We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You really MUST eat here!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Creola

Creola
Reserve with OpenTable
Creola is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 132 Restaurants in San Carlos
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Holly St.
Description: Hours of Operation Dinner: Sunday, Tuesday - Thursday 5-9 pm Friday & Saturday 5 - 9:30 pm Lunch: Tuesday - Friday 11 - 2:30 pm Brunch: Saturday & Sundays 10:30 - 2:30 pm
belfast
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“You really MUST eat here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

I had dinner here last night with my husband. The menu was great and varied. I ordered one of the specials and my husband ordered from the set $30 menu. The food was genuinely exquisite. It was one of the best meals we have had in a while. In addition, in July all wines off the menu are half price! The service was excellent and there was a great atmosphere overall. I would thoroughly recommend this place and I will definitely be back.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank aggiedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    32
    8
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Balboa Island, California
Level Contributor
104 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great lunch at CreoLa.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

Went there recently, having not been there for awhile. Wonderful gumbo. Caesar salad was delicious with shrimp. Very pleasant, relaxing atmosphere, with framed New Orleans scenes throughout. The service was excellent. Nice convenient location, and easy and ample parking.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WorldTraveler422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“We'll be back”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

We went there for father's day, and one of my daughters has decided that it needs to be our new "special restaurant". The food was uniformly excellent, the waitstaff attentive, and the atmosphere nicely relaxed. What puts it over the top for us, however, is their conscientiousness about taking care of the one member of the party who cannot eat gluten. I mentioned this to them both in the open table reservation and when they called to confirm. When we walked in, they knew right away what restrictions we had, and went out of their way to help. The chef came to our table and went over the menu with the one who had to avoid gluten. He even modified a dessert for her. And the food tasted soooo good!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Firbette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
592 reviews
309 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 323 helpful votes
“About as New Orleans as you can get without a 'skeeter net.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

My daughter who lives in the area said she had heard fabulous things about this restaurant. So she, me, my wife and our other daughter rendezvoused for an early dinner on a Tuesday night.

I had seen some Yelp reviews which were for the most part positive. Sometimes "foodies" want to split hairs about what constitutes authentic this or authentic that. While I have been to New Orleans on business a couple times, and my one daughter had been once, the other two people in our party had never been meaning for the most part none of knew what authentic was. What we did discover was that whatever they were cooking, we wanted more of it.

Let me say these people want your business. We were cheerfully greeted (by the owner?) when we arrived. We were quickly seated at a table in a busy dining room. Water was poured immediately and our waiter then arrived to take a drink order. Service after that remained exceptional.

There were two specials on the menu that night; a cornmeal fried chicken with collard greens or a pound of boiled crawfish. My wife took the chicken, the daughter who had actually been to New Orleans elected to relive her crawfish experience. My other daughter went with the catfish and I opted for the jambalaya.

I have had jambalaya plenty of times even if it wasn't in New Orleans. This version was better than most. My daughter with the crawfish raved about how reminiscent of her experience in New Orleans her meal was. My wife licked her fingers about her cornmeal crusted fried chicken and the collard greens. And my catfish eating daughter only said, "yum."

So as far as we were concerned, with the exception of the humidity and the mosquitoes, this was as authentic a New Orleans experience as we were going to get. And it was wonderful.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KenVicLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
107 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good Creol food and a culinary adventure”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

Not having ever been to Louisiana the first time I tried Creola, I truly enjoyed finding alligator tenderloins on the menu. I ordered them and enjoyed every bite. Now living in Louisiana I recognize that their menu was spot on and their flavor profiles similar to what you'd find in local restaurants here.

The restaurant has a wonderful classic atmosphere, with linen tableclothes and a fine dining atmosphere.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Creola also viewed

 
San Carlos, CA
San Carlos, CA
 

Been to Creola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing