We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food and drinks..”

Nick's San Clemente
Reserve with OpenTable
Nick's San Clemente is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 215 Restaurants in San Clemente
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Seafood, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Great food, and warm hospitality. Whether you are looking for a fireside cocktail or a dinner with friends, our carefully chosen menu of sandwiches, steaks, salads, seafood, and handcrafted beverages has a variety of choices to satisfy any appetite. Designed with thoughtful detail, Nick's San Clemente's interior of wood, stone, and jewel like lighting surrounds you in comfort and warmth. A South Orange County Favorite. Enjoy our Patio all year round.
Dana Point, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good food and drinks..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

good food and drinks...sort of a hot spot in sleepy SC. Gets very crowded and they don't take reservations.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank dqkitri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    381
    160
    36
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best place in the area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

If you can get in, try the fish sandwich! the fried asparagus appetizer seems to be a hit (if you like asparagus). The signature drinks are excellent. I have been here a few times and each time everyone in the group loves everything...we all end up trying each others food and drinks and so far no one has been disappointed. The Laguna Beach location is nosier and more cramped but still very good as well...

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank apriloc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
186 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Nice Atmosphere, Mostly Excellent Fare”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

We went to Nick’s on a Friday for lunch. The place is open and welcoming and was jam packed with all types. One odd group was a table of ladies who do lunch, outfitted in evening attire and loudly drinking champagne at noon. Service was good, despite the crowd. The wait staff were all very attractive.

We had the Ribeye Melt with sliced ribeye, Swiss, grilled onions on parmesan sourdough. The side was a Thai peanut coleslaw. The ribeye was cooked to perfection with the slices pink in the center. The Thai peanut coleslaw was really good and a nice change. The “parmesan sourdough” is the reason I lowered the overall rating of Nick’s to just average. The bread was so greasy that you could have squeezed it and gobs of grease would have spilled onto the table. It was disgusting.

Another in the party had the Rustic Tuna Salad Sandwich and it was a house baked white albacore which was miles ahead of the Ribeye Melt. Possibly the best tuna sandwich we had ever tasted. The side was a warm potato salad which was delicious.
.
We’ll try Nick’s again if we’re in the area, just to try to up our rating by avoiding the Ribeye au Grease.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FrequentTraveller034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California, United States
Level Contributor
92 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Relaxed excellence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

NIck's truly is five-star all the way. The menu is always interesting, prices are competitive, wait staff is friendly and attentive. And the room is attractive, too. Sure, it can get nuts in the summer---and I'd say no matter what time of the year, reservations are in order. Speaking of which, the last time we were there, they had no record of a res I had made a week prior...but the manager handled it with grace and efficiency , plus found us a spot.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, TX
Level Contributor
103 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Even the kids food was impressive! Uniquely different and delectable!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

The kids had grilled cheese with the best fries ever and amazing Mac and cheese! We split sea bass with the softest rice ever and delicious sautéed shrimp. It was lunch and we wish we could come back for dinner for more!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KCP2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nick's San Clemente also viewed

 
San Clemente, Orange County
San Clemente, Orange County
 
San Clemente, Orange County
San Clemente, Orange County
 

Been to Nick's San Clemente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing