We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This was GREAT”

Aji Ichi Japanese Restaurant
Ranked #51 of 153 Restaurants in San Bruno
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
193 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“This was GREAT”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Went with 3 others and could not have been more pleased. Ordered the beef teriyaki and the steak was tender and the sauce was very tasty. It came with some kind of soup (?) and it was delicious. Service was great and the place was clean. Everyone was friendly. All in our group had an excellent meal and the prices are very good.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank findwine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    5
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu
2 reviews
“Hawaii Connection”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

This is a good Mom and Pop kind of restaurant nothing too fancy, friendly atmosphere, good service and good food. Well worth the price. Would stop again on my next trip to San Bruno.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, California
Level Contributor
86 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Aji Ichi is the best Value Around”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Have been eating here for years and this place is the best value around. The bento box lunch has so much food you can not finish everything. You get to choose 2 yes 2 main dishes, I tend to always order the beef teriyaki rare, and when you order it rare that is what you get. It is also a pretty nice size steak estimate 5oz and I order the tempura which is cooked perfect not greasy and plentiful, comes with 2 jumbo shrimp, zucchini, eggplant, carrot, broccoli. The box also comes with a half grapefruit size portion of rice, 3 different kinds of salad, bowl of miso soup, edinami, and tea.

Jae will also remember your order from the last time you were in and ask if you want the same. How she remembers I'll never know but she does.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lou K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
“Discovery”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Stopped in here with a co-worker on the recommendation of my brother. We all travel on business a great deal, and the Bay Area is not home.

Classic entrepreneuriel "hole in the wall" that exceeds all expectations in hospitality, authenticity, and quality food.

Unpretentious. Affordable. Clean, well-kept rest room. Still within the shadow of SFO.

Highly recommended!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank decodays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We can't stop coming back to Aji Ichi”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We moved from San Bruno a year ago and were sad to leave the convenience of our favorite Japanese Restaurant. We cannot find one that compares and keep driving back to get our "fix". Favorites: Dragon Roll and Jae's special chicken noodle dish. Outstanding!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RobertaB145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aji Ichi Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 
San Bruno, CA
San Bruno, CA
 

Been to Aji Ichi Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing