We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tricky to find, but a fine stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   35 Via Pico Plaza, San Clemente, CA 92672   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in San Clemente
Certificate of Excellence
Champaign, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Tricky to find, but a fine stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We travelled to San Clemente to visit our son who is stationed at Camp Pendleton. The Holiday Inn Express turned out to be a fine place to stay. The staff was friendly. The hotel was clean with nice decor. Breakfast was included and as expected. The only problem we had was in finding the hotel to begin with. If you have an iPhone and use its map app, it will not be able to get you there. If you search for Leslie's Pool Supply and look for signs for the hotel, you will be alright.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leslie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Holiday Inn Express San Clemente while you were visiting your son at Camp Pendleton. We have tried to work with the GPS companies to get the directions issue resolved but so far no luck. I am happy to hear you did find us. We usually tell our guests to input the Post Office address and that will get you to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Cumming, Georgia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

This hotel is a true find. Located just off the interstate but far away enough that you don't have to put up with highway noise, although it is obviously an older hotel, it has been totally updated to compete with the big guys. Rooms were clean and spacious, flat screen TV, fridge and microwave. Beds were comfortable and everything in the hotel said "FRESH".

Morning breakfast was more than adaquate (I never have seen an automatic pancake maker before). Plenty of parking, a definate "I will come back"

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bialy30041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
92 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We came to San Clemente to visit friends and for the beaches. The hotel was neat and clean. The staff was courteous, friendly and conversational. I really enjoyed the hot complimentary breakfast. It had a good selection from pancakes, oatmeal, yogurt, fruits, sausage, bacon, and eggs. There was also a good selection of teas. Also the toiletries in the room is complete I am pleasantly impressed that they provide make up cleansing wipes. The beds were comfortable and I like the pillows are not too stuffed so it wasn't like sleeping on a bolster. The parking spaces were well lit. But make sure to follow the street signs instead of relying on google maps as the gps will get confused since the hotel is located behind a shopping plaza.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NancyAndrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
238 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

It's hard to find a relatively inexpensive hotel in San Clemente that is not older and somewhat mildewed--but this is it. Nicely clean and contemporary, this hotel has the feel of a new place. We asked for room away from freeway noise and were rewarded with very quiet spot on backside of hotel. Lots of easy parking, breakfast and easy access (once you've found it) make this a keeper. I'd stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PucksterColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

A very attractive mission style building situated on a hill side behind some stores. Desk staff were extremely helpful and attentive. Rooms were comfortable and quiet. Pleasant location but if you want to be in the area near the ocean with restaurants, this wouldn't be the best spot.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
We are very happy you chose to stay with us while you were in San Clemente. We are happy to hear you liked our Mission Style building and I am glad to hear our staff was attentative and helpful. We have a great team here and it is always nice when they are recognized. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saugus
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Great everything. Close to beach, close to restaurants, close to shopping. Very clean and has a fridge, and coffee pot. The breakfast is great. Has eggs, cereal, yummy cinnamon rolls, bacon, sausage and a great variety of bread and rolls. Have stayed her many times. The pool is great,too.

Room Tip: Ask for one in the back. The highway is right there, but the windows do block most of the noisse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Stayed here 8 days. Nice hotel, rooms were clean,breakfast was good, location was close to everything, minor things but great staff made up for it especially Riz,Allan and lady in charge of breakfast.Near highway but was not bothered by it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M_VTucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Clemente hotels
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites San Clemente
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn San Clemente
Holiday Inn San Clemente
#5 of 18 in San Clemente
4.5 of 5 stars 243 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Casablanca Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Comfort Suites San Clemente
Comfort Suites San Clemente
#12 of 18 in San Clemente
3.5 of 5 stars 209 reviews
2.2 mi away
San Clemente Inn
San Clemente Inn
#10 of 18 in San Clemente
3.5 of 5 stars 242 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rodeway Inn San Clemente
Rodeway Inn San Clemente
#14 of 18 in San Clemente
3.5 of 5 stars 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North

Address: 35 Via Pico Plaza, San Clemente, CA 92672
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > San Clemente
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Clemente
#3 Family Hotel in San Clemente
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated Holiday Inn Express San Clemente is nestled in the fabulous beach side community of Southern Orange County midway between Los Angeles and San Diego. Known as the Spanish Village by the Sea, San Clemente boasts having the most pleasant climate in California. With easy access from I-5, short drive from Orange County Airport. Our location makes us ideal for visiting great local attractions such as, Legoland, Sea World, Disneyland, and Del Mar Race Track. You can relax at local beaches, attend surfing competitions, or walk on the San Clemente Pier, shop at the Carlsbad Premium Outlets. For business travelers we are close to Camp Pendleton, SONGS Power Plant, Bechtel, and Quest Diagnostics. Work or relax, our room amenities will assist you in making a day to remember and our bedding will make sure you enjoy a great night sleep. To start the morning right, stop by for the Express Start hot breakfast, served complimentary in our breakfast area and log in to our free WiFi to catch up on world news. A fitness room is available for those wanting some exercise and staying fit. Finish your day by taking a swim in our sparkling heated pool. Our professional staff is courteous, friendly, attentive and committed to making your stay fun, and memorable with first-class quality accommodations and legendary service to exceed your expectations. Stay Smart at Holiday Inn Express San Clemente! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, IHG, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North Hotel San Clemente

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing