We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Extended Stay America - San Francisco - San Carlos
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in San Carlos
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Business trip”
Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

Great place to stay in the area. Price is Right. Clean, spacious, and comfortable enough. Close to shopping and some good eats. Easy highway access. Service was good. Beds a little firm. Will stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Woodsman331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandy S, Manager at Extended Stay America - San Francisco - San Carlos, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
We would like to take a moment and thank you for your recent review of Extended Stay America San Carlos. It sounds like you enjoyed your stay with us and that this property was conveniently located for your needs. We are so glad to hear that guests like you are happy with the time they spend with us. We strive to provide clean, comfortable accommodations at a great value, stay after stay. We do hope that you will come back to visit us if you’re in our area or that of any of our over 680 locations nationwide. Thank you again for your nice review. We look forward to seeing you again. With Hospitality the Management at Extended Stay America San Carlos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    15
    16
    14
    20
See reviews for
13
9
8
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
emilyirene123
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Our 7 night stay at Extended Stay America was very comfortable. We came to the Bay Area with our newborn baby to visit family for the holidays and we were very happy we chose this hotel. It was centrally located and right off the freeway, which was great because throughout our stay we were all over the East Bay, the Peninsula, and the San Jose area. The bed was very comfortable, the room was spotless, and the kitchen was great for preparing my nightly tea and our baby's bottles and cereal. Our room and floor was quiet and we always had close parking. Whenever we needed things like extra tools or dish washing liquid, the front desk was quick to get us whatever we needed. Cassie was especially helpful and friendly and by the end of our stay we felt like old friends! Our housekeeper, Maria, was also very efficient and thourough. This hotel was perfect for us and we hope to stay here again when we return next Christmas.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emilyirene123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandy S, Manager at Extended Stay America - San Francisco - San Carlos, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Happy New Year! We would like to express our thanks for such a great review of your recent Holiday stay with us at Extended Stay America San Carlos. It is our pleasure to make sure you have a great stay each and every stay! I am so glad that our staff was so accommodating during your stay and you were able to experience a home away from home experience with us during the Holiday Season. Its comments from guests like you that make our job so rewarding in so many ways. I do hope that you will return next Holiday Season when you are visiting the area, we would love to have you back. With Hospitality, The Management at Extended Stay America San Carlos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
novato
2 reviews
Reviewed December 11, 2012

This was a very disappointing stay: which included a sterile institutional corridor that smelled like a kitchen in a Chinese restaurant; a boxy, barely updated studio with tacky kitchen and bathroom; botched reservation (in spite of two conversations beforehand -- one with desk clerk, one with assistant manager); worn sheets with holes, washcloth-size towels -- and all this for $151.79 including tax. You can do better, even in the pricey San Francisco Bay Area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joe w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandy S, Manager at Extended Stay America - San Francisco - San Carlos, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Our sincere thanks for posting a review about your experience at Extended Stay America San Carlos. I am so sorry to hear that your stay wasn’t 100% satisfactory, please accept my sincere apologies. I will definitely be talking with the staff to find out how there was a mis-communication regarding your reservation, this is not a normal occurrence for us as we are very diligent in ensuring accuracy and efficiency for all our arriving guests reservations. We have very strict standards and policies in place to prevent such occurrences as you mentioned in the review, we will be sure to review these with our staff so that such incidents will not happen again on future stays for yourself or any other guest staying with us. I do hope that you will visit us again should your travels bring you back to our area or that of any of our over 680 locations nationwide. With sincere appreciation the Management at Extended Stay San Carlos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Carlos hotels

1 review
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Rooms were very clean and comfortable. The grab and go breakfast was a nice touch when running out the door in the mornings. Staff was friendly and accommodating which is a plus. Definitely a place I will recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdGonz77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandy S, Manager at Extended Stay America - San Francisco - San Carlos, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Thank you so much for your recent review of your stay at Extended Stay America San Carlos. I am so glad to hear that our staff was accommodating to you during your stay and that our grab and go breakfast was just what you needed as you started your day. Our entire staff is committed to making sure each guest has a pleasurable experience from the time you arrive to the time you leave us. It looks like we hit a home run in your case. We hope that you will return to see us if your travels bring you back to our area in the future. With Hospitality The Management at Extended Stay America San Carlos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York, USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Just finished a weekend stay at ESA for a Monday meeting in San Jose. Hotel is located right off the 101 freeway and near SFO Intl Airport, halfway between San Francisco and San Jose. Was able to hop up to SF for fun on the weekend and then back to SJ on Monday for business. Room was spacious, bed was comfortable, kitchen with large refrigerator and stovetop was a nice surprise. I never heard traffic while I stayed there and found a dozen great places to eat within a mile or two. Front desk was always eager and able to help if I needed toothpaste or other odds-and-ends. Easily made my trip a smooth one.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandy S, Manager at Extended Stay America - San Francisco - San Carlos, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
We want to express our gratitude for your recent glowing review of the Extended Stay San Carlos. I am so glad you found us to be just what you needed while in the area. We pride ourselves on always providing exceptional service and clean, fresh, comfortable rooms all at a value that can’t be beat. This property is situated as you said right between San Francisco and San Jose conveniently off the 101 freeway. Great for travelers visiting both cities just as yourself. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. I do hope that you will visit us again should your travels bring you back to the San Francisco Bay area. With many thanks and hospitality, the Management at Extended Stay America San Carlos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citrus Heights, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Short business trip to San Mateo County. The hotel was above average for the price. Very clean and quiet - no, road noise but the refrigerator in my room was noisy. Somehow I managed to sleep through it anyway. Near to where I was working and not far from several decent restaurants, if you're driving. There isn't much in short walking distance. Staff was courteous. Checkout was a little slow. Automated checkout would have been nice. Also, the grab and go breakfast is disappointing. Next time I will stop at the local market and pick up some milk and cereal. The room is as advertised with a fully equipped kitchen. It was more like an efficiency apartment than a hotel room.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Property M, Manager at Extended Stay America - San Francisco - San Carlos, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
"Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay at Extended Stay America San Francisco - San Carlos. We are committed to providing every guest with outstanding accommodations, so I was pleased to read your remarks about your overall stay. Of course, I was disheartened to read that your stay wasn't 100% satisfactory. For that I am truly sorry.

We know that you have several lodging options, which is why it is so important to us that we provide you with a great room at a great rate, while still giving you something extra, like our expanded coffee bar. I do certainly recognize, however, that if you are looking for a full breakfast, our coffee bar won't satisfy you. I sincerely wish we had been better able to communicate exactly what our morning service includes so that you would not have been disappointed.

Although it is unusual for a guest to have the experience you did while staying with us, we would like to use your account to help us make our hotel even better. Again, I am deeply sorry that you did not have a completely enjoyable stay at our hotel, and I promise that we are focused on total guest satisfaction every day. Please don't hesitate to reach out to me at this hotel or to our guest relations team directly by visiting our website and clicking the Contact Us link at the bottom of the page. I do hope that you will let me demonstrate our redoubled efforts in the future here or at any of Extended Stay Hotels(sm)' other locations throughout the U.S. and in Canada."

With Hospitality,
The Management at Extended Stay America San Carlos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, CA
Level Contributor
91 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Have you ever stayed in a hotel that doesn't have tissues in the bathroom? This one doesn't. They don't change your linens and you have to get your own towels. There is no workspace in the room. The room itself would make a monk happy. One chair and a couple of bar stools. Very cold and unwelcoming. The free breakfast consists of hot water, instant oatmeal, and coffee all served in a very small room with two chairs and no tables. The bed was one of the most uncomfortable beds I have ever been in. I didn't say "slept in" because it was so very difficult to sleep in it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asteinharter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - San Francisco - San Carlos, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at our hotel. Given our company's commitment to superior guest satisfaction & comfort during their stay, I was disheartened to read that your time with us wasn't 100% satisfactory. Please understand how truly sorry I am.

We know that you have several lodging options, which is why it is so important to us that we provide you with a clean, comfortable room at an affordable price. We recognize that if our guests can't get a good night's sleep, they won't return, so we've chosen bedding that we hope best suits their needs. I do take seriously your concerns, and promise that we will continue to look for ways to make sure every guest is as comfortable as possible when staying with us.

In the case of housekeeping, our standard service schedule provides one full housekeeping after every seven days stayed, with the option to purchase additional housekeeping services as desired. We are however happy to provide fresh linens and towels upon request each day of your stay should you desire. Operating our business in this way allows us to continue offering the same great rates to which our guests have become accustomed.

Again, I am deeply sorry that you did not have a completely enjoyable stay at our hotel, and I promise that we are focused on total guest satisfaction every day. Please don't hesitate to reach out to me at this hotel or to our guest relations team directly by visiting our website and clicking the Contact Us link at the bottom of the page or contacting us directly at the hotel. I do hope that you will let me demonstrate our redoubled efforts in the future here or at any of other brand locations throughout the U.S. and in Canada.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Carlos
1.2 mi away
Pacific Euro Hotel
Pacific Euro Hotel
#6 of 17 in Redwood City
197 reviews
2.0 mi away
Pullman San Francisco Bay
Pullman San Francisco Bay
#1 of 17 in Redwood City
1,381 reviews
1.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Carlos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
LiA Hotel
LiA Hotel
#3 of 7 in San Carlos
77 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel San Carlos - San Carlos
0.4 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#5 of 7 in San Carlos
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay America - San Francisco - San Carlos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - San Francisco - San Carlos

Property: Extended Stay America - San Francisco - San Carlos
Address: 3 Circle Star Way, San Carlos, CA 94070-6267
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - San Francisco - San Carlos 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cash is accepted as a form of payment for those guests paying by a weekly or monthly rate. A valid credit card must be kept on file for incidentals. Cash is not accepted as a method of payment for guests paying the daily rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Extended Stay, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Extended Stay America - San Francisco - San Carlos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homestead San Carlos Hotel San Carlos
Homestead Hotel San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing