We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cozy and Quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gateway Inn and Suites Hotel
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in San Bruno
Hawaii Kai, Hawaii
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cozy and Quiet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed on an overnight layover and found this place to be quite comfortable. It was neat and clean. The room was a good size, not a shoebox, like so many others in the price range. It is a short shuttle ride from SFO. The desk clerks were very friendly and service-oriented. We were able to order pizza and pasta delivered to our hotel room near midnite. (We got in very late.) In the morning, the hotel provided a continental breakfast of hot coffee and pre-packaged danishes.

The only negative (but not a biggie) is that they don't provide enough towels. We wanted to shower after a very long flight in from Cancun. And we wanted to shower the next day before leaving for another long flight back to Hawaii. We had to ask for more towels and the housekeeping person was reluctant to give us more, although she finally did do so.

We will definitely stay here again. In fact, it's a nice, quiet and comfortable room and would make a nice base for visiting the area. We loved it!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnHira, Manager at Gateway Inn and Suites Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you very much for staying with us during your visit to San francisco. We had certainly enjoyed having you at our hotel. Guest satisfaction and Exceptional customer service is our main goal, which we try to achieve with our friendly and helpful staff. Hope we will see you again during your future visit to SF. Thank you again for your support. Regards, Ojas Mehta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    63
    35
    12
    20
See reviews for
29
61
28
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

I heard the traffic all night long and didn't sleep. The room was dirty and the towels were thin and worn. Breakfast was terrible, the little food that was available--white bread and corn flakes. The hotel shuttle was slow. The gentleman at the reception was very courteous.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peditox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnHira, Manager at Gateway Inn and Suites Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Hello ! Please accept our appology for the inconveience happned to you during your stay at Gateway Inn. Customer satisfaction is our main goal and it is really very unfortunate that you were dissatisfied and unhappy during your stay with us. We are right on El Camino Real's main road and if you keep the windows open , you will hear some noise of cars so we would suggest you to keep the windows close next time. We do have rooms on back side as well. Also, We replace our towels every three month with the new towels. At the time of morning breakfast, since we have only one FD person , who takes care of the desk and breakfast as well, some times we face delay in refilling while busy at the front desk. We never had any complains for above issues and we always make sure to stay top on this amenities. Again we appologies for the trouble happen to you and we want you to come back to our hotel next time when you visit SF area. We promise you that we will serve the best of the best for your next stay. Thank you for your feedback. Regards Ojas Mehta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Bruno hotels

Bangkok
Level Contributor
47 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

Had read prior reviews of this hotel and wanted to try it for myself. Cannot say enough about the care and attention given by the front staff. Had arrived early due to an international flight and they did all they could to get me checked in on time. Hotel room was spacious and clean and bed was great for a good nights sleep. A bit of road noise being close to road but overall not a problem. IHOP restaurant close in one direction and Starbucks and other restaurants only a block away in another direction. Nice neighborhood surrounding which enabled going out for a run and not being afraid or run over. Convenient rail access nearby to SF center city and mall within a half mile to walk to. Overall what would bring me back was the care and attention given by the front staff. Top notch attention to the customer....keep it up! Free shuttle to and from airport also a plus. Would definitely use this hotel again.

Room Tip: perhaps room on back side away from road best
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dutchmanBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnHira, Manager at Gateway Inn and Suites Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thank you very much for staying with us during your visit to San francisco. We had certainly enjoyed having you at our hotel. Guest satisfaction and Exceptional customer service is our main goal, which we try to achieve with our friendly and helpful staff. Hope we will see you again during your future visit to SF. Thank you again for your support. Regards, Ojas Mehta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

After calling to request a free airport shuttle, it arrived within 20 minutes. Room was large with comfortable king sized bed. Quiet--didn't hear any other guests. Fairly clean, although the hand towel hung next to the sink had several long dark hairs hanging off it--a little off putting and not sure how it was overlooked by cleaning staff. Was able to order out for pizza, delivered to my room with free delivery. The manager at the front desk was very friendly, and allowed me to leave my bags at the desk after check out so I could go for coffee and wander around the area before my flight later in the afternoon. Arranged for a shuttle (free) to take me to the airport at whatever time I needed. Several restaurants and a coffee shop within walking distance. Overall, a convenient place to get some rest and relax in between long flights.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AutumnRamae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnHira, Manager at Gateway Inn and Suites Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thank you very much for staying with us during your visit to San francisco. We had certainly enjoyed having you at our hotel. Guest satisfaction and Exceptional customer service is our main goal, which we try to achieve with our friendly and helpful staff. Hope we will see you again during your future visit to SF. Thank you again for your support. Regards, Ojas Mehta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Just needed a reasonably-priced stopover before an early morning flight, and this place fit the bill. Wifi was reasonably fast, and it was very reasonably priced compared to lots of others I had looked at. I'd stay here again under the same circumstances.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ppival
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnHira, Manager at Gateway Inn and Suites Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thank you very much for staying with us during your visit to San francisco. We had certainly enjoyed having you at our hotel. Guest satisfaction and Exceptional customer service is our main goal, which we try to achieve with our friendly and helpful staff. Hope we will see you again during your future visit to SF. Thank you again for your support. Regards, Ojas Mehta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Rooms were pretty clean, seemed like recent remodeling. Nice downtown area just around the corner. Close to the airport w a free shuttle.
Not a whole lot of parking though. The woman at the desk who checked me in was extremely nice and very helpful. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sweenothe11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnHira, Manager at Gateway Inn and Suites Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thank you very much for staying with us during your visit to San francisco. We had certainly enjoyed having you at our hotel. Guest satisfaction and Exceptional customer service is our main goal, which we try to achieve with our friendly and helpful staff. Hope we will see you again during your future visit to SF. Thank you again for your support. Regards, Ojas Mehta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

This hotel was a pleasant surprise. Chose it based on location and price and received great personal service. Staff was very accomodating and respectful when I added additonal night stays twice. Rooms are very clean, well amented and comfortable. I will stay here again and would recommend this to any travelor that is tired of the same Corporate hotel atmosphere.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GT3GUY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnHira, Manager at Gateway Inn and Suites Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thank you very much for staying with us during your visit to San francisco. We had certainly enjoyed having you at our hotel. Guest satisfaction and Exceptional customer service is our main goal, which we try to achieve with our friendly and helpful staff. Hope we will see you again during your future visit to SF. Thank you again for your support. Regards, Ojas Mehta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Bruno
0.2 mi away
Super 8 San Bruno /SF Intl Arpt West
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS El Rancho Inn
0.6 mi away
Ritz Inn
Ritz Inn
#10 of 13 in San Bruno
3.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Days Inn San Francisco International Airport West
0.2 mi away
Villa Montes Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel
0.0 mi away
Ramada San Bruno SFO Airport
Ramada San Bruno SFO Airport
#11 of 13 in San Bruno
3.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway Inn and Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Inn and Suites Hotel

Property: Gateway Inn and Suites Hotel
Address: 516 El Camino Real, San Bruno, CA 94066
Location: United States > California > San Bruno
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in San Bruno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Gateway Inn and Suites Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gateway Inn and Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gateway Hotel San Bruno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing