We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, excellent service, convenient...will stay here again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in San Clemente
Certificate of Excellence
northeast USA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, excellent service, convenient...will stay here again”
Reviewed November 28, 2010

My husband and I were visiting family in San Clemente for Thanksgiving. Picked this hotel off of the Trip Advisor site and were very very satisfied. The staff was amazing. The young women that worked the front desk during the day (Guzy) was wonderful. Friendly, sweet, helpful and seemed to truly take an interest in us and our stay. The young man that came on in the evening was just as helpful and friendly...even baking fresh cookies and having them available for the guests. The hotel was spotless, the breakfast was very good and the location was great. I worried that we may hear the I-5 noise but found I had worried needlessly. Will stay here again when we visit for Easter and would strongly recommend to others.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandcrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    111
    31
    10
    10
See reviews for
138
125
28
85
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2010

Every time I go to San Clemente, I would stay at this Holiday Inn Express because of its location that's close to places I am going. The staff are always friendly and helpful. The room is always clean. The rate is always reasonable. Address is easy to find and there's always plenty of parking. The free breakfast is also a plus. However, to me, it's not a 5-star review, because the hotel's walls are too thin. I can my neighbors. So, because of that, I can only give this hotel a 4-star.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Munky10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beloit, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2010

This hotel was completely renovated in 2009 and the accomidations are a great value. All staff was very attentive to our needs and it was very clean. Away from the businesses and hustle of town, but on the edge and convenient to Highway 5 for easy access to everywhere. Free breakfast and a microwave and frig. in the room really helped with our budget. Would reccommend to anyone looking for an economical nice place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 4, 2010

We visit California once a year on vacation. We have stayed at different hotels, but our stay at Holiday Inn Express was by far the best care that we have ever experienced. The management at the Holiday Inn Express paid special and detailed attention to courtesy, friendlyness and cleaniness. The staff was very friendly and were very helpful when asked about sites to visit. We were always greeted with a smile and a friendly greeting. I highly recommend the Holiday Inn Express as a choice of stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abigail8385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, PA
1 review
Reviewed September 12, 2010

Wow, just read a negative review of this hotel and couldn't believe it. This was hands down the best hotel I've ever stayed in. It had all the best qualities one looks for when one decides on a place to stay.
We came from Maryland to visit my son who was relocated to San Clemente. This hotel was perfect in so many ways. The staff couldn't have been more helpful or nice. There's a feel of quaintness or peace and quiet there. No noise, just tranquility. We passed very few people in the hallways. The complimentary breakfast was GREAT. It wasn't the usual boxed cereal and muffins. It was eggs, bacon, sausage, biscuits. We ate breakfast every morning. Loved, loved the location. A lot of space for parking. It didn't feel like a huge commercial hotel feels. I like that it was around a shopping center and up a hill. Seriously, I can't recommend this GEM of a hotel enough. Oh, forgot to mention, the rooms were immaculate. Clean, modern and very nice. We called the front desk 2 times, once for an extra blanket because my hubby liked it cold in the room and they arrived with a blanket within 5 mins. The other time was to ask for some more wooden hangers, they also appeared in a very short time. I love this hotel, seriously. Best hotel experience I've had and we've traveled extensively.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMV40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gold coast
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2010

Lobby smells like a petstore. 90% of staff were unhelpful and rude. Very noisy next to freeway. Breakfast was awful. Noisy aircon/hard to set constant temperature. Very expensive for such a crap place. They requested $400 to use meeting room for 3 hours - how disgraceful!!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IE02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2010

During the course of a recent family road trip around California, Arizona, Utah and Nevada I had occasion to stay at the Holiday Inn Express in San Clemente. We arrived early at San Clemente after two nights at a dodgy Quality Inn in Hollywood and what a difference.
We were greeted by a young lady called Guzy who allowed us to check-in early, upgraded our room free of charge and then spent time making us aware of the local attractions including options on where to have lunch and where we might find the best shopping.
Nothing was too much trouble for this young lady and her manners were impeccable. My family and I all felt as if she had taken a special interest in us though later I saw her assisting another couple in just the same friendly and efficient way.
The rooms were large, well equipped (Free wi-fi and multi-channel TV) and exceptionally well cleaned. The hotel is a little tricky to find, at the back of a shopping centre but it is well located for I-5 and the attractions of San Clemente. All in all a great hotel experience at a very reasonable price and if you are in the San Clemente area I can thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 032611a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amandp, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North, responded to this review, August 17, 2010
Thank you for staying with us and taking time to share your thoughts with fellow travelers. We do appreciate your comments and business. Warm regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Clemente hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Casablanca Inn
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites San Clemente
0.7 mi away
The Volare, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Comfort Suites San Clemente
Comfort Suites San Clemente
#11 of 18 in San Clemente
232 reviews
2.2 mi away
San Clemente Inn
San Clemente Inn
#5 of 18 in San Clemente
369 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rodeway Inn San Clemente
Rodeway Inn San Clemente
#12 of 18 in San Clemente
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North

Property: Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North
Address: 35 Via Pico Plz, San Clemente, CA 92672-3998
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > San Clemente
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Clemente
#3 Family Hotel in San Clemente
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated Holiday Inn Express San Clemente is nestled in the fabulous beach side community of Southern Orange County midway between Los Angeles and San Diego. Known as the Spanish Village by the Sea, San Clemente boasts having the most pleasant climate in California. With easy access from I-5, short drive from Orange County Airport. Our location makes us ideal for visiting great local attractions such as, Legoland, Sea World, Disneyland, and Del Mar Race Track. You can relax at local beaches, attend surfing competitions, or walk on the San Clemente Pier, shop at the Carlsbad Premium Outlets. For business travelers we are close to Camp Pendleton, SONGS Power Plant, Bechtel, and Quest Diagnostics. Work or relax, our room amenities will assist you in making a day to remember and our bedding will make sure you enjoy a great night sleep. To start the morning right, stop by for the Express Start hot breakfast, served complimentary in our breakfast area and log in to our free WiFi to catch up on world news. A fitness room is available for those wanting some exercise and staying fit. Finish your day by taking a swim in our sparkling heated pool. Our professional staff is courteous, friendly, attentive and committed to making your stay fun, and memorable with first-class quality accommodations and legendary service to exceed your expectations. Stay Smart at Holiday Inn Express San Clemente! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North Hotel San Clemente

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing