We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Issues with the room and neighborhood”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Aura San Bruno
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in San Bruno
Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Issues with the room and neighborhood”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

The neighborhood was not great, we heard car alarms and sirens all night. When we first arrived we were told there may be two parking spots left and luckily we were able to get one. I'm worried about where we shoudl have parked if there wasn't one. The bathroom had ants in it, and the water smelled so bad that we didn't shower, and used bottled water to brush our teeth. We left two hours earlier than necessry for the airport just to leave. When I let the front desk know about the issues with the ants and the water he sounded surprised but not overly sorry.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
1 Thank A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prativ P, General Manager at Hotel Aura San Bruno, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay at our hotel. We are very sorry that your stay was less than satisfying. We deeply apologize for your experience at our hotel. We will try to rectify the deficiency you have pointed out. We do have limited parking spaces and it is on first come first serve basis. I am glad you found one for yourself. We appreciate your business and hope we can do better next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    272
    121
    35
    21
See reviews for
232
194
57
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Europe
Level Contributor
109 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

We chose this hotel because it is very close to San Francisco' airport and because the price was not astronomic. And fortunately we were pleased with the rest of what it offers like a very clean, modern, well equipped and quiet room (we had a room away from the El Camino Real boulevard), an efficient complimentary shuttle service (it takes just 15 minutes between the hotel and the airport), a nice breakfast area (although it only has 5 tables for four people each), a helping continental breakfast (it is made mainly of sweet options except the cheese spread), and a high speed internet connection in the computer for guests they have in the lobby.
We were also pleased to meet staff members like Blanca, Hilda, Margarita and Julie. They were very nice and friendly.
In regards to the location, let us mention that in front of the hotel, just across El Camino Real, there are a couple of dinning options. We didn't like so much the chinese food at "Smiling BBQ", so we definitely recommend to try "Celia's Mexican Food".
Finally we can also confirm that there is a public bus line (ERC) that has a stop close to the hotel (just across de traffic light) which can give you a ride (2$) to South San Francisco or Coloma BART stations from where you can reach downtown San Francisco (3,60$).

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from El Camino Real, it will be much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwaladar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prativ P, General Manager at Hotel Aura San Bruno, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay at our hotel and giving us your valuable feedback. I am glad to know you liked our hotel. Thank you for mentioning our staff members. It means a lot to us. We are committed to provide you excellent service every time you stay with us. Please do not hesitate to contact us if you have any questions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

It is a newer property, very clean and spacious but foot fall noise from room above and people talking in the adjacent rooms could be heard. Beds were comfortable with extra pillows. Rooms had a microwave and a small fridge. 5 minutes to SFO. Parking spots are a bit tight for large vehicles. Breakfast selection was limited to toast, muffins and cereals.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goldentrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prativ P, General Manager at Hotel Aura San Bruno, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for choosing Howard Johnson in San Bruno. We are very glad to have been your hosts during your visit to the Bay Area. Our hotel emphasizes the importance of cleanliness and guests' comfort is always our number one priority. I'm sorry to learn you had some inconveniences during your stay, we take our guests' comments very seriously and I will personally check our rooms to see how we can improve. Please, come visit us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Bruno
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS El Rancho Inn
0.4 mi away
Super 8 San Bruno /SF Intl Arpt West
0.7 mi away
Villa Montes Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Millwood Inn & Suites
Millwood Inn & Suites
#3 of 7 in Millbrae
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
0.5 mi away
Days Inn San Francisco International Airport West
0.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aura San Bruno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aura San Bruno

Property: Hotel Aura San Bruno
Address: 190 El Camino Real, San Bruno, CA 94066-5552 (Formerly Howard Johnson Express Inn San Bruno/SFO West)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Bruno
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in San Bruno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Aura San Bruno 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Aura in San Bruno, California is situated in an ideal location next to San Francisco Airport (SFO) for your next visit to the San Francisco Bay Area. When you stay at this affordable, yet luxurious hotel, you'll experience plush bedding, a wide range of amenities, and a variety of services such as free on-site parking for your vehicle. If you don't have a car, you can catch your flight out of SFO with our free airport shuttle service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Aura San Bruno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson San Bruno Hotel San Bruno
San Bruno Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing