We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Aura San Bruno

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Aura San Bruno
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in San Bruno
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

We were pleasantly surprised by this place. Didnt really expect much, but it had all you needed and the room was nice, clean and big. There was a good parking area, nice staff and bagels for breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hampus H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prativ P, General Manager at Hotel Aura San Bruno, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank your for taking your time and giving us your feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel.Thanks for making us look good.We do appreciate everyone's feedback.This helps us getting better and providing the best service we can.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    269
    119
    35
    21
See reviews for
229
190
57
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
WASHINGTON
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Despite having booked a couple of months in advance, room was not quiet -- which is what i requested. Room stunk of chemicals. When I asked for a diffferent room, I was told there were none. When I checked in, I came from the garage -- so not through the front door; on front door, there is the AAA Membership discount -- it is not found at check-in counter. When I later asked that I be given the discount, the snippy young man told me it could not be done (Talik?). When I protested, he said I was free to leave the hotel. When I asked to speak to the manager, I was told he was not available. The wand to the television set did not work.

I will never stay with you again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
1 Thank MICHAEL E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prativ P, General Manager at Hotel Aura San Bruno, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thanks for the review regarding your stay at our hotel. Please accept my sincere apology for not reaching out to you and taking care of you. I am sorry we could not honor your requests.
We will try to do better next time. Again thanks for letting us know about your experience at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

Two relaxing nights at a great place. The staff is superb, very helpful and thoughtful. Recommended a locale restaurant for breakfast that was one of the best meals we had! Great location, close enough to San Francisco without being in all the hubbub! Highly recommend this place. Good parking too!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blgarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

Great hotel clean Great service great room also great price Front desk clerk was Great and helpfull.The hotel was very clean. The desk employees were very nice and accomodating and always greeted with a smile. The beds were reasonably comfortable and there was a variety of pillows from which to choose. The price was good, in bay area terms, anyway. The room was quiet even though it looked over the El Camino. There are several good restaurants within walking distance. We opted for the Rib Shack. Highly recommended - very tasty sides and low prices. The free parking was definitely a plus.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lasvegasm47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norcal
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

The hotel was very clean. The desk employees were very nice and accomodating and always greeted with a smile. The beds were reasonably comfortable and there was a variety of pillows from which to choose. The price was good, in bay area terms, anyway. The room was quiet even though it looked over the El Camino. There are several good restaurants within walking distance. We opted for the Rib Shack. Highly recommended - very tasty sides and low prices. The free parking was definitely a plus.

Room Tip: All rooms seem equally fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Poopkika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
160 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

This hotel is very close to the airport (about 10-15 minute drive) and has large, clean and rather old rooms. Unfortunately it was pretty noisy, because there wasn't only noise from the airport (which is to be expected for an airport hotel), but also quite some street noise and train noise.
There is not a lot of things in the neighborhood, but a 20 minute drive will get you to some nicer places. All of this said, I would lean more towards a "2 star" rating, but the complimentary parking bumped it up to the "3 star" rating.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Xabbu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed only one night as a jumping-off place for SF Airport. As such, it served our needs perfectly: scrupulously clean, surprisingly spacious bathroom, inexpensive, free (albeit limited) breakfast, free and on-time van for the short hop to the airport, friendly and helpful staff, computer and printer for boarding passes. Too far to walk from BART to hotel, but cabs are plentiful at San Bruno BART station, or you can hop on the No. 391 bus there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dctraveller w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Bruno
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS El Rancho Inn
0.4 mi away
Super 8 San Bruno /SF Intl Arpt West
0.5 mi away
Days Inn San Francisco International Airport West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport West
0.7 mi away
Villa Montes Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel
0.7 mi away
Millwood Inn & Suites
Millwood Inn & Suites
#3 of 7 in Millbrae
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aura San Bruno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aura San Bruno

Property: Hotel Aura San Bruno
Address: 190 El Camino Real, San Bruno, CA 94066-5552 (Formerly Howard Johnson Express Inn San Bruno/SFO West)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Bruno
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in San Bruno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Aura San Bruno 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Aura in San Bruno, California is situated in an ideal location next to San Francisco Airport (SFO) for your next visit to the San Francisco Bay Area. When you stay at this affordable, yet luxurious hotel, you'll experience plush bedding, a wide range of amenities, and a variety of services such as free on-site parking for your vehicle. If you don't have a car, you can catch your flight out of SFO with our free airport shuttle service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Aura San Bruno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson San Bruno Hotel San Bruno
San Bruno Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing