We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Huge room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Aura San Bruno
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in San Bruno
Muskegon
2 reviews
“Huge room”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

We had a King room that was huge, over 350 SF. Couch in sitting area with a desk. Microwave and small fridge. Tall ceilings. We were on the street side but it wasn't that loud. Area looks a bit sketchy. Parking is tight. Airport shuttle runs every hour, stops at several places. We had an early flight so no review of the breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Ronald V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prativ P, General Manager at Hotel Aura San Bruno, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for your review regarding your stay at our hotel and giving us the highest ratings for your stay. I am glad you like the huge room. We really appreciate your business and hope we can see you in future. If you have any questions or concerns please do not hesitate to contact us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    272
    121
    35
    21
See reviews for
232
194
57
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Level Contributor
312 reviews
269 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 336 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

Location
About 15 minutes drive from SFO airport- there is a free shuttle on request all times prior to midnight ( I think- look at their helpful website). CAL train station is 7 minutes walk and BART is around 30 minutes walk through a large mall- quite a walk from Hotel. Hotel is located quite far along El Camino Real- opposite is a mexican bar/restaurant, a liquor store, a couple of Sushi places and some gas stations.
Room
Room was very spacious- two large double beds with a large Sanyo Flat screen TV offering full cable TV. There is also quite a large (in hotel standards) refrigerator and microwave on top with a small coffee machine. There is also a desk to work on and some lamps and plugs all US (but they offer adaptors at reception if required). There is also a ironing board, safe and alarm clock. The bathroom offers a shower/bath combo, again spacious and clean and worked well. Amenities included shampoo, conditioner and body lotion- all local brands. Room decor is typical American conservative (bit dull) but still room was very clean and in adequate condition offer a basic degree of functionality. Its no frills but slept very well for one night in between flights.
Facilities
WIFI comes with room, secure password - very fast and can use multiple devices. Other facilities include a basic breakfast area that include two cereals, some muffins, bagel, bread and a toaster. there is also a yogurt and coffee machine- all complimentary. There is some vending machines around the hotel as well.
Staff
Staff are really nice and flexible at this hotel- arrived two hours early and was able to check-in then as well as one hour later. They seem really helpful with train/subway directions and advice clearly.
Overall if your staying just for one night for flights and don't plan to go to San Fran downtown then perfect- however I will probably stay a little closer to the subway as the walk is quite long to BART station. However the staff are lovely and room is nice and clean.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank docdot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prativ P, General Manager at Hotel Aura San Bruno, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, We are very pleased to read your comments about our rooms, transportation, and ammenities. We are glad to know your overall experience was positive and comfortable. We will continue to make outstanding efforts in maintaining a clean, comfortable and inviting environment for our guests. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Howard Johnson upon your next visit to the Bay Area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

We arrived in San Francisco after 11:00pm, so decided to stay at an airport hotel and get our rental car the following morning. This hotel was very clean and the bathroom was very modern. Both the bed and pillows were very comfortable. The only negative was that there weren't enough tables in the eating area. When we came to eat at 8:30am, there were no tables and so we had to take our food to our room. There were singles sitting at tables for four. There were only about 9 tables, located in a small area. It would be a good idea if they had a long counter against the wall that could have bar stools for people to sit at. That would provide more seating. That was the only negative. The breakfast was fine.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prativ P, General Manager at Hotel Aura San Bruno, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We really appreciate your feedback regarding your recent stay. It was a pleasure having you as our guest and look forward to your next visit. We will definitely take your suggestion regarding the breakfast into consideration. If you have any questions or concerns please do not hesitate to contact us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

We chose this hotel because it was close to the airport and we were arriving late at night and needed a place to stay for one night. The price was around $200.00 a night so we expected something decent. This was probably the worse hotel we have ever stayed. The underground parking was creepy and the hotel was run down and old. The hallway seemed more like an older apartment building than a hotel. The room had a lingering distinctive odor to it that did not go away. But probably the worse part of anything were the beds and the pillows. My daughter said we should have just slept in the car and I have to agree with her. Very disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane68Illinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prativ P, General Manager at Hotel Aura San Bruno, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay at our hotel and giving us your feedback. We are very sorry that your stay at our hotel was less than satisfying. We had just changed the carpets in all our rooms and our hallways and I am very sorry to see that you felt it to be old and rundown. We have also updated our TV's to 40 " LCD and we are constantly working towards improving our product to provide excellent product and service to our customers. We also have changed all our mattresses in our King beds and very soon we will be changing for our queen beds as well. The price do vary according to the events during the season. We try to give value and be competitive rates among the hotels around us. Thanks again for your comments and we will work even harder to earn your business in future. Please do not hesitate to contact us if you have any questions or concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

We could not find available rooms in the other local hotels near SFO. We had to settle for this because of booking restriction in other hotels. Staff was fine. Hotel needs to be cleaned. Floors in elevator and lobby were poorly maintained. Good for one night only. The good thing is it is only 3 miles from SFO.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank robert m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prativ P, General Manager at Hotel Aura San Bruno, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking your valuable time and giving us your feedback. We are very sorry if your stay was less than satisfying. We were upgrading our corridor carperts when you were checking in and therefore our lobby floor as well as our elevator floor was not clean as they were taking the carpet through the lobby and elevator. Please pardon our work and we are sorry for the inconvenience. We hope you give us another chance. Thanks again for your comments and if you have any questions or concerns please do not hesitate to contact us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Bruno
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS El Rancho Inn
0.4 mi away
Super 8 San Bruno /SF Intl Arpt West
0.7 mi away
Villa Montes Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Millwood Inn & Suites
Millwood Inn & Suites
#3 of 7 in Millbrae
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
0.5 mi away
Days Inn San Francisco International Airport West
0.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aura San Bruno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aura San Bruno

Property: Hotel Aura San Bruno
Address: 190 El Camino Real, San Bruno, CA 94066-5552 (Formerly Howard Johnson Express Inn San Bruno/SFO West)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Bruno
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in San Bruno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Aura San Bruno 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Aura in San Bruno, California is situated in an ideal location next to San Francisco Airport (SFO) for your next visit to the San Francisco Bay Area. When you stay at this affordable, yet luxurious hotel, you'll experience plush bedding, a wide range of amenities, and a variety of services such as free on-site parking for your vehicle. If you don't have a car, you can catch your flight out of SFO with our free airport shuttle service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Aura San Bruno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson San Bruno Hotel San Bruno
San Bruno Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing