We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A classy change of pace”
Review of Cafe Mimosa

Cafe Mimosa
Ranked #10 of 216 Restaurants in San Clemente
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
San Clemente, California, United States
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“A classy change of pace”
Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

This place has a lot of interesting ideas . On our first visit we had steak lobster and scrambled eggs for breakfast and it was very good . True it wasn't cheap but few things are on del mar in Sam clemente . The service was good and the place was light and clean . Thou we didn't have to you could expect to wait a few minutes for a table . Parking was plentyful and you are close to the beach so there was a nice breeze . If you want a nice treat give this place a try its pricey but worth it

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    52
    8
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
san clemente, ca
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Cafe Mimosa Brunch”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

It had been a few years since we had visited Cafe Mimosa for brunch. Previously, the portions were quite petite...okay for me, but not for my husband who likes a hearty meal. On Saturday I had the Creme Brûlée French Toast. It was a large serving and wonderful, with fresh strawberries and raspberries and a custardy topping. I took half of it home and it was delicious later in the day from the fridge, as everything had all melded and absorbed. Yum! My husband had the chorizo scramble and enjoyed it very much. You pay a bit more, but the food is special and worth it. Great service!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank laurieSanClemente_Ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Delicious Traditional French Food”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

My husband and I went to this place for the first time on Saturday. Very impressive food. Everything we order was delicious. Service freindly and professional Awesome location. My steak au poivre was perfect. The potatoes severd with it (like gratin) were so ggod. Loved the Mimosa Ceaser. One of the best ceaser saladas i had outside of Loreto. Mu husband lamb was perfect and so ws teh risotto it came with. Our side of roasted vegetables were fresh and som tasty. Corkage fee $12 makes it even a better deal. Lovely patio outside.
Can't wait to go back again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Helena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, NV
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

While on vacation we visited the beach city of San Clemente. Strolling the cute shops we stumbled upon Cafe Mimosa: what a find! There were four in our party and we all ordered something different- everyone was happy. Of course we had the Mimosa's, they have such unique flavors and all were delicious! I had a wonderful salad with grilled chicken and fresh fruits, loved it! This is a keeper, try it you like it!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hiker329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful French Cafe”
Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

A wonderful French cafe, great atmosphere and service. On weekends this place has a tendency to be very busy, especially on a Sunday. Wait times can be up to 2 hrs, last time we waited 1:45 on Sunday around 11am. Not sure I would wait that long again, however the food was amazing! Everything from the drinks, coffee, food, and desert was delicious. A very cute French Cafe, definitely worth a 45min wait:)

Helpful?
Thank NoTrip2Far
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Mimosa also viewed

San Clemente, Orange County
San Clemente, Orange County
 
San Clemente, Orange County
 
San Clemente, Orange County
San Clemente, Orange County
 

Been to Cafe Mimosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing