We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and great for a one night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Aura San Bruno
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in San Bruno
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Clean and great for a one night stay”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We arrived in San Francisco after 11:00pm, so decided to stay at an airport hotel and get our rental car the following morning. This hotel was very clean and the bathroom was very modern. Both the bed and pillows were very comfortable. The only negative was that there weren't enough tables in the eating area. When we came to eat at 8:30am, there were no tables and so we had to take our food to our room. There were singles sitting at tables for four. There were only about 9 tables, located in a small area. It would be a good idea if they had a long counter against the wall that could have bar stools for people to sit at. That would provide more seating. That was the only negative. The breakfast was fine.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prativ P, General Manager at Hotel Aura San Bruno, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We really appreciate your feedback regarding your recent stay. It was a pleasure having you as our guest and look forward to your next visit. We will definitely take your suggestion regarding the breakfast into consideration. If you have any questions or concerns please do not hesitate to contact us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    277
    124
    35
    21
See reviews for
236
199
57
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We chose this hotel because it was close to the airport and we were arriving late at night and needed a place to stay for one night. The price was around $200.00 a night so we expected something decent. This was probably the worse hotel we have ever stayed. The underground parking was creepy and the hotel was run down and old. The hallway seemed more like an older apartment building than a hotel. The room had a lingering distinctive odor to it that did not go away. But probably the worse part of anything were the beds and the pillows. My daughter said we should have just slept in the car and I have to agree with her. Very disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane68Illinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prativ P, General Manager at Hotel Aura San Bruno, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay at our hotel and giving us your feedback. We are very sorry that your stay at our hotel was less than satisfying. We had just changed the carpets in all our rooms and our hallways and I am very sorry to see that you felt it to be old and rundown. We have also updated our TV's to 40 " LCD and we are constantly working towards improving our product to provide excellent product and service to our customers. We also have changed all our mattresses in our King beds and very soon we will be changing for our queen beds as well. The price do vary according to the events during the season. We try to give value and be competitive rates among the hotels around us. Thanks again for your comments and we will work even harder to earn your business in future. Please do not hesitate to contact us if you have any questions or concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

We could not find available rooms in the other local hotels near SFO. We had to settle for this because of booking restriction in other hotels. Staff was fine. Hotel needs to be cleaned. Floors in elevator and lobby were poorly maintained. Good for one night only. The good thing is it is only 3 miles from SFO.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank robert m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prativ P, General Manager at Hotel Aura San Bruno, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking your valuable time and giving us your feedback. We are very sorry if your stay was less than satisfying. We were upgrading our corridor carperts when you were checking in and therefore our lobby floor as well as our elevator floor was not clean as they were taking the carpet through the lobby and elevator. Please pardon our work and we are sorry for the inconvenience. We hope you give us another chance. Thanks again for your comments and if you have any questions or concerns please do not hesitate to contact us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We knew we would be tired from a long journey to San Francisco so decided to book an airport hotel to crash in before heading into SF for the next 10 days. We chose HJ Express because of the courtesy bus and free wifi and the location seemed ok.
I am writing this from the room and I have to say it is a perfect little place to sleep off a long journey. When we arrived the room was baking but the aircon is so efficient it was nicely chilled within about 5 minutes. The first thing we did was connect two tablets, a phone and a laptop t the free wifi so we could let people know we arrived ok. It was very easy and the speed is great. The room itseld is huge. We have 2 big golf travel cases as well as our luggage but there is plenty of room to store large bags.
The bathroom is fine, you couldn't really have a bath as it is too shallow but the shower is good so no worries there. There is all the toiletries you need if you don't have anything with you (one of our bags didn't make it) and you can ask for more if there isn't enough. I have read a few reviews with people complaining about the breakfast but it seems fine to me. There is juice, coffee, cereal, toast, bagels, fruit and other options too. Not cooked but perfectly fine.
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G00BY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prativ P, General Manager at Hotel Aura San Bruno, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We are very thankful for your stay at our hotel. We appreciate your time and giving us your feedback. We are glad you like our hotel and continental breakfast. We appreciate your business and hope to see you in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Bruno
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus El Rancho Inn
0.4 mi away
Super 8 San Bruno /SF Intl Arpt West
0.7 mi away
Millwood Inn & Suites
Millwood Inn & Suites
#3 of 7 in Millbrae
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Villa Montes Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel
2.0 mi away
The Westin San Francisco Airport
0.5 mi away
Days Inn San Francisco International Airport West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aura San Bruno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aura San Bruno

Property: Hotel Aura San Bruno
Address: 190 El Camino Real, San Bruno, CA 94066-5552 (Formerly Howard Johnson Express Inn San Bruno/SFO West)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Bruno
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in San Bruno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Aura San Bruno 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Aura in San Bruno, California is situated in an ideal location next to San Francisco Airport (SFO) for your next visit to the San Francisco Bay Area. When you stay at this affordable, yet luxurious hotel, you'll experience plush bedding, a wide range of amenities, and a variety of services such as free on-site parking for your vehicle. If you don't have a car, you can catch your flight out of SFO with our free airport shuttle service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Aura San Bruno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson San Bruno Hotel San Bruno
San Bruno Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing