We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ROACHES”
Review of Budget Motel

Budget Motel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Budget Motel
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in San Bruno
Reviewed August 20, 2011

Comfortable bed, spacious bathroom, and ROACHES. I encountered 5 or 6 in the hour that I spent awake in this room, and it was still daylight. My husband went to the front desk to alert management to the situation (no demands or accusations, truly just to let them know), and he was told "That's impossible, we spray every month." So while I was back in the room picking a roach off my toddler's pillow, my husband was being accused of lying. I certainly will not go back to this motel, and I wouldn't recommend it to anyone else (unless you actually like roaches). If you do decide to stay here, keep in mind that there is no shuttle to the airport, and I can ride will cost about $14 plus a tip. So if you can find a hotel that costs $15 or $20 more but offers a free shuttle, then you come out having paid the same amount . . . and you probably end up staying somewhere nicer, too.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chaboinga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (31)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 31 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2011

No money is put back into this hotel. My husband and I were desperate and needed a place to stay everything was booked up. We called .2 miles away and was told we could get a room for $70. We get there 2 seconds later and the lady says ohh that was just taken now all we have is this 2 bed room for 90. Like i said we were desperate so we took it. Stains all over the walls, you can hear everything through the paper thin walls. Horrible place and lying staff.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jessabunny22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

The rooms were absolutely disgusting and falling apart. There was mold growing on the walls of the closet. There were spiders behind the nightstand. The heater looked like it had possibly caught fire at some point cuz the metal was all melted/distorted. The room reeked of smoke (we requested non-smoking), and NONE of the windows opened. The toilet was literally cracked in half down the middle (and just caulked up to prevent leaks). Oh and the best part... the room sported a "king size bed" which was literally two twin beds pushed together. Also, don't expect to get a good night's sleep here as it's less than a mile from the airport. This place appears to be run by an entire family... the husband the manager, the wife the front desk clerk, and one of the daughters (who definitely looked underage) the maid.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Stewie6riffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2010

Interesting stay with no safety issues encountered that I've read in other reviews. This older style motel offered a spacious room and had a high vaulted ceiling with a number of storage spots, some out of reach. VERY large bathroom/hallway, but room could use some new paint, furniture - and a little more cleanliness, bigger refrigerator, etc. But, the decor, left untouched through time reveals a historical and old interesting building. Many may find the room style inappropriate as a motel room, but it served my purpose well. No noise issues to report( noise is often an issue in San Bruno, near the airport) and a very good night sleep. Recommended for budget-minded travelers not fussy about room appearance or lack of a few amenities.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank localtraveller65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2008

The worst hotel experience I've ever had...bar none. I should've listened to the previous reviews. For starters, the "concierge" is a tiny front office that is kept locked, I was told for security. One night, a guy broke into the room next to mine and I had to call the police because the "concierge" doesn't pick up the phone after 9pm. It's a family-owned business, so you don't have a "head office" to report to. They're nice people but offer no service other than a place to sleep. I did not feel safe for the 4 nights I was there; a homeless person was picking thru the trash right outside the room the 1st day I arrived. The rooms have direct views to the street, and I was downstairs, so anyone, I mean anyone has access. There's no fence. The bathroom had a large window at the top that adjoins another room (or someplace), and there's no curtain on it. So anyone can climb a chair and watch you as you bathe. The towels are dirty and torn. They don't change your sheets unless you request it. The "concierge" was still asleep at 8 am one morning when I went to knock, and I had to ring several times before someone unlocked the door. Even then, she was wiping sleep from her eyes. Never book such a place if you're a single woman travelling alone. I was so uncomfortable there that I always stayed out sight-seeing until it was time to go to bed, because there was no comfort in my room. I mean basic comfort. The ceilings are unfinished in many rooms, so it gives the feeling of a warehouse-turned-hotel room. I had to change rooms 3 times on the first day I arrived. I had an early start with the shuttle to the airport at 4am, and even though I let them know that the night before, they wouldn't open the door so I could safely wait in the office to watch for the shuttle. I waited an agonising 25 minutes out there in the dark alone...Run for your lives, and find somewhere else to stay!!! It's not worth it...that's why called "Budget" Motel - they're not lying folks! That's why it's the cheapest...there are probably hotels almost as cheap nearby, but better. I only stayed b'cos I didn't know how hard it would be to get my money back from expedia.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank oluway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2007

We just returned from a quick weekend trip in San Francisco and found a package deal for a flight and lodging at the Budget Motel in San Bruno California. San Bruno is listed as being approx 15 miles south of San Francisco. Its a bit of a commute but for the price was good. The room we stayed in was large and very clean. I didn't notice any lingering odors, the bathrooms was very large and clean.
The motel was very close to the SFO airport. I would recommend using BART to get around town and the motel was within walking distance from the BART station approx a 5-10 minute walk. There is a mall that is very close and restaurants very close.
If you are used to immaculate grounds and fancy accomodations then this may not be for you. Since we didn't plan on spending much time in the room it met our basic needs just fine and was very clean.
Pro:cheap, large rooms and clean
Cons: Far from attractions, front desk was not willing to accomodate checking our luggage to store until our flight left.

2  Thank Hokajen_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2015, traveled with friends
Thank Franzi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Bruno hotels
1 mi away
Ritz Inn
Ritz Inn
#11 of 13 in San Bruno
77 reviews
1.5 mi away
Days Inn San Francisco International Airport West
1 mi away
Hotel Aura San Bruno
Hotel Aura San Bruno
#2 of 13 in San Bruno
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Super 8 San Bruno /SF Intl Arpt West
0.5 mi away
Gateway Inn and Suites Hotel
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport WEST
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budget Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Motel

Address: 850 El Camino Real, San Bruno, CA 94066-3137
Location: United States > California > San Bruno
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in San Bruno
Price Range: $45 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Budget Motel 1*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Budget Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Hotel San Bruno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing