We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Aura San Bruno
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in San Bruno
Certificate of Excellence
Chatsworth,CA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Comfortable”
Reviewed December 20, 2009

Room had 2 queen beds,clean & comfortable, w/ fridge & coffee maker (didn't use, motel offered great continental breakfast each morning). Lots of different resturants within walking distance, free underground parking,Close to BART station and major mall.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SanFernandoRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    278
    124
    35
    22
See reviews for
236
201
59
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 9, 2009

Staff was fantastic. So helpful with any requests and tourists things. Room was spotlessly clean and beautifully decorated. Garage area was well lighted and very secure. Very good free breakfast. If I ever decided to move to the San Francisco area to live, I would move into the San Bruno Howard Johnsons, it was that great!
Richard Hibshman, Lancaster, Pa.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hibby237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, Nederland
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2009

The ideal place to stay and go to SF by Bart train.
Clean,frienly efficient staff,great rooms,easy to get food delivered.
In between two train stations,so you don't need to go into SF by car.

It is a Howard Johnson,but my credit card statement says Travelodge Airport Inn.
For US citizens a everyday case,for overseas visitors not: negotioate their rates!!!
I just asked about the reason for the difference in on/of/phone/desk rates.
As a foreigner who does'nt understand.
That saved me money here .
Anywhay; this is a good place to stay in the SF area

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bedeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caguas, Puerto Rico
1 review
Reviewed November 2, 2009

Very clean and nice. I love it had everything I needed in the room. I liked the service. I enjoyed my time there and I would stay again. The breakfast was good (cold cereal: frosted flakes and raining brand) milk, bagels, toast, cream cheese, butter, broiled eggs, oatmeal, apple juice, orange juice, coffee, muffins, and danish.... so I saved money since food in California are a bit expensive.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcac1927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fargo nd
1 review
Reviewed November 1, 2009

the san bruno howard johonson is a great place to stay. the rooms were clean and updated. The staff was very helpfull and friendly. Free parking and shuttle to airport on time. execellant mexican restaurant across the street. Free continental breakfast. good price on rooms. very quite. guests and staff were pleasent.

Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank nothernexposure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murphy, TX
1 review
Reviewed October 24, 2009

We made our annual visit back home to the Bay Area and wanted to try a hotel closer to the airport rather than in the City itself. We came upon the Howard Johnson in San Bruno and we could NOT have been more pleased! From the moment we walked through the door, we were afforded every accommodation and courtesy! Our rooms were immaculate. The bathrooms were spacious and beautifully designed! We were also rather pleasantly surprised by the very nice complimentary breakfast spread that was furnished each morning! It certain came in handy for those mornings when we had to get an early start and knew we wouldn't have time to stop somewhere for a bite to eat!! Howard Johnson truly made our visit back home a perfect occasion! It was a perfect location and it was perfect service! For the price, you simply can't beat it!! We are definitely booking there for next year!!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SFViscount
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2009

The hotel was modern, clean and comfortable. The staff were very helpful and polite. Vinny, the General Manager who is also from the UK, provided alot of useful information on places to see and things to do.

The location is perfect, with a 15-20 minute drive downtown. If you get a chance, go checkout the Muir Woods just north of San Francisco.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rexxyic4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Bruno
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus El Rancho Inn
0.4 mi away
Super 8 San Bruno /SF Intl Arpt West
0.7 mi away
Millwood Inn & Suites
Millwood Inn & Suites
#3 of 7 in Millbrae
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Villa Montes Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel
0.5 mi away
Days Inn San Francisco International Airport West
0.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aura San Bruno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aura San Bruno

Property: Hotel Aura San Bruno
Address: 190 El Camino Real, San Bruno, CA 94066-5552 (Formerly Howard Johnson Express Inn San Bruno/SFO West)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Bruno
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in San Bruno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Aura San Bruno 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Aura in San Bruno, California is situated in an ideal location next to San Francisco Airport (SFO) for your next visit to the San Francisco Bay Area. When you stay at this affordable, yet luxurious hotel, you'll experience plush bedding, a wide range of amenities, and a variety of services such as free on-site parking for your vehicle. If you don't have a car, you can catch your flight out of SFO with our free airport shuttle service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Aura San Bruno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson San Bruno Hotel San Bruno
San Bruno Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing