We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“perfectly ok” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gateway Inn and Suites Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gateway Inn and Suites Hotel
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in San Bruno
Sharon, Vermont
Level Contributor
202 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“perfectly ok”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

We had a late-arriving flight from the East Coast and needed a place in the ariport area. We had rented a car and were looking for free parking also. Presto--- Gateway Inn!

Make no mistake: this is a very modest place, and its price (quite reasonable) dictates its amenities (quite modest). There is a modest continental breakfast at which one can have OJ in a wax paper cup, which I haven't seen in years. The soap bars are probably the thinest I've seen. But it's all good, the palce is clean (our bathroon smelled of bleach) and the price/location is right. We were able to ehar our neighbor's quite audible snoring but we're all friends, right?

Room Tip: We were in a room (215?) that direclty abuts the breakfast area. We were getting up early anyway bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ordinarymind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    60
    33
    10
    20
See reviews for
25
60
27
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redmond, Washington, USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

The reason for my stay there was an overnight to get a good night's sleep on my return from Italy so I could catch a flight to Seattle the next day. I chose it because of the Airport Shuttle--very good, and the breakfast--hardly worthwhile. It was cereal, toast, cheap wrapped sweet rolls, coffee and oj. It was a real let-down after my Italy trip--acceptable, but not great. The bed was very comfortable, but the rest of the room just felt tacky and not very clean.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Connie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

Every time I'm in the San Francisco area I always chose to stay here. It is very efficiently run with great service. Employees are polite and helpful with everything, especially with directions. I loved the location because I didn't have to put up with looking/paying for parking like I would probably have to in the city of SF itself. The rooms were spacious, had large comfortable bed and TV wwith a number of channels. There was a continental breakfast in a fabulous atrium setting, very open and refreshing to enjoy a lovely breakfast in the morning. The prices for the rooms were very reasonable and they can count on me to come back every time I'm in the San Francisco area. Simply a lovely stay!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J_Smith744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

Had a very bad experience at this hotel, first the parking spaces were very narrow always a struggle to park when the lot if full, breakfast was horrible no proteins just carbs and more carbs. The last straw that broke the camel's back was a theft that happened in this hotel, 2 pairs of my wife's shoes were stolen from the room and when we reported it the staff were so unsympathetic and outright unconcerned. Shoes can always be replaced but the attitude of the staff towards the theft was just atrocious. Will never stay in this hotel again, i guess u get crappy service when u patronize "cheap" hotels. The only positive was the room we stayed, very spacious.

Room Tip: The King rooms are very spacious, the one we stayed had a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank oliverpip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Bruno hotels

Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

We chose to stay here because the rates of hotels located near or downtown san francisco are mostly expensive. Good hotel near airport, restaurants and grocery stores. Bed was comfy, TV with good number of channels, towels and toiletries are included in the room. A breakfast is served but with limited choices of cereals, pastries and bread with different spreads plus coffee and juice. Overall, good stay plus parking is free.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank War1025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato, Mexico
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

I've had several one-night stays at Gateway prior to early am flights from SFO, and have always been satisfied. The rooms are reasonably large and well-appointed, and well-maintained. The rooms facing El Camino can be a bit noisy up until 10 PM or so, so if you're a light sleeper, try to book a rear-facing room. The prices are fair for the area. I'll continue to book there on future trips.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank Patric E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Checked in at 10:00pm and found the A/C not working in the room. Called and went down to front desk asking for help until 11:45pm when we went to bed, not to sleep because of the heat in in the room with A/C running. complained to the front desk the next moring and was told to call the manager. We did the following day, and the manager said that he went up to the room and "the A/C was working" (right). would not do anything about the charges on the room......

If you want a good night sleep...... DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL

Room Tip: If you want a good night sleep, do not stay at this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BugsTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Bruno
0.2 mi away
Super 8 San Bruno /SF Intl Arpt West
0.2 mi away
Villa Montes Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS El Rancho Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Aura San Bruno
Hotel Aura San Bruno
#3 of 13 in San Bruno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
1.0 mi away
Days Inn San Francisco International Airport West
0.1 mi away
Ramada San Bruno SFO Airport
Ramada San Bruno SFO Airport
#10 of 13 in San Bruno
3.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway Inn and Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Inn and Suites Hotel

Property: Gateway Inn and Suites Hotel
Address: 516 El Camino Real, San Bruno, CA 94066-4347
Location: United States > California > San Bruno
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in San Bruno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Gateway Inn and Suites Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Gateway Inn and Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gateway Hotel San Bruno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing