We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay outside of SF”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gateway Inn and Suites Hotel
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in San Bruno
Campbell, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good place to stay outside of SF”
Reviewed April 25, 2011

We are a family of 4 and want to visit San Francisco. After some research, I included that most decent hotels in the city are too expensive, and worse they all charge hefty fee for parking space (some hotels don't even have parking.) Gateway Inn has just what we needs - clean, FREE parking (semi enclosed area so you don't have to worry about something happen to your car at night), and convenient location (near lots of restaurants and only easy 20min drive info SF.) Another good feature here is the foyer area which provides a nice open space to hang out or have breakfast.

The only part I wasn't too happy was that they had to hold a $50 cash deposit during our stay (maybe in the past they've got guests who damaged to stole something from the property.)

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    65
    37
    12
    20
See reviews for
29
64
28
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sebastopol, California
1 review
Reviewed April 12, 2011

I live in Sonoma County and work in San Francisco 3 days a week, and I've been staying at this hotel every Wednesday and Thursday for many months. The staff is helpful and responsive. The rooms are great - enough floor space to do calisthenics, and I really like the high ceilings, which make the room feel even more spacious. In the past, I've tried other hotels and motels in the area, but I'm sticking with this one.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob33069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vallejo, California
1 review
Reviewed March 19, 2011

me and my friends were just looking for a place to stay 1 saturday night and ended up at gateway inn and suites in san bruno,ca. we stayed there because the rooms were nice, clean and cozy for a low price. parking is free and they offer complimentary continental breakfast. what i liked the most in my stay was their free wi fii service and friendly customer service. i would definitely come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zhiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviewed February 24, 2011

I decided to stay here one night . . . a few months back, and it was such a clean hotel that I decided to do it again, and again. Whenever I need a place to stay in that area, I go to Gateway Inn. The front desk staff is kind and courteous, and once they get to know you - after a few stays - they will really take care of you. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALFRESH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 17, 2011

Worst experience ever. I had stayed there before alone, so i decided to take my family. my husband & i got in this small bed and the bed bowed.. made like a V.. Hard pillows. 3 guest in room and 2 towels. Asked and went to desk 1st night. 2nd night asked maid in front of laundry and she said they were out. Went to sunset Beach so forget about taking 2 baths. Coffee & cups but no coffee pot to brew. They charged $10 per additional person per night. Cameras everywhere and keep questioning my daughters age and how many ppl in our room. Asked my daughter a student in sf to pay $10 and she was only visiting us. Also Overheard another guest that said the maid walked into their room without knocking. Geez!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sfsuparent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnHira, Director of Sales at Gateway Inn and Suites Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2011
We will do a better job of accomodating your needs next time and we have discussed this matter with our employees and taken corrective action.
We charged you an extra person fee of $10 since your reservation was only for two people.
We hope you will give us another chance in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Bruno hotels

Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed December 9, 2010

My Wife and I stayed for 6 days. The parking was an issue one night, but not a big deal...I parked on the street. The breakfast was OK...can't complain since it was included in the cheap price. The Owners were professional and helped us plan our days in SF. Overall I would rate this place as excellent. If you need a clean place to stay that's affordable, this is the place.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jasto64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 25, 2010

The rooms are spacious and very clean. The sheets and bedding seemed to appear fairly new..I plan to stay there again!

Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Arizonian_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Bruno
0.2 mi away
Super 8 San Bruno /SF Intl Arpt West
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus El Rancho Inn
0.5 mi away
Hotel Aura San Bruno
Hotel Aura San Bruno
#3 of 13 in San Bruno
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Villa Montes Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel
0.0 mi away
Ramada San Bruno SFO Airport
Ramada San Bruno SFO Airport
#12 of 13 in San Bruno
442 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport WEST
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway Inn and Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Inn and Suites Hotel

Property: Gateway Inn and Suites Hotel
Address: 516 El Camino Real, San Bruno, CA 94066-4347
Location: United States > California > San Bruno
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in San Bruno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Gateway Inn and Suites Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Gateway Inn and Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gateway Hotel San Bruno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing