We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay for business”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Francisco San Carlos
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in San Carlos
Westminster, CO
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
“Okay for business”
Reviewed March 2, 2008

I stayed at this hotel last year for some nearby business in the Bay Area. The hotel is more of a motor lodge. It is close to the highway and a couple of restaurants are adjacent to the property.
Overall, my stay was good. No problems parking, the room was large,comfortable, and clean. No noise. A big plus to me was that I could grab a quick, hot breakfast in the lobby for no charge. That is always appreciated. Free high-speed internet was also nice.
This hotel is okay if you are on the go and need a place to relax. I rated it above average because I didn't have any problems with my stay at all, and the motel was very close to my business. Again, I always appreciate a fast, free breakfast.

  • Liked — fast free breakfast
  • Disliked — near an airport and the highway
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank valor155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    81
    50
    14
    7
See reviews for
45
27
22
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, CA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2007

We stayed for two nights at this hotel and both nights were unsatisfactory for the following reasons- a girl's soccer team was staying for the two nights we were there and made a bunch of noise between 11:00pm and 1:00 pm on both nights we stayed. I went to talk to the hotel desk clerk (a man who sounded like he was of Punjabi origin) and he told me that he was doing everything he could to quiet down the "people coming from a business convention". They woke us both up and 1am and I talked to him in person and he told me to "use my logic - there is nothing I can do". I would ask anyone who would consider staying at this hotel to "use their logic" and avoid staying here. I am a silver member through the Marriott Awards program and have stayed at lots of Marriott hotels, but this was the worst. My wife found dirt under her pillow the first night and the room was half made up the next morning and the sink was left dirty. I'm not a person who likes to complain and I let a lot of things fly, but going to a place for R.R. and having to drive back home tired and upset was not in my plan.

  • Liked — Good kitchen service - mostly nice staff
  • Disliked — One rude staff member, lack of cleanliness
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank tragann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Carlos hotels

Stockton, CA
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2007

We stayed overnight while my wife was in town for work. The Fairfield Inn is a decent place for a basic overnight stay. Free internet was very convenient. The room itself is not very large. Room for 2 beds and a desk. No other chars or tables. Room includes a microwave and refrigerator. Breakfast is adequate. The hard boiled eggs, breakfast sandwiches, and waffle maker were much appreciated.

The bed was a little squishy for my tastes. I do prefer a firmer mattress.

The only potential drawback, depending on how deeply you sleep, is the runway right next to the airport. Personally, I didn't hear them, but my wife did. It wasn't bothersome, but if you are a light sleeper who doesn't typically wake up early, be warned. Actually, what woke me up more was the loud ventilation system. I should have turned it off at bedtime, but forgot to.

  • Liked — Price, breakfast, internet
  • Disliked — Soft mattresses
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank swirlinabc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
1 review
Reviewed June 26, 2007

Not a bad place to get some sleep if you are close to the airport. The fitness center is just two machines, but the breakfast is free. The beds are a bit uncomfortable, but in general a decent place if all you are looking to do is get some sleep. they have an outdoor pool that can get a bit rowdy at night.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
Thank meritage77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Tx.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2007

Convienient location, relatively new construction, helpful front desk, good complimentary breakfast, very clean....but right next to a small airport located at the end of a runway! The days we were there, we were awakened by small prop planes warming up their engines for takeoff. Ask for room facing highway instead of airport.

  • Liked — the complimentary breakfast
  • Disliked — the noise from the airport
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Dodger-Don
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento Valley
Level 6 Contributor
295 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 788 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2006

I needed to make a last minute reservation for a quick business trip to the Bay Area (San Carlos Area). This was my first visit to Marriott's Fairfield Inn, having been to their Renaissance, Marriott, Residence Inn and Courtyard locations this year.
The staff was friendly and courteous. The room was simple with no frills, but it was clean, roomy and included a refrigerator which is a nice feature to have. The bed was comfortable. The rate included a Continental Brkfst which was okay. What I liked about this property was that it was quiet while being right next to the Bayshore 101 freeway. For the rate, it was better than expected and I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank SeminarTrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 25, 2005

The Fairfield Inn in San Carlos, CA is a decent budget hotel located next to the San Carlos Municipal Airport. It's location is convenient to the Peninsula cities south of San Francisco. Our room with two large queen beds was clean and comfortable with good lighting. Amenities included free high speed internet (wired) in the room and wireless internet in the lobby, a medium-sized refrigerator and a small microwave. The TV included a reasonable selection of cable channels as well as the usual pay-per-view fare. Our room was located on the side of the hotel adjacent to the airport runway. The airport is a fairly busy general aviation field, and operations start about 7 AM so this hotel is not a good choice for day sleepers. However, there is essentially no airport activity at night, so the room was quiet after dark. The free continental breakfast was adequate, but not great. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. Overall, this hotel provided very good value for the money.

Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Carlos
0.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Carlos
0.8 mi away
Pullman San Francisco Bay
Pullman San Francisco Bay
#1 of 17 in Redwood City
1,397 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel San Carlos - San Carlos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
LiA Hotel
LiA Hotel
#2 of 7 in San Carlos
78 reviews
0.4 mi away
TownePlace Suites Redwood City Redwood Shores
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Suites Belmont
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites San Francisco San Carlos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites San Francisco San Carlos

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites San Francisco San Carlos
Address: 555 Skyway Rd, San Carlos, CA 94070-2713
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Carlos
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites San Francisco San Carlos 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites San Francisco San Carlos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites San Francisco-San Carlos
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Francisco-San Carlos Hotel San Carlos
Fairfield Inn San Carlos
Fairfield San Carlos
San Carlos Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing