We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grossest Hotel Ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Aura San Bruno
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in San Bruno
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 5, 2008

My family and I had two rooms at the Howard Johnson and were very disappointed and absolutly disgusted with the state of the rooms and the service. When we first arrived we had to look for someone to serve us first of all and when we got to our rooms we were shocked to find that they were unvaccumed (there was a toe nail clipping on the floor), the sheets were unwashed (filthy), wrinkled. The supposidly "clean" towlels hanging on the towel rack in the bathroom were dirty- obviously unwashed. When we called the front desk to complain about the towels they told me to "come down and get more" - like it was my job to do so. The tiles were missing in the bathroom- looking like a remodeling site. The comforters were once again disgusting. The fridge and coffee maker were not cleaned properly. We had to get our ice in plastic ziplock bags that I had on me because the ice bucket had dirt in it. We were shocked to notice as we turned down the bed that there what looked to be seamin stains on the sheet. We called for the manager to come to our room and look at the state of our room and he said "when I have time" then when he did come up he just gave us new sheets that WE had to put on the bed ourselves.
To top everything off- my sister went to return the rental car that we had for the week and the lady att the front desk said to call the shuttle service the hotel says they have when they need to be picked up (thats the main reason why we booked the hotel) and they waited for 2 hours for one and they never came. My sister had to pay out of her own pocket for something that we were told they provided but obviously lied. When my sister came back around 9pm she complained to the same front desk clerk and said "my sisters and daughter have been waiting for 3 hours for us and they are hungry" the woman replied "thats not my problem" My sister also said that our mother would be staying there the next week but we will tell her to not come because its terrible the woman replied "so.. we dont need her business"
We asked for our money back but said that they couldnt give it to us because it was "pre-paid"
We were extremly disgusted that the people that managed this hotel just dont seem to care.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Megannamix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHOJO, General Manager at Hotel Aura San Bruno, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2009

Dear Guest,

I would like to inform you that the Howard Johnson San Bruno has all new staff and management. I apologize for your experience at the hotel and would like to reassure you that the items you mentioned on your review have been addressed so that any future guests will not experience disappointment.

Best regards,


Vinny
(General Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (704)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

617 - 623 of 704 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2007

i stayed in this hotel for july 03-july 12 ,2007

1-) Towel's are small ( it's like a Face towel you hardly wipe urself)
2-) Dont Trust the Wake up call, l was late to work, they didnt call me.
3-) Breakfast, l think l saw better breakfast menu from different Hotel's l been stayed at.
4-) vending machine is takeing your money and l went to front desk, he just take my name and room number, l never hear from him again LOL...
5-) Wireless is bad connection But if you use Cat5 cable is fast.

OK THIS IS NEGATIVE STUFF, NOW LET'S TALK ABOUT GOOD STUFF
1-) Parking, is awsome
2-) Room was very clean , nice comfortable bed.
3-)Friendly Room cleaning ladys...

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Turk_Arab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2006

This hotel is nothing to write home about, but it was a functional hotel that didn't do anything to offend. We had a clean room with a king sized bed, and there was a coffee maker, mini-fridge, and microwave oven available for use. The TV offered basic cable TV fare, so don't expect to get any PPV entertainment. The bathroom was roomy and clean, but the towels provided were thin and small; not what you would offer guests in your own home. The hotel website states there is free wireless internet, and there is also a wired port as well. Not sure about the wireless access, as what I thought was the hotel network required a network key. I didn't bother asking since the motel across the street had an unsecured network that I took advantage of. There was free parking with a couple of parkade levels that don't connect to each other, and is hard to pick up when driving.

I was told by family that the hotel was opened a couple of years ago. The surrounding area doesn't look that hospitable, but the area is safe.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank blkjck5697
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
Thank liesbate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank HenryMal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank melanieSt576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank marialetizia1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Bruno
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus El Rancho Inn
0.4 mi away
Super 8 San Bruno /SF Intl Arpt West
0.7 mi away
Millwood Inn & Suites
Millwood Inn & Suites
#3 of 7 in Millbrae
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Villa Montes Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel
0.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport West
0.5 mi away
Days Inn San Francisco International Airport West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aura San Bruno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aura San Bruno

Address: 190 El Camino Real, San Bruno, CA 94066-5552 (Formerly Howard Johnson Express Inn San Bruno/SFO West)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Bruno
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in San Bruno
Price Range: $123 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Aura San Bruno 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Aura in San Bruno, California is situated in an ideal location next to San Francisco Airport (SFO) for your next visit to the San Francisco Bay Area. When you stay at this affordable, yet luxurious hotel, you'll experience plush bedding, a wide range of amenities, and a variety of services such as free on-site parking for your vehicle. If you don't have a car, you can catch your flight out of SFO with our free airport shuttle service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Aura San Bruno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson San Bruno Hotel San Bruno
San Bruno Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing