We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“missing pool- very attentive service at - good breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Aura San Bruno
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in San Bruno
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Gernot K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Prativ P, General Manager at Hotel Aura San Bruno, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (730)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

441 - 447 of 730 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

My family and I stayed in a triple room in August when visiting San Francisco. We were really well pleased with the Reception and the room, which was big and spacious with two queen size beds and a really nice bathroom. The hotel feels like it is new and is well located, not being far from restaurants, a large shopping centre and a BART station from which we easily got into San Francisco. Complimentary breakfast was included and there was good underground parking.
All in all a place to be highly recommended for those wanting to visit San Francisco without actually being in the city. There isa choice of restaurants within walking distance from the hotel.
The only criticism was the amount of seating for breakfast - just 5-tables which could seat 20.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back as they are quieter than those at the front near El Camino Real.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeterNicol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prativ P, General Manager at Hotel Aura San Bruno, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay at our hotel. We are humbled by your comments and we thank you for taking your valuable time and giving us the feedback. I am very glad that you liked our hotel. Since you stayed we have changed the carpet in all our rooms to give new look and feel to the rooms. Hope you can come and stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Prativ P, General Manager at Hotel Aura San Bruno, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We booked this hotel for the first night arriving in SF, after a late flight. The price is reasonable and it comes with a continental breakfast. It has free parking. And it doesn't have bars on the windows....
It is very dark and just doesn't feel clean, I think because it hasn't been updated in some time, or at least gives that appearance. The walls are paper thin--we heard every noise from the hallway, other rooms, and the street outside. The towels are thin and the water pressure in the shower isn't good.
At breakfast, they had run out of coffee, so I went down to the first floor to let them know. The young man on duty said, "I'll be right up." Evidently he was the only person on duty at 6:30 am. I went back out to the breakfast room 20 minutes later--still no coffee.
It's just not a very pleasant place and wasn't a pleasant experience for us.

Room Tip: Ask to be placed away from the street--noisy all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichardinOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prativ P, General Manager at Hotel Aura San Bruno, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear valued guest, I am very sorry to hear you did not have a good experience staying at our hotel; please know that we strive to provide the best service possible and cleanliness is one of our top priorities. I will personally see as to why you felt your room did not meet your expectations and make all the necessary corrections. Please accept our deepest apologies for any inconveniences caused during your stay. You can be assured that your comments will be taken very seriously. We welcome all constructive criticism, as it helps us to get better. We are presently working hard to improve the look and feel of our hotel. For example, as you might have noticed, every room in the the hotel is now equipped with a brand new 40" flat screen TV and we are currently placing new carpets in each room; among other updates. Please come stay with us again, we will definitely strive to make your stay more enjoyable by targeting the areas of improvement you have mentioned.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Prativ P, General Manager at Hotel Aura San Bruno, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Bruce J
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Prativ P, General Manager at Hotel Aura San Bruno, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Lewanna L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Prativ P, General Manager at Hotel Aura San Bruno, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Bruno
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus El Rancho Inn
0.4 mi away
Super 8 San Bruno /SF Intl Arpt West
0.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Days Inn San Francisco International Airport West
0.7 mi away
Villa Montes Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel
5.3 mi away
Best Western Coyote Point Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aura San Bruno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aura San Bruno

Address: 190 El Camino Real, San Bruno, CA 94066-5552 (Formerly Howard Johnson Express Inn San Bruno/SFO West)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Bruno
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in San Bruno
Price Range: $100 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Aura San Bruno 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Aura in San Bruno, California is situated in an ideal location next to San Francisco Airport (SFO) for your next visit to the San Francisco Bay Area. When you stay at this affordable, yet luxurious hotel, you'll experience plush bedding, a wide range of amenities, and a variety of services such as free on-site parking for your vehicle. If you don't have a car, you can catch your flight out of SFO with our free airport shuttle service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Aura San Bruno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson San Bruno Hotel San Bruno
San Bruno Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing