We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$252
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$161
ComfortSuites
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Casablanca Inn(San Clemente)(Great Value!)
$237
$200
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn and Suites San Clemente(San Clemente)(Great Value!)
$187
$179
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$114
$100
RodewayInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$269
$219
AscendHotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Tropicana(San Clemente)
$350
$340
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$170
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$149
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (70)
Filter reviews
70 results
Traveler rating
29
17
5
5
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
29
17
5
5
14
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 70 reviews
Reviewed May 1, 2011

This was the first stop for our family on a cross country trip to new York. We were pleasantly surprised when we pulled up. It isn't anything fancy, so if you are looking for that type of hotel, this isn't for you. It was clean and Dana was wonderful. She lives at the hotel and can tell that she does whatever she can to make the stay pleasurable. The only thing that I would say is the bed in the Zen room was a little hard. My kids bed was super comfortable and woke up saying how well they slept. I would recommend this hotel to anyone of our friends!

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ejncs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2011

This Is the perfect surf inn. We stayed for one night and it was very Comfy. We stayed in the japan/china room.the bed was a little stiff but it was overall great

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christiannoah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2011

Free Wi-Fi, Free Cable/HBO
Hooked up outdoor grilling area!
Beach Cruisers, surf boards
Outdoor shower
Great location, centrally located in San Diego County.
Next door to a great restaurant/sports bar we tried and recommend: OC Tavern (great food!)

Room Tip: We stayed in a 2bdrm (#13) and we loved it.
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank griselda3838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2011

You know how you always want to find that hidden gem? That perfect getaway? The one you will return to over and over? Well, this is it! My husband and I are in love with this place.

The Innkeeper, Dana, is the best of the best! We were led to the gorgeous, fun and playful Shag Room. It puts the shag in shagadelic! Yes, it's fun, but it's also super comfortable! This room is actually two rooms, both with comfy beds, perfect pillows, a flat screen and FREE Wi-Fi! Also a fridge, fab powerful shower, and a sitting area that's perfect for relaxing with your coffee in the morning. So convenient - the coffee and coffee maker are furnished, so you don't have to run, half awake, to the nearest coffee house when your feet hit the floor upon waking. And oh, that shag rug under bare feet - delicious!

Super personal touches abound. Great paintings, the cool black panther on the dresser, spotless room and bathroom. We were even greeted with delicious chocolate cupcakes and a bottle of wonderful wine!

It's obvious that a lot of love and care go into this property. As soon as we met with Dana, we knew this was a place we'd return to often. Also, she knows all the great places to dine, surf and play! Whether you want a night on the town, brunch, or a day at the beach, she's got you covered! There's also a communal picnic area in the middle of the property. It is loaded up with everything you need for your own cookout, so cool! There is a grill, microwave, sink, utensils, and even pots & pans. So if you're not keen on dining out, you can make a run to the local store and grill up your dinner right there :) I love this option. Great way to meet other folks as well. We did not do this, but saw several people enjoying steaks and veggies while we were there. Next time we go, we'll grill up some goodies!

Beach is super close, as are so many wonderful shops and places to eat. Dana told us about the Farmer's Market, and we enjoyed that very much. The next day we went to the San Diego Zoo, which is a gorgeous, scenic one hour drive away. When we got back, feet hurting, backs aching, the shag room welcomed and embraced us in a warm hug, magically erasing the aches and pains of two 40-somethings... The hot, steamy power shower felt sooo good after a long day, and then to snuggle into such a comfy bed was just perfect. Ahhh, we slept like babies both nights!

What a memorable weekend, in a memorable place. Thanks Dana, we'll be back!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank brachanam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2011

The INN is a throwback to the typical surfer Motel. Like the ones you picture Endless Summer cast & crew staying. The Manager lives on site which speaks to the "ownership" of the property! Communication with the manager, Dana, and the staff was easy and professional. Room was clean comfortable and very cute! There are standard rooms but I stayed in one of the themed rooms for fun. I was in the Retro room but there are two other very cute ones (the manager showed me all three)! The room was actually a two room set up and had many amenities and a large screen T.V! There is a cute courtyard for grilling and hanging out. The beach is a quick bike ride away! (You could walk too).There are restaurants and stores in walking distance. The OC Tavern was practically next door and had a fun atmosphere and good food! Fun for Sports TV and off site betting if you are into that! So to end this long review of Inn at Calafia Beach, it was Clean, Convenient, and Fun! Highly recommend it for a quick summer road trip! I will be going back with my boyfriend for a long beach weekend!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank roadtripSDG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews