We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (216)
Filter reviews
216 results
Traveler rating
135
34
16
20
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
135
34
16
20
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rose petals the san clemente pier across the street french press coffee communal kitchen area no elevator boutique hotel ocean view jacuzzi tub great beach bagels fireplace patio refrigerator
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 216 reviews
Reviewed April 7, 2018

I usually book the getaways for my wife and I, so this time, she decided to surprise me with a weekend away to the Casa Tropicana for our anniversary. The location of this place is incredible. Directly across the street from the beach/ pier. The trip started off a little rough - my wife researched the hotel website, which claimed that ALL rooms had whirlpool tubs. So she chose our room based on color tones, etc. Upon checking in, she was informed that was the ONLY room without the tub. She was devastated that she could not switch to a room with a whirlpool tub - she had been looking forward to that tub. The hotel was full, so we got what we got. To be fair, though, the woman working (I'm sorry I did not catch her name) was extremely sorry for the issue and was very nice and helpful. She hooked us up with some yummy chocolate covered strawberries and champagne and spread rose petals around the room. Her customer service, smile and friendly attitude turned it all around. She was super cool all weekend, and you could tell she cares about her guests. Apparently the website had a typo about the tubs, and she was going to fix it. The place is very small and cozy. You can hear everything going on outside the room, but everybody was very respectful with privacy. The only real issue we had with noise - and this was not in any way the hotel's fault - is railroad repairs at 2 am on a Friday night when we had fallen asleep. The train runs right across the street, which is not a big deal. However at around 2 am, the most loud, obnoxious pounding woke us straight up. It was horrible. I walked out to wish the crew a great night - :) - and it looked some some big machine was pounding spikes into the tracks. Otherwise, we slept like champs in the room/ bed. The shared patios with ocean views were so relaxing, and the views were awesome. The location is fantastic - you can walk to all kinds of restaurants and bars up on the main street. There is also really good food right downstairs from the room, a little liquor store next door....great location. It is definitely a little older, and could use some some repairs, updates, but I'm sure that will happen. And it definitely wasn't anything major. It is a really cool, relaxing little place!

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BCreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2018 via mobile

Fabulous beyond words. Top (5th) floor of this charming boutique hotel all to ourselves. Beautifully appointed room where, from the bed and the bathtub, you have an ocean view. The large balcony has a 240° view of the beach, the ocean, and the pier!!!!! And, there is a Jacuzzi. We were given a bottle of wine because it was my birthday, and there was fruit, coffee, tea, and bagels for breakfast. Andrea was very helpful and even called us at home to tell us that our room was ready. We will have to come again!

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank JIMNNANCY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristy F, Manager at Casa Tropicana, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2018

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay here!! Thrilled to have made your birthday special. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon!!

Thank you,
Management
Casa Tropicana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2017 via mobile

This hotel was such a sweet surprise on our recent trip to Southern California. We booked it on a recommendation and fell in love with its warmth and charm. It's a great, quiet little spot for those who want something special, private and unique. We will definitely be back!

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank lilmisssmarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristy F, General Manager at Casa Tropicana, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2017

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us!! Thrilled that it made your trip so special. We look forward to having you stay with us again!

Sincerely,

Casa Tropicana Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2017

Great view of the ocean and pier. That's it! My white socks were so dirty on the bottom I threw them away; that was from walking around the inside of the unit. The website and available amenities do not match. Muffins were old and dry, fruit was hard as a rock. The pocket door to the toilet continued to come of the sliding rail consequently wouldn't open or close. Privacy didn't exist. The solution was to offer a bottle of wine two days in a row. A handyman was called to look at the door whatever he did didn't work. Too many other hotels in the area to stay here again.

Room tip: Rooms that face the ocean are best...or stay at another hotel
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Larry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristy F, Manager at Casa Tropicana, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2018

We are currently under new ownership and ask that you kindly accept our apology for not being able to provide you with the high standard of quality that your deserve. The owners are planning a full remodel and renovation of the property and would like to invite you back at a twenty percent discount after the renovations are complete.
We genuinely regret any inconvenience during your stay with us and are actively working to improve service and your comments will help in that endeavor.

Sincerely,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2017 via mobile

We had fond memories of past stays at Casa Tropicana so we decided to stay again for our anniversary July 10th - 13th. Upon arrival we noticed a crew working on the property blocking access via the normal stairway. When we checked in the property manager informed us of the work being done and had us enter the property from the back entrance. We voiced our concern right away about this construction work and if it would effect the quality of our stay. We were assured that the work would not continue for our entire stay which was not the case. For the two days we were there we heard hammering, drilling from late morning until early evening. They tried their best to work on other floors but on the last day of our check out we had to check out early because they were working our floor and we could not access our balcony area and the noise level was loud. How does a hotel that charges these summer rates schedule construction during the peak season? If we had been warned before we booked we could have made other arrangements. Once you book you cannot cancel so we were stuck upon arrival. Also we learned upon arrival they no longer include breakfast on the balcony even though it was still showing this amenity on their website. After we informed them of this the website was changed. Overall a very disappointing experience and we will be giving other beach resorts our business going forward.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews