We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small breakfast, whirlpool and sauna included; room was decent. Good weekly rate. I'd return...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in San Carlos
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Small breakfast, whirlpool and sauna included; room was decent. Good weekly rate. I'd return...

Location was convenient to the Bay Area. Used my earplugs due to train across 4- lane road - would recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ErikMetzger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (129)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

78 - 84 of 129 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2013

I came here because I had a job interview in the area.
To be clear this hotel just provides the basics, but it does it very well.
The rooms appear quite dated, but they are very clean and the beds are very comfortable.
They also provide internet access as well.

Finally, the trader joe's across the street was very convenient.
I can't comment on the service other than there was someone to check me in and tell me what to do to check out in the morning.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luis O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

I'm always a bit leary of certain budget motel chains like ABVI, but I stayed here three nights last week and I was very satisfied. Driving into central SF (25 miles) can take nearly an hour during rush hour but for me that was a fair trade-off for such a clean, inexpensive room. (SFO is a 20 minutes drive.) Light sleepers might find the sound of street traffic and commuter trains a challenge but otherwise this is a decent location, especially since a Trader Joe's is just 100 yards away. TJ's great for stocking up the mini-frig and avoiding the sad looking continental breakfast that's offered here. I really can't speak to the front desk service but the housekeeping was good.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John D.M.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We got in almost close to midnight and an Indian guy attended to us. He was not friendly at all. He sounded pissed at being bothered at that time of the night to attend to us. His tone when explaining where our room is was not something one would like to hear after a 12-hour flight.

The room is clean and beds are comfortable. Bathroom smells good and also very clean. Carpets looks like its being cleaned everyday.

Location is great as it's close to the freeway. Easy to go north to San Francisco, or south to San Jose.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michele F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We have chosen this inn to stay at 3 times now and have been very happy with it. It's clean and comfortable and the manager and his wife are very friendly and helpful. The location is easy to find off Hghway 101 Great value for the price.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo-Ann S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

It's a great place to stay . The staff is so professional and house-keeping is of top class. Being so close to the Redwood shores makes it a best place to stay for an official trip. The manager and his wife make me feel very comfortable with their hospitality and family type spirit.If you are looking for an affordable, comfortable, quiet hotel close to restaurants, shopping, parks and freeways this is the place for you. To me it was almost a second home . I stayed over here for 15 days with peace of mind and pleasure.








.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mudit k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

I got to my hotel room on Wednesday Janury 30th, found a very nice suite with jacuzzi tub and a large king bed, the room was excellent and very clean, the manager was outsatnding in providing local information.

This is by far the best hotel I have stayed in and the value makes it even better.

Thank you for your hospitality Mr. Patel it was much apreeciated.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 111MiguelP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Carlos
1.6 mi away
Hotel San Carlos - San Carlos
1.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, San Carlos, CA
0.6 mi away
LiA Hotel
LiA Hotel
#2 of 8 in San Carlos
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Extended Stay America - San Francisco - San Carlos
1.4 mi away
Pacific Euro Hotel
Pacific Euro Hotel
#9 of 17 in Redwood City
206 reviews
1.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Francisco San Carlos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Address: 1562 El Camino Real, San Carlos, CA 94070-5104
Location: United States > California > San Carlos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in San Carlos
Price Range: $109 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Hotel San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing