We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star hole in the wall...”

Village Mediterranean Rim
Ranked #18 of 214 Restaurants in San Clemente
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Moroccan
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Ladera Ranch, California
Level Contributor
318 reviews
206 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“5 star hole in the wall...”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

walked in off the street when two otehr places were full and an hour wait. there was one open 4 top and we got it. not a big place and definitely pricey but this was a 5 star food night. how could we live here for 20 years and they have been open for 15 and we didnt know about it?
elk, antelope join filet on the menu. the halibut was great and the flank steak was one of the best i have had. the choc cake dessert was awesome and there is a dish that is like pudding with a strawberry in a glass that we will go back for..darn if i can remember its name..

wine was good. nice tasting whites, did not try the reds.. it ran $250 for 4 so as i said it was pricey but that included a bottle of wine and 3 single glasses later.

this is worth going for. we will go back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    23
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cutar, Spain
Level Contributor
134 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Friday evening visit”
Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

A really relaxing place on Avenida Del Mar in San Clemente. The pricing was OK. Good service and good tasting food. Very good dessert, Chocolate Torte and Ginger Cheesecake. Yum

Helpful?
Thank jilltim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Ten Stars If I Could!!!”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

This restaurant is one of my favorites in South OC. The staff is so friendly, helpful, and attentive to the details. And the Food SPEAKS FOR ITSELF!!! Wow! I don't even eat red meat and the chicken dish I had was phenomenal. It was flavorful but not salty, moiste, and had combinations of all the right textures. My husband tried the Wild Boar Sausage Ravioli and the Antelope Tagine and was thoroughly impressed. To complete the meal, even though we did not have room, we decided on the Ginger Cheese Cake which was to die for! Wow... best food experience in a long time!!! - THANK YOU!!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TrvlTrth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel
Level Contributor
55 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Eclectic”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

A small eclectic restaurant with some really different items on the menu. Good curry! I thought it was a little pricey for what we ordered but it was good.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank lagunaniguel-mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
100 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good but Spendy”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

My husband and I enjoyed our dinner here recently. We liked the atmosphere and service was very good. We both ordered off the specials menu so that might be why our meals were so expensive.....$49 for lamb which was good, but not great. My husband had the filet mignon which was good. We would go back for lunch to try some of their pitas or tagine dishes.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Addicted2Travel07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Village Mediterranean Rim also viewed

San Clemente, Orange County
San Clemente, Orange County
 
San Clemente, Orange County
 
San Clemente, Orange County
 

Been to Village Mediterranean Rim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing