We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great accommodation”
Review of Casa Tropicana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa Tropicana
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in San Clemente
Reviewed May 27, 2012

This was our first time at Casa Tropicana and it will not be our last! It is located across the street from the San Clemente Pier, beach, and train station. Each adds to the atmosphere. The pier affords great views, and two restaurants. The beach is a welcome spot to relax, sunbath, surf, or frolic in the sand. Although the trains will bring noise; it adds charm in that some of southern California's great cities can be visited via a short train ride. The hotel will fulfill all of your basic needs. Things they do well.....a firm bed, balcony and patio access for each room, a fridge filled with refreshments(ours included champange) daily breakfast buffet, and closeness to services. Each room is designed differently so be sure to ask for a room that will satisfy your taste. Romance, weekend getaway, or a nice place to stay are good reasons to stay here.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank acoachcool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (203)
There are newer reviews for Casa Tropicana
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 203 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2012

We stayed at the Casa Tropicana in the Casa Del Ray Penthouse suit on our wedding night on April 5, 2012.
We do not live in the US and we researched this hotel frequently. We were happy with the reviews and the photos. We checked in the day of our wedding. The staff were friendly, the view was breathtaking, and the memories were amazing. The room is definitely worth staying in if you are looking for a special time away at an amazing beach. The bed was great to sleep in, the furniture was cute, there was access to a fridge and microwave, a hot tub, a private balcony.
The only things that I was unhappy with was: there were some dark discolouration to the carpet, one of the sliding doors was off its hinges before we even touched it, one of the lighbulbs blew when we turned the light on, the hot tub would not respond to being turned off, only one of the shower heads worked and the pressure of the working shower head was poor, the sink would not drain properly, and the taps turned on and off in opposite directions. I know these things are minor fixes but as someone who paid a lot of money to stay here, i was looking for something that was going to be fantastic; and I feel like if you're going to spend good money on a great hotel room, everything should be in working order and should be checked. It upset me a little bit that there were so many minor problems with the room.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Samantha F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at the Casa Tropicana for our 25th Anniversary. Very cozy room.....albeit a little on the small side.....but not a real big problem. We arrived in San Clemente early in the day and they were very accomodating to allow us to check in early and that was huge for us!!!! They had our room ready and even had lit the fireplace for us!!! THANK YOU RICK and staff!!!!
The breakfast menu was the same every day and we have stayed at other B&B's and had more of a variety for breakfast.....but the food was delicious!!!! The refrigerator was well stocked with water, sodas, juice and "goodies"!!! Overall we LOVED Casa Tropicana and San Clemente!!! (Fisherman's Restaurant across from Casa was SUPERB!!!!)

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bakersbasket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2012

My wife and I stayed here last Saturday to celebrate our birthdays. We had seen many good reviews on Trip Advisor, and we weren't disappointed! Rick was the consummate host, checked us in and even came immediately when we needed an "unstopping" in the bath. He came by later to wish everybody a great stay. We loved the fact that we could go out on the balcony after a nice jacuzzi, wrap ourselves up in the ponchos provided, and listen to the sounds of the waves and nothing else. I am in the hotel business myself, and I can tell you, this was REAL hospitality! We will be back again soon.

Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2012

Casa Tropicana was beyond amazing! I most especially loved to feeling of the family owned atmosphere! Such a great small town feeling with luxury and attention to detail! No corporate America here. no nickle and dimming the guest to death. Rick the owner is onsite and just so charming! We felt like we were staying with family. I loved the feeling of the shared porch area, again added to the friendly feeling. Had a blast just chatting up the owner, guests and locals! The restaurants at the pier were full of friendly people and the food was killer! Just classic 5 star service without pretension. CHEERS!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shedevilsondra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Just got back from San Clemente where I spent a weekend. Loved the Casa Tropicana. Across from the San Clemente Pier. Great view, comfy bed, friendly service. Breakfast was yummy. We had a GREAT time!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roxydg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights. We were fully aware of 2 things prior to booking, 1) the train tracks in front of the hotel and 2) the Sunset bar on the ground floor. The rooms were nicely set up, with rose petals on the bed and in the bath, as we checked in. Unfortunately, the shower head wasn't working. We informed the owner and this was promptly replaced. The bath tub was a little stained and the signs of use were quite evident. The tap on the sink was also leaking slightly.
The train runs every 15 to 20 mins from about 6.00am to about 11.00pm. If you're up for an early night or want to sleep in, i'm not sure if ear-plugs will help. It certainly didn't help me. The issue is the trains sound their whistle (or rather horn) - this over a few times as the approach the front of the hotel. Sunset bar wasn't too much of an issue. We could hear the music in the room (we were on the first floor, above the restaurant), but if we had the TV on, it was fine and the music tended to stop after 11.00pm. Breakfast was okay. Overally, in terms of price-value, I don't think Casa Tropicana offers this - it's far too pricey and I would expect a higher level of attention to detail in the room.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Foodnwinentravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Clemente hotels
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Casablanca Inn
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites San Clemente
0.7 mi away
The Volare, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North
0.6 mi away
The Patriots Boutique Motel
The Patriots Boutique Motel
#9 of 18 in San Clemente
86 reviews
1.4 mi away
San Clemente Inn
San Clemente Inn
#5 of 18 in San Clemente
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Tropicana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Tropicana

Address: 610 Avenida Victoria At the Pier, San Clemente, CA 92672-5369
Location: United States > California > Orange County > San Clemente
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in San Clemente
Price Range: $247 - $432 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Tropicana 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spanish-inspired architecture, ocean views, stylish comfortable decor and a relaxed atmosphere. We invite you to enjoy sunset from an ocean view deck Casa Tropicana Hotel in San Clemente is located steps from the beach and close to many local faves – Casa Romantica, San Juan Capistrano Mission and Disneyland. Offering complimentary amenities - beach bags and chairs, flat screen TVs, fireplaces, robes, wifi, and Jacuzzi tubs. Great off season prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Casa Tropicana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Tropicana Hotel San Clemente
Casa Tropicana San Clemente

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing