it fixed!

We will never camp there again! It's too bad too because it is a nice place but we can't take the chance of that happening to one of our cars again. What I wondered was how many other cars had been damaged by the squirrels?? No one mentioned it in the reviews but it has to have happened to others.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Shannon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, California
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2010

My boyfriend and I camped out at San Mateo campground last weekend. We were lucky since our camp spot was big and right next to restroom/ shower. The campground were full at the time we were there. It was clean and organized.

It was a great experience for me. The campsite has indoor hot shower, love it. You will need to pay 50 cent for 2.20 minute (not bad). The restrooms were clean during our stay. I felt safe and was quiet after 10 pm. Each campsite comes with picnic table, firepit, and small bush/ tress for your privacy. It has beach trail about 1.5 miles to trestle beach.
I will definitely camp there again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank meaw_chick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2010

My daughter and I have been camping here for quite a few years when My granddaughters were small I brought them camping here we started out in a tent. we camped like that for about 5 years then we purchased an Rv so now we camp with the hook ups. We just got back for our 2nd time this summer and were going again next week . Loved the camp ground people are considerate had nothing stolen. and close drive to the beaches. I would recommend this to anyone. showers and bathrooms are clean.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank suziepugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Clemente hotels
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites San Clemente
2.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Casablanca Inn
0.3 mi away
San Clemente Inn
San Clemente Inn
#5 of 18 in San Clemente
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites San Clemente
Comfort Suites San Clemente
#10 of 18 in San Clemente
234 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North
1.8 mi away
The Volare, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Mateo Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Mateo Campground

Property: San Mateo Campground
Address: 3030 Del Presidente, San Clemente, CA 92672
Location: United States > California > Orange County > San Clemente
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Specialty Lodging in San Clemente
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 157
Also Known As:
San Mateo Campground Hotel San Clemente

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing