We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real deal!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Aura San Bruno
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in San Bruno
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 20, 2011

I'll admit...I was nervous that the cheap price I got meant that this hotel wasn't going to live up to some of the great reviews. I was wrong! This hotel is a real gem and I would stay here again in a second. We stayed for five nights and used it as our base when exploring San Francisco. We had rented a car and simply drove to the Millbrae BART station which was less than 5 minutes away. The parking lot, although small, always had spots available, even when arriving at 11pm at night. The breakfast is small, but adequate...my husband and I got a coffee, danish, and bowl of cereal every morning. The staff were really friendly. The room itself was HUGE and very clean. THe bathroom was also spacious and spotless. We were on the first floor and had no issues with noise at all. There is a computer in the lobby with internet and it was nice to have that to check-in for our flight. All in all, a really great deal!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ebbie1081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (717)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

566 - 572 of 717 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2011

My daughter and I booked our room through Priceline and we were NOT dissappointed. The room was very clean and the shuttle service was excellent. We even used the shuttle for picking up our car and when we needed a pick up to back to the hotel. We asked the staff to store our luggage for the last day so we could spend our last day shopping and they were happy to do that. THe maid did a great job of keeping us in towels!The staff was very nice and helpful. The only thing that could have been different is the food. As all the baked goods were very sugary and there was very limited fruit options and no yogurt. As I am a diabetic this had us eating breakfast out somewhere else. This would be good to change, other than that it was a good stay.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

I have to say, this hotel met and exceeded all our needs. The free airport shuttle is a blessing. Our room was magnificent, and the breakfast and fruit always out was icing on the cake. I used this motel the night we arrived and the night before we flew out of SF for the convenience to the airport and the great price saved me money. The rest of my trip I spent deeper into SF or other places in California. This hotel, for our needs, was excellent.

Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
3  Thank hawkercowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

stayed near end of june for about 4 days for family vacation to san fran area. only a 20 min. highway drive to all of san fran's tourist attractions. hotel staff friendly and helpful. room basic but clean. had fridge and microwave that we used a lot. grocery store and laundrymat down the street making it convenient for the long stay. would recommend to anyone wanting to not pay outrageous fees downtown. also very close to airport if you need to be close. free underground parking which was small and usually filled up quickly. daily continental breakfast that was typical but adequate to get going in the morning. only complaint is the mattress, felt every spring and didn't sleep that good.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nukus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

This review applies to the extra large room, 106, that faces El Camino Real. I had booked for the wrong date (for a month earlier than our arrival), so there was no economy room for us when we arrived. We were kindly given a sympathy-discount on a larger room that was available on the first floor.

Howard Johnson's provides a good room for a good price. But if you are a first-timer to the Bay Area using it for a sleepover, be aware that the van driver serves a group of small hotels/motels in the San Bruno area, so he may not be as reliable as a dedicated van driver. Also, if you are hungry after 9 p.m. it could be difficult to find food within a reasonable walk.

Restaurants
Until 9 p.m., there are a couple of choices. The Shanghai restaurant across the street was closing when we arrived for dinner, but the staff at Celia's Mexican Restaurant took pity on us and allowed us to eat dinner there. The food was very good.

Room
We suspect our extra large room was too big for the air conditioner to cool down. The double bed was comfortable, and the bathroom was reasonably spacious.

Airport transfer
The information posted by Howard Johnson was that we should look for white vans that have the San Bruno Howard Johnson, Days Inn, Comfort Inn, and other small hotel logos. Don't bother to dial "53" on the white phone in the SFO hotel courtesy shuttle area; we called on two white phones and got an out-of-order tone. It can get to be kind of a zoo on that traffic island as people wait for their shuttles. Just have faith and wait. The shuttles that arrived most frequently were from various Hiltons in the area. On the way back to SFO, the 4 a.m. shuttle arrived at 4:08 and we went on to Comfort Inn before going to the airport. The driver dropped us off at the international terminal, terminal 2 but he didn't tell us to proceed to terminal 3. We found Terminal 2 was as quiet as a tomb and would not open until 7 a.m. We found someone who directed us to Terminal 3. We suspect single-hotel van drivers would have given us more specific directions.

If we had it to do all over again, we would have stayed at a Hilton hotel. We figure the extra cost would have been justified by a more frequent pick-up schedule and a Hilton-dedicated driver. We realize that when you are overnighting, time-saving airport connections are as important as the quality of the room.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Staidthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2011

very helpful staff, spacious and very clean room, adequate breakfast, free garage parking, a super value for the money...

Room Tip: ask for top floor of 3 floors away from elevators and second floor breakfast area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vdoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2011

This was a fantastic hotel for us to stay at for our 10 day trip to California. We were travelling with my blind sister who was staying 1 night at the beginning of our trip and 1 night at the end. I requested she be near us both times knowing this would be quite difficult due to the gap in the stay. However they managed to accomodate us on both occasions.

The room was very large and exceptionally comfortable. There was a large TV, a very comfortable king sized bed which was exceptionally clean and changed each day, we had plenty of furniture and the bathroom was fantastic, the bath was a good size and although it didn't have a bath plug we got one as soon as we asked for a new one.

The breakfast was no thrills but delicious none the less and the maids were very friendly and polite while serving breakfast and also when cleaning rooms or simply seeing you about the hotel (always said hello etc)

The parking was ample and never a problem no matter what time we got back to the hotel. It felt safe and secure and had a lift from the parking up into the hotel. The local area was nice with decent food restaurants catering to all types of cuisine (we had take away Sushi one night which was nice)

All in all a great stay and if we are ever on holiday in the San Francisco area we will definetely stay here again

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Strifae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Bruno
0.4 mi away
Super 8 San Bruno /SF Intl Arpt West
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus El Rancho Inn
0.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Villa Montes Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel
1.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Grosvenor Airport Hotel
Best Western Plus Grosvenor Airp...
#3 of 28 in South San Francisco
2,076 reviews
0.5 mi away
Days Inn San Francisco International Airport West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aura San Bruno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aura San Bruno

Address: 190 El Camino Real, San Bruno, CA 94066-5552 (Formerly Howard Johnson Express Inn San Bruno/SFO West)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Bruno
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in San Bruno
Price Range: $101 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Aura San Bruno 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Aura in San Bruno, California is situated in an ideal location next to San Francisco Airport (SFO) for your next visit to the San Francisco Bay Area. When you stay at this affordable, yet luxurious hotel, you'll experience plush bedding, a wide range of amenities, and a variety of services such as free on-site parking for your vehicle. If you don't have a car, you can catch your flight out of SFO with our free airport shuttle service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Aura San Bruno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson San Bruno Hotel San Bruno
San Bruno Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing