We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Clemente
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Garden Cottage at the Green B&B
Ranked #4 of 7 San Clemente B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 28, 2013

It was a wonderful place to unwind for a short get away. The room was tastefully decorated and the bed very comfortable. The breakfast was fresh and served outdoors in the lovely garden setting. The owners were accommodating. The beach is just blocks away, accessed by walking. I would return. Delightful!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rachel b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
williamcjensen, Manager at Garden Cottage at the Green B&B, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

We're so happy you enjoyed your stay and that you were able to have a nice, relaxing beach getaway. We know you wrote this last year but we just joined TripAdvisor and wanted to take a moment to thank you. We really appreciate the lovely review and would love to welcome you back again soon, Rachel.

Hope all is well,
Bill & Sandra, Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (39)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 39 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2013

This place is incredible! Bill and Sandra are the kindest, most hospitable people you'll ever meet. My wife and I stayed here to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We were greeted with champagne and a delicious tiramisu cake. The room is incredible, you really feel like you are away from it all.

Location is great, you are a 10 minute walk from the beach, a 2 mintue walk from the golf course, minutes from some great hikes and a short drive from downtown.

We will definately return and highly recommend this place, you wont be disappointed! The gardens are soothing, the room is very clean, overall, a cozy couples getaway.

Room Tip: this is a one room B&B, not matter which room you choose, its good! LOL
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zekeandmonica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
williamcjensen, Manager at Garden Cottage at the Green B&B, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

We really appreciate you taking the time to review us here too, Ezekiel! We know we messaged you on Yelp but we just wanted to say thanks again. We're so honored you'd choose to spend your anniversary with us and we're so happy we could help make your couples getaway so memorable. If you're ever in need of a weekend away in the future, you know where to find us. We've got some cake and champagne with your name on it!

Thanks again,
Bill & Sandra, Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Stayed for our 20th wedding anniversary and during our three night stay we felt very special. Bill and Sandra went out of their way to help us celebrate. Champagne on our arrival and a sweet little cake a few days later. So nice of them. We also had a gift certificate to use for breakfast one morning down at the pier, at Beach Garden Cafe. We certainly felt very welcome and felt that we wanted for nothing at all times.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank jilltim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
williamcjensen, Manager at Garden Cottage at the Green B&B, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2014

We really appreciate you taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor as well. We know we wrote you back on Yelp but we wanted to thank you here too. We're so happy we could help make your 20th wedding anniversary an even more memorable occasion, and are so glad that the little touches made everything feel that much more special.

Thanks again for your kind words,
Bill & Sandra, Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

I wanted a private, intimate setting to propose to my fiance and the Garden Cottage could not have worked out any better than it did - the hosts are warm and accommodating, the grounds are beautiful, with nice, faint background music playing it seems at all times. The accommodations include a nice kitchenette with microwave, refrigerator, hot plates, crockpots, utensils and enough stuff to reheat or cook a simple meal. The bedroom was nicely appointed with multiple heaters (my fiance gets cold!), an ample closet and a nice little Sony stereo with a variety of CD's and a dock for your ipod. The balcony overlooking the grounds made for the perfect spot for an intimate place to exchange our holiday "gifts," mine being the ring. Breakfast next morning was nothing short of spectacular. Cannot say enough great things about the Garden Cottage and know that we will be back regularly.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blake B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

What a lovely, private, quiet, and ideal location to spend a weekend away from the kids! Bill and Sandra are incredibly hospitable and accommodating. The breakfast was amazing. The cottage is a five minute jog from the beach. The garden is exquisite and the perfect place to enjoy a good book. Couldn't ask for anything more!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Because of work being done on our home, we had to spend the night elsewhere. We selected Garden Cottage on the Green. What a fortunate choice that was. The setting is so peaceful and very relaxing. It was very pleasent and just what we needed. Looking out on and also walking the gardens was delightful and the hospitality of Bill and Sandra was beyond compare. Everything about the Garden Cottage made us feel at home and comfortable, but also pampered. The breakfast was excellent. All in all is was great!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Ernie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Each guest is the ONLY guest of the two-story Garden Cottage. The complete privacy, the inspiration of the espalier fig and apple trees (and their cheerful gardener!), and the romantic cottage-style created a comfortable setting for us to unwind, reflect, and reconnect as a married couple. We lost a baby earlier this year, and "getting away" wasn't going to be easy; but, our visit exceeded our expectations. There are many simple touches and details you will appreciate - and no spoiler alert! :-) But do savor every delicious bite of the homemade ham and cheese croissant should you receive one! One suggestion we have is for guests to give the proprietors advance notice for allergies and dietary restrictions; not that we had any, but the towels were laundered with consideration of a previous guest's allergies...and just didn't smell right. Still, the proprietors volunteered this information the next day without our needing to mention, which pleasantly surprised us. Lastly, make sure to ask for how to access the free wifi, if you really think you need it. (We didn't, but had tried.) We left grateful for having met a couple who is truly wise to the real joys and pleasures of living well. Hugs to Bill and Sandra!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimplySensible
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Clemente
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites San Clemente
1.7 mi away
Casa Tropicana
Casa Tropicana
#11 of 18 in San Clemente
204 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites San Clemente
Comfort Suites San Clemente
#12 of 18 in San Clemente
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Always Inn San Clemente B&B
Always Inn San Clemente B&B
#2 of 7 in San Clemente
173 reviews
7.6 mi away
Blue Lantern Inn - A Four Sisters Inn
23.8 mi away
Doryman's Inn
Doryman's Inn
#1 of 2 in Newport Beach
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Cottage at the Green B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Cottage at the Green B&B

Address: 119 Avenida Santa Inez, San Clemente, CA 92672-3454
Location: United States > California > Orange County > San Clemente
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in San Clemente
Price Range: $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Garden Cottage at the Green B&B is a truly distinctive bed and breakfast designed especially for the enjoyment of its unique, award-winning gardens, vast golf course, and fresh coastal breezes. This exclusive retreat offers complete seclusion and privacy while still offering the intimate and warm hospitality expected from a bed and breakfast. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing