We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Carlos
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in San Carlos
Certificate of Excellence
Union City, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“cozy :)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

The location was excellent, but what impressed me the most was the condition of the room. It did not feel like I'd overpaid, which is always a lovely first impression :) The rooms are a little smaller than I'm used to, but it did not lack in comfort because of this. The selections made during recent renovations and upgrades to the room supplies were superb, giving the room a modern yet cozy feel. The breakfast selection also impressed the next morning, with a good selection to get started for the day. I would definitely stay here again. It provides a great service for a reasonable price for the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    127
    28
    11
    14
See reviews for
113
68
27
141
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
surrey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Rooms look recently renovated and well appointed for the standard of hotel but there are a few little things with the fundamental building structure that push the grade down a little such as the sound insulation between rooms, even after a long flight i was woken in the night and ended up spending the early hours listening to the neighbours TV and later on snoring.

Yeah the neighbourhood doesn't look the best, but it seemed quiet, clean and safe. No problems walking across the street to the golden arches. Tacos are also available next door.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We had reservations here for our wedding reception in January. Somehow, there was a mix-up with our reservation, and we were confirmed for the weekend before our planned stay. I learned about the mix-up after receiving e-mail that we'd been charged a no-show fee. My wife called the hotel to resolve the mix-up, and let them know we were actually arriving on the coming weekend.

The manager of the hotel (Perry) refused to refund the no-show fee, and was unbelievably rude, hanging up on my wife during her initial call.

We had many of our guests reserve at the Country Inn & Suites, and I let the manager know we'd all prefer to stay somewhere else if he was going to refuse to resolve the misunderstanding. He told me I was wasting his time and hung up on me.

I don't understand why any business would want to lose out on thousands of dollars to hold one person to a no-show fee that occurred as the result of a mix-up.

I would recommend against staying here. The customer service is some of the worst I've ever encountered.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Longshot78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generalmanager251, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Carlos, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Longshot78

I appologise for the inconvienience. In future please make reservations directly at the Hotel at 650.508.1800 or through our website directly at countryinns dot com to avoid any mixups with other 3rd party sites.

Thanks
Parry Bir
Generel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Located on El Camino in San Carlos but so close to Belmont we actually consider it a Belmont motel. We have stayed here many times over the years and continue to enjoy the experience. The staff are very helpful and friendly and actually seem to enjoy providing service. The rooms are very clean and very comfortable. Renovations are occurring which only improves the experience. The breakfast buffet has improved and includes a variety of choices, especially important for those who cannot eat an high carbohydrate diet. Many nice restaurants in area offer a variety of choices for later lunch or supper.

Room Tip: Have stayed in several rooms, all have been quiet and comfortable. The rooms on the east side are ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank califnonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arroyo Grande, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I would recommend this hotel for everyone who wants to go or visit San Francisco. It is only like 45 min. or so. Plus, this place offers great price, free hot breakfast, indoors room, fantastic service offered, and great location for restaurant and so on and on. Rooms are great. Lastly, cheap and affordable place to stay. Thank you to front desk and manger that served me and helped me during my stay.

Room Tip: Rooms are indoor, pretty much whole place is nice and quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nish P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

My husband and I stayed the night here for one night on our way to San Francisco, what a surprise!! This hotel was extremely clean, newly remodeled, and a staff that really knows the meaning of customer service. The rooms are spacious, the lobby was inviting, and the morning breakfast area was huge! The continental breakfast was full of options and you never wanted for a seat. I would highly recommend this hotel and will definitely go out of my way to stay at another one of their locations if given the chance. This is not a 5 star hotel but for the money, you really get a BIG bang for your buck!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tinabgu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester, nh
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I was a little apprehensive when I saw the neighborhood the hotel was in but it turned out to be fine, just not a ritzy neighborhood. The room was pleasant and well equipped with everything you could want -- wifi, nice TV, bathroom had the sink outside of the shower/toilet area, and the bed was comfortable. Breakfast in the morning was adequate. Nothing fancy but more nutritious than the typical starchy, high-carbo breakfasts that many motels/hotels feature. Parking was right there and free and there seemed to be enough spaces to accommodate the guests. I would stay here again, which of course is the ultimate test.

Room Tip: The hotel is not in a scenic area so location of the room is not a big deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2tired2drive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Carlos
0.8 mi away
Sofitel San Francisco Bay
Sofitel San Francisco Bay
#1 of 16 in Redwood City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,244 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Suites Belmont
0.2 mi away
Hotel San Carlos - San Carlos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
HYATT house Belmont/Redwood Shores
0.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Francisco San Carlos
1.0 mi away
TownePlace Suites Redwood City Redwood Shores
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Carlos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Carlos

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Carlos
Address: 251 El Camino Real, San Carlos, CA 94070-2405
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Carlos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Carlos 2.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its charming décor and convenient amenities, the Country Inn & Suites San Carlos hotel is ideal for your next vacation or business trip. Halfway between San Francisco and San Jose, our hotel is also near Oracle Headquarters in Belmont, CA, 23 miles from San Jose International Airport and only 11 miles from San Francisco International Airport (SFA). An ideal lodging choice for travelers of all types, our Country Inn & Suites also features such amenities as free high-speed Internet access, coin laundry and a Fitness Center on site. Make your reservations online today for our hotel rooms and suites in San Carlos and see what sets us apart from other hotels in San Carlos, CA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotwire, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Carlos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson - San Carlos Hotel San Carlos
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson - San Carlos
Country Inn San Carlos
San Carlos Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing