We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location, Average Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard San Francisco Airport
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in San Bruno
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
106 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Good Location, Average Hotel”
Reviewed November 13, 2007

Location is great, $15 taxi ride from airport with a Chilli's right across the street. Rooms were ok--very standard. When is Marriott going to get with the wireless program?? It's annoying to have to connect through the port on the desk. I also used the computers in the lobby, they had two there for free access. Room had an odor of mildew, not overwhelming enough to make me want to move though. Being on the first floor I liked that the rooms had sliding glass doors that opened to a patio area on the courtyard, that was nice. This type of hotel should do a free continental breakfast, rather they have a small area right in the lobby but you have to pay for it.

I had forgot my ipod, a book and a shirt and I called the hotel and they arranged to have it shipped out the next day. Very good service from the front desk in that regard.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank misseattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    132
    59
    20
    8
See reviews for
66
68
21
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
137 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2007

We needed something close to SFO and cheap. We got both with a Friday night stay. The hotel is only two stories and the elevator is way in the back of the property so make sure you check with the front desk before you park your vehicle!

The property is seems to be in a business park and there didn't appear to be very many options for dining within a walk.

The staff was exceptionally friendly which compensates for the somewhat "rough around the edges" property. The bedding and the rooms are great but you can't shake the feeling that you're at a lower-class hotel when you open your curtains on the ground floor and your staring at the grill of a car. There is a nice interior courtyard however.

We had several loud jets pass by overhead but they died down by 11pm. They started up again around 6am but we were already up. I would love for Courtyard properties to start including an expanded continental breakfast with its rates.

If you're just looking for a nice place to sleep without breaking the bank and without too much jet noise near SFO, the Courtyard is a solid place.

  • Liked — Friendly Staff
  • Disliked — Jet Noise
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank gbtrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truckee, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2007

We stay in San Bruno/ South San Francisco every 2 months. (We come down from the Tahoe area to visit family in the area and enjoy SF). We've stayed at other Courtyards in the area, Residence Inn, Embassy Suites, Homestead suites, etc.

After staying at this hotel in April for the first time, we will be booking our next stay locally at this hotel.

It is a generic courtyard as stated, but the rooms and courtyard were in great shape. The staff was overly friendly including resolving a couple issues I raised with my bill and late checkout.

But the main reason for my high review is the location. I wasn't convinced this would be a good location,but it worked out well. It is a (long) walk tto BART, which still beats the shuttles from other hotels to the Airport BART. It is very close to Chili's and a nice walk to a large Mall as well as in the opposite direction to a mini-mall with starbucks/petes/local restraurants, etc. The hotel is near the freeway, but not at all noisy and the easy access worked well for us.

We got a good rate online.

Our only problem which we didn't resolve or research was wireless in the room/lobby. It was supposed to be free, but it wanted to charge us daily rates. Since the wired connection in the room and lobby were easy and free, we simply used those.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — I hate having to pay for Breakfast at the Courtyards
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank audigal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2007

Pros: check-in went smoothly, room was decent size. Free unlimited internet (ethernet) was a breeze to get started. Seemed like there was wireless too but I did not get around to trying it. Good sized desk for working. Close to an upscale strip mall and a few casual restaurants for getting dinner or takeout. Room had a little balcony with chairs facing a courtyard, so you could sit outside and/or keep the glass door open.

Cons: The HVAC! The room had one of those old-fashioned motel air conditioning systems where you push one button for 'heat' or 'cool', and another one for 'low' or 'high'. What you get, no matter what, is a pronounced breeze moving through the room thanks to the noisy fan-based system. It raised a lot of dust and never got warm. And made you want to open the window! Which doesn't help if it's cold out. So I was cold and uncomfortable throughout my stay, and wound up getting sick. I would not stay here again unless it were perfect weather to keep the windows open all night. Also the hotel floor plan is a little strange, with the elevators in the opposite corner of the hotel compared with the lobby.

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank kzally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aussie in USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2006

Loved this little hotel for a night layover near San Fran international airport. SO fantisically clean and quiet. Staff went out of their way to help us, even offering to send us to the mall in the shuttle bus. only issues I think would be do not walk or even attempt to walk back from The mall At Tanforan. Being out of towners we didnt realise that you do not cross such a busy intersection !
best thing if you go to mall, get them to drop you off, the call for a pick up when ready. This is the only place to get food really at night good couple of restaurants there like BJs. Had a excellent dinner there. Breakfast is a bit of a problem. I did think it was expensive to pay $11 for it at hotel. Chillis across the road not open for breakfast, but if you explore like we did, up at the San Bruno Shopping center you can find a little mexican breakfast place, Molly Stone ( a organic grocery which serves coffee) and a starbucks as well as some takeouts.
I would highly reccomend this hotel for anyone wishing to stay near the airport that wants a clean room and comfortable bed. The staff even managed to find us a fridge which I thought highly of since there are none in the rooms, and were happy to send several fresh towels down when this Aussie nearly flooded the bathroom when I was figuring out how to work the US taps and shower system over the bath !!!
Comments especially high regard to that nice chinese man who works around the hotel and for the lovely girls at the front desk- so friendly and helpful! Well done !!!

  • Liked — location to airport, lovely garden areas
  • Disliked — they might want to light the fire to create a warmer atmosphere in cold condions to make it nicer
  • Tips/Secrets — call ahead for shuttle doesnt automatically turn up. Phone in arrival area in International Area.
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Australian15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2006

Like an earlier reviewer, I spent one night at the SFO Airport Courtyard at the end of a trip to wine country before flying out of San Fran the next morning.

All in all, it was a very average Courtyard experience. This particular Courtyard has not undergone the renovation / updating process that I believe Marriott is mandating for a number (if not all) Courtyard properties.

The room was average size with a sizeable desk for working that included high-speed internet access. We also had a small couch and coffee table. The bed was Courtyard standard and while not luxurious, it was comfortable enough for a good night's sleep. The bathroom is in a somewhat dated configuration with the toilet and shower being located in a separate room and the sink just outside in a small nook.

I didn't have the opportunity to have breakfast buffett, but my wife did and though it was overpriced.

Shuttle service to the airport was very good. It runs every half hour and is reliable and quick so no problems there. If you need an inexpensive place to crash for a night before heading out of town, this is a pretty good choice.

  • Liked — Proximity to SFO.
  • Disliked — Noisy outside so the windows need to stay closed.
  • Tips/Secrets — Get breakfast offsite, don't pay.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank vandalby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2006

Although very close to SFO, this place is also alongside I-380 and under the flight path. So depending on the wind, you get low-flying plane noise plus freeway noise, especially if you're at the far end. Ask for a room away from the freeway, that will help. The rooms have nice furniture and Marriott's comfy new beds, but the place seems dingier than most other Marriott products I've stayed in recently. Chili's across the street, lots of Chinese and Mexican down the street.

  • Liked — Proximity to airport
  • Disliked — Airport & freeway noise
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank WSmile5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Bruno
0.4 mi away
Villa Montes Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel
2.0 mi away
Best Western Plus El Rancho Inn
0.7 mi away
Super 8 San Bruno /SF Intl Arpt West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront
1.1 mi away
Hotel Aura San Bruno
Hotel Aura San Bruno
#2 of 13 in San Bruno
669 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Grosvenor Airport Hotel
Best Western Plus Grosvenor Airp...
#3 of 29 in South San Francisco
1,919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard San Francisco Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard San Francisco Airport

Property: Courtyard San Francisco Airport
Address: 1050 Bayhill Dr, San Bruno, CA 94066-3011 (Formerly Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Airport - San Bruno)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Bruno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in San Bruno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard San Francisco Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 147
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard San Francisco Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott San Francisco Airport - San Bruno Hotel San Bruno
Courtyard San Bruno
San Bruno Marriott
San Bruno Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing