We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lisa's stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Aura San Bruno
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in San Bruno
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 13, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank LISA J
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (705)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

510 - 516 of 705 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

The rooms were well kept and the bathroom was very clean. It is a basic hotel, but a great place to stay for the price. The location is ideal as there are tons of restaurants within walking distance. We are going to stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ivyjdt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Our flight into San Francisco landed around midnight so we chose a hotel near the airport. If you just want to get off the plane and go to bed this could be an option for you. Not the best but clearly not the worst - just average. The room was a bit tired but did appear to be clean. The bed was hard but we were tired and went right to sleep. We left early so really didn't look around much. If i were doing it again i might drive a bit further to get a more comfortable bed.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MVCCI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank CINDY H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

I have stayed at this location in the past and been very satisfied, so it was not a strain to return to this motel. The room was clean, large and well appointed.

The only issues with the room itself were related to lighting, which was very poor -- especially in the corner where the microwave and small refrigerator was located. It was impossible to see what one was doing. The placement of those items behind the bathroom door was also very inconvenient. Both items were brought to the attention of the management, and I trust they have been rectified.

With regard lighting, it is all too common in hotels for weak, low wattage bulbs to be used in rooms, and this is a pointless exercise as it merely results in people either turning on ALL the lights (often not much better for total illumination) or replacing the bulbs themselves with something more adequate. The pretext that this is a "green" thing and saves money and environment is totally false, and hotels everywhere should revisit this practice. Having to strain to see into one's luggage, or to read is NOT a suitable situation, and it makes the room customer-unfriendly in a respect which sticks in the visitor's mind.

The refrigerator and microwave needs to be moved elsewhere, both because of the bathroom door, and because the lighting in that corner is non-existent. I presume this matter was addressed, as the room was certainly large enough to place those items elsewhere.

The only other issue was related to the check-out time, which I had arranged in advance to have extended. The hotel is quite unaccommodating with regard this matter, as I have discovered in the past. However, on this occasion, I was able to arrange an extension and had done so with the manager directly. Unfortunately, this information was not passed on to the desk staff, so the person on duty not only rang the room at the "regular" time, but was also difficult and unaccommodating when the arrangement was brought to her attention.

As I have medical issues, and had a flight many hours later, checking out at eleven was much too early, and it was arranged that I would leave between 12:30 and 13:00 -- which is hardly late beyond reason. And, as I was using this time to rest, being disturbed was not acceptable.

The matter was settled, and I left at 12:30, but the issue here is the lack of communication between the person who made the arrangement and the desk staff on duty at the appointed time, as well as the general unaccommodating attitude with regard extensions. Reasonable adjustments are common at most hotels and motels, and the rigidity here is frustrating.

Notwithstanding this annoyance, I would return, and I do recommend the motel to travellers who need to be close to the aeroport, and require decent, fairly priced-accommodation.

Recommended.

Room Tip: I personally like the room immediately off the lobby. It does suffer from some foot traffic noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RedMtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Hotel very dated and a little too far out of the city for our short stay. Had to catch bus and Bart to travel in. Shuttle very efficient.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank deerelodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Having sworn off HoJo's a decade ago, we felt it was time for another chance. We were respectfully treated as valued guests. The room was in great shape, yet not "perfect " as any room will have areas of concern. However, the staff documented our minor concern while promising to have resolved immediately. Since we were only there overnight we explained we were only letting management know so it would be corrected. This experience along with the kind manner we were treated means we will visit HoJo at our next opportunity! The management chose their staff very wisely....with an eye to customer service! Thanks for hosting us!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank newhoJofan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Bruno
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus El Rancho Inn
0.4 mi away
Super 8 San Bruno /SF Intl Arpt West
0.7 mi away
Millwood Inn & Suites
Millwood Inn & Suites
#3 of 7 in Millbrae
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Villa Montes Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel
0.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport West
0.5 mi away
Days Inn San Francisco International Airport West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aura San Bruno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aura San Bruno

Address: 190 El Camino Real, San Bruno, CA 94066-5552 (Formerly Howard Johnson Express Inn San Bruno/SFO West)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Bruno
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in San Bruno
Price Range: $123 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Aura San Bruno 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Aura in San Bruno, California is situated in an ideal location next to San Francisco Airport (SFO) for your next visit to the San Francisco Bay Area. When you stay at this affordable, yet luxurious hotel, you'll experience plush bedding, a wide range of amenities, and a variety of services such as free on-site parking for your vehicle. If you don't have a car, you can catch your flight out of SFO with our free airport shuttle service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Aura San Bruno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson San Bruno Hotel San Bruno
San Bruno Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing