We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent customer service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Carlos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Carlos
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in San Carlos
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Excellent customer service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

We stayed 2 nights there while visiting SF. Location suited us, only a short drive from SFO. Due to a very early arrival and very early departure after 2 days we were allowed to have breakfast on the first day and check in early at 9am. Highly appreciated! We had great breakfast: bacon, eggs, breads, cereal, hot oatmeal, fruits, yoghurts, hot waffle. We thoroughly enjoyed, if you have no time for breakfast you can still grab some bars or fruits on the way out, great idea! Room was very comfortable, flat big screen tv, clean plenty of towels, we had great sleep! We would definitely stay there again on our next trip to SFBA!

Room Tip: We asked for a top floor room not on the train track side and this is exactly what we got. Although...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank izakrak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    147
    32
    11
    16
See reviews for
133
85
34
173
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Oregon
Level Contributor
234 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

We chose this place mainly because of it's proximity to where our business would be. The place was very clean, Service was outstanding. The free breakfast was exceptionally nice as far as free breakfasts go. Pool was outdoor, small and not heated so we skipped using it as it was December. One thing I liked most was being 2 blocks from downtown San Carlos with pleasant shops and a great selection of restaurants. More could be found in the other direction along El Camino Real. Two fast food places were directly across the boulevard.

The biggest draw back was a noise problem. The building was a cookie cutter layout that did not consider that a commuter rail line ran right next to the parking lot on one side and a busy boulevard on the opposite side. There was no effort in the design to compensate for this. Also sound proofing was poor between the rooms. For this particular stay this was not a big problem for me but a person might find it annoying.

There is no restaurant or lounge in the building. Again, for this stay I was good with this but often I enjoy not having to go out for a bite or a relaxing drink although there were many nice places very near by.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 651Eddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solvang, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

Our family group occupied 4 rooms; 3 rooms for couples and one room for 2 teenage brothers. Six of us arrived in the afternoon in 2 automobiles. Two arrived at SF airport on a flight from San Diego later that night and were picked up by one of us who drove up; SFO is only 20 minutes away. Access to highway 101 is easy. The rooms were very spacious, the bed was comfortable and the flat panel TV was very clear. Our room was very quiet, but one couple said the noise from breakfast awakened them. The breakfast was very good; all of our group was able to find things they liked - eggs, waffles, toast, bagels, muffins, yogurt, fresh fruit, juice, coffee, hot cider and tea. We will stay there the next time we visit the area. There were no small children in our group and none of us used room service.

Room Tip: All of our rooms were on the third (top) floor so we did not have any noise from people walking arou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RRL42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013

I have driven by the hotel a million times and never really noticed it before. I was amazed at how nice it was inside, the room was large and clean, the bed super comfy, great water pressure in the shower, and the breakfast was fantastic.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jeff j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

quiet night, room was clean and bed was comfortable, breakfast was varied and well stocked and enough seating although hotel was not full, good use of points from previous stays. Mcdonalds over the road was just what we needed after a long journey.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank M D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
93 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

Its always nice to stay at a hotel that is up to date. The hotel is relatively close to the 101 so it was easy to get to. If you travel by train, it is a very short walk from the train station with regular services from/to San Francisco. Incidentally, one does not hear the train from inside the hotel.

We were there for the weekend. The price was rather inexpensive in comparison to similar hotels in the area. The hotel has a fresh modern look on the outside as well as the inside, a quality place. Check-in was a breeze.

The room was large and comfortable. The TV was satisfyingly large. The bed and pillows were very comfortable. The bathroom sink and make-up area was part of the room and the bathtub Jacuzzi and toilet were in a separate room. There was a lounging chair as well as a desk with plenty of electrical outlets. On each side of the bed were adjustable reading lights. The heater/cooling system was one of the units under the window, worked well and was quite (I'm a light sleeper). A few times, we did here little noise from the second floor as if someone dropped something. What I was surprised about was that in the morning, we did not hear the "breakfast" crowd in the courtyard and slept through mid-morning. We arrived late and consequently got up late.

The free breakfast was typical for this type of hotel and everything was fresh. Scrambled eggs, bagels, cereal, yogurt, make your own waffles, etc Close by are other restaurants, pharmacy and car wash.

We were glad to have stayed here. Will stay again when in the area.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank R_n_R_Travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
141 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

The room was fine, the rate was good and the location was good. Couple of problems. With the layout of the hotel, it is a courtyard style, it is noisy in the early morning as they set up breakfast in the court yard area. Also the walls were paper thin and we could hear our neighbours talking.

The smell of the food from breakfast also rose up to our room. Not terrible but when you are woken up early by noise, didn't enjoy the smells. Perhaps it was our room

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zane V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Carlos
0.8 mi away
Pullman San Francisco Bay
Pullman San Francisco Bay
#1 of 17 in Redwood City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,341 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel San Carlos - San Carlos
3.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
LiA Hotel
LiA Hotel
#2 of 7 in San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Suites Belmont
1.5 mi away
HYATT house Belmont/Redwood Shores
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Carlos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Carlos

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Carlos
Address: 251 El Camino Real, San Carlos, CA 94070
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Carlos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Carlos 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its charming décor and convenient amenities, the Country Inn & Suites San Carlos hotel is ideal for your next vacation or business trip. Halfway between San Francisco and San Jose, our hotel is also near Oracle Headquarters in Belmont, CA, 23 miles from San Jose International Airport and only 11 miles from San Francisco International Airport (SFA). An ideal lodging choice for travelers of all types, our Country Inn & Suites also features such amenities as free high-speed Internet access, coin laundry and a Fitness Center on site. Make your reservations online today for our hotel rooms and suites in San Carlos and see what sets us apart from other hotels in San Carlos, CA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Carlos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson - San Carlos Hotel San Carlos
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson - San Carlos
Country Inn San Carlos
San Carlos Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing