We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service!”

Nick's San Clemente
Reserve with OpenTable
Nick's San Clemente is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 215 Restaurants in San Clemente
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Seafood, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Romantic, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Great food, and warm hospitality. Whether you are looking for a fireside cocktail or a dinner with friends, our carefully chosen menu of sandwiches, steaks, salads, seafood, and handcrafted beverages has a variety of choices to satisfy any appetite. Designed with thoughtful detail, Nick's San Clemente's interior of wood, stone, and jewel like lighting surrounds you in comfort and warmth. A South Orange County Favorite. Enjoy our Patio all year round.
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great service!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

The service was the best we have ever had anywhere! So attentive. The food however wasn't quite what we had expected from all the reviews I saw on Yelp. A bit pricey, but what do you expect for a coast town restaurant. The butter cake however was fantastic.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ecesis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    381
    160
    36
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
114 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, great food - one of San Clemente's best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

A great place with a great vibe. One of San Clemente's top 5 restaurants, Nick's has excellent customer service, an electric atmosphere and terrific food. Try the Chilean Sea Bass tacos, dynamite. Its typically loud in here so not ideal for intimate conversations, on the other hand you can talk loud and still not be overheard. All told the food is great - although they no longer have the excellent Sliders on the menu (seasonal menu item I'm told). A very generous policy allows customers to bring one bottle of wine without corkage fee. A second bottle is $25. A great idea I wish other restaurants would follow.
Located in the heart of San Clemente on Del Mar just west of Ola Vista in the 'happening' part of town.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank ecbatana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walmer, Kent
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

During our recent trip to Orange County from the UK, we visited Nick's in San Clemente a few times and loved it.
The service is excellent, the food is delicious, the atmosphere is buzzing. Make sure you book and don't be late or they will have given your table away as they are so busy! Only criticism is it's a bit dark.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
352 reviews
206 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Delicious, Urbane, Contemporary”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

Incredible food. Try the signature butter cake for dessert--scrumptious. We had braised ribs, a steak and a salad, and all were absolute perfection. The atmosphere is cool and sophisticated, a nice break from the casual beachiness of all the surrounding restaurants. A touch loud, but if you get a table by the sidewalk you get best of both worlds: people watching and a more quiet retreat. Be prepared to wait... and wait... and wait.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PucksterColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Where the yuppies go”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

This is a busy dinner spot... think run of the mill food with a California price tag. The only thing worth eating here is the steak salad. I will admit... its pretty good... but that is about it.

Helpful?
1 Thank Pioneerandexplore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nick's San Clemente also viewed

 
San Clemente, Orange County
San Clemente, Orange County
 

Been to Nick's San Clemente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing