We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Love the Pier area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of San Clemente Pier

San Clemente Pier
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Love the Pier area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I live in San Clemente so have had plenty of opportunities to visit the Pier area. It is quite beautiful and fun to watch surfers on the north side of the Pier. You can park further north at North Beach and walk the beach trail to the Pier area (about a mile). Then head up Del Mar to explore the cute shops and enjoy the restaurants. Nicks is terrific. The little Crepe shop across from the pier is fun too. Don't miss the Friends of the Library book store in the back of the public library - great prices on books!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank SoCalGal92673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    433
    229
    46
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Escondido, California, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lunch on the Pier”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Had a nice lunch and walk with the family on the Pier. Parking in the area was a challenge as it will be with any beach city, but found a space a few blocks away.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Don R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley
Level Contributor
126 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“We lucked out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We were in San Clemente for a wedding and went to the Pier to sight see. First parking stinks if you don't get there early. But there was the annual clam chowder taste off. Great fun! The whole pier is packed with clam chowder booths. Then we had barbequed Maine lobster on the beach. Hint - buy two halves and share.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank oldjgw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
199 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Nice Walk”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Just went for a walk on the pier we did not eat here though we saw people were enjoying themselves at the dining areas.
Fun to do...dont miss it

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank HHIBLONDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, California, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Romantic Escape”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

My boyfriend is from the UK and we hadn't gone to the beach yet, I don't drive so we were trying to find a way to a beach without lots of transfers and mulling around and we found the perfect route from Corona. One train ride and it drops you off right at the Pier.

It was a little slice of heaven! Not crowded and it was full of locals and lovely little treats. We had a walk into town to get some lunch and it was just so much fun! He's been to see my twice in California and each time we've been to San Clemente beach.

I would recommend this place to anyone who wants a change up to the normal crowded tourist beaches.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Ashley E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Clemente Pier also viewed

 
Laguna Beach, Orange County
San Clemente, Orange County
 

Been to San Clemente Pier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing