We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great compromise for arriving in and seeing San Francisco”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Super 8 San Bruno /SF Intl Arpt West
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in San Bruno
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed November 21, 2009

Good value and practical solution to flying into San Francisco and seeing the city and any part of Silicon Valley you fancy. Use the shuttle bus to and from the airport and BART (Bay Area Rapid Transit) light rail/underground from the airport to other destinations. BART is clean, cheap and efficient - once you've worked-out the pre-pay ticketing system.
The hotel is fine and the franchise owner is really friendly. Just remember that it on a busy road in the charmless suburbs and you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dealcruzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,152)
There are newer reviews for Super 8 San Bruno /SF Intl Arpt West
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,007 - 1,013 of 1,152 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2009

The Super 8 is easy to find and centrally located in San Bruno, California (just south of San Francisco). All rooms and hallways have been recently renovated (including new carpet) and painted. Rooms include new sink, iron and ironing board, clean bathroom, two mirrors, refregerator, microwave, comfortable bed, a table, two chairs, termperature control unit, DSL Internet access, and a color TV (with more than 70 channels, including HBO and the NFL Network and VHS/DVD capability), and lots of parking. There is also a free shuttle to and from the nearby San Francisco airport. This motel is also close to major cities and to two local major highways (101 and 280).

The owner and staff are very friendly and helpful. Rooms are cleaned EVERY day and well maintained.

This stay was most enjoyable - - - I will stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dblevins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2009

Stayed here for the first time for 3 night. Has AAA 2-Diamond rating. Liked the cleanliness and renovated rooms, free wi-fi in rooms, double-paned windows, microwave, refrigerator, free newspaper and continental breakfast. Staff was friendly and helpful. Excellent security and well lit parking lot. Lot can get full after 10 pm. Good selection of satellite TV stations.

Well located from SF (17 minutes). Close to major shopping center (3 minutes) and SFO Airport (10 minutes). Remember that this is a 2 diamond hotel and not at same level as Holdiay Inn Express or Courtyard By Marriott. That's why the price is lower at Super 8.

Neighborhood is a strip commercial district: Walgreens, Chilis', Auto Sales, etc. Nothing romantic or worth walking around. You need a car unless bus service is okay with you.

Only glitch: The wash basin (sink) is in the same room as the bed. No privacy.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2009

Stayed here one night. Check in was easy, pleasant desk clerks. Parking easy, lot right behind hotel. Fast elevator, no waiting. Room was musty smelling. They are remodeling some of the rooms. I think ours had the bathroom sink and counter redone. Furnishings a little shabby, upolstered chair stained, carpet a little dirty. Bed sheets were clean, not the best blanket or spread, blanket felt starched, scratchy. Towels were dingy gray and thin, but clean. Bathroom was very dim, bad lighting, shower was ok but not a lot of water pressure, all worked fine. Had a microwave and fridge. I think there was internet, I didn't bring computer so not sure. TV worked. We were on the third floor facing the back so we had no noise problem. Breakfast was okay, coffee, bagel, baby muffins, cereal, fruit and juice. Small room, might have to take stuff back to room. I might go back, not sure, depends on pricing. We got a pretty good rate compared to other places nearby so it was a good deal. Might bring my own towels next time.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kruizerkarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2009

We wanted to be close to the airport and have a nice evening before departure. Check in and out were fine and we had quick assistance from the staff when the TV wasn't functioning properly. The large room and king size bed on the parking lot side was quite nice and clean. The airport shuttle service was fine. We had to leave before breakfast so we didn't get to try it.

We'd hoped to eat at Don Pico's next door that night because we'd read great reviews but it was closed on Sun. nights. We walked The Avenue (the cute town strip) and saw several good choices but kept walking just to see what was available, and since we still wanted Mexican food, we went on to Celia's, a few blocks south. It was a good dinner. On the way back we also stopped at the convenient Walgreen.

A good experience overall.

Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank travelier14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2009

If you want somewhere close to the airport, with a free shuttle, complementary breakfast (more than adequate), very good rates, good sized romms and good service then this is the place for you. On arrival at the airport go out on to Level 2 and use the white courtesy phone in the shelters where the shuttle arrive, dial *51 and you will get straight through to the Super8 Motel. It takes about 30 minutes for the shuttle to arrive. Check-in is very quickly done and we found the rooms were a good size. We stayed there recently on two separate nights due to flights to different places and we were more than happy. If you know that this motel is close to the airport it stands to reason that you will have some noise but we did not think it was an issue. Equally, most hotels will have traffic outside and this is no different but again we did not find it an issue. The breakfast was very good and more than adequate. I would have no hesitation in recommending people to stay here. On our second visit we had a large jacuzzi in our bedroom. It was brilliant to be able to relax in it.

Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank Jetlagged72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2009

This is probably the perfect place to stay before or after the flight to San Francisco.
The rooms are big and clean, the location is second to none, and the price is surprisingly low - especially if you order in advance.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DownPatrickHead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Bruno
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus El Rancho Inn
0.4 mi away
Hotel Aura San Bruno
Hotel Aura San Bruno
#2 of 13 in San Bruno
694 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Montes Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Millwood Inn & Suites
Millwood Inn & Suites
#3 of 7 in Millbrae
596 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Grosvenor Airport Hotel
Best Western Plus Grosvenor Airp...
#3 of 28 in South San Francisco
2,007 reviews
2.6 mi away
San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 San Bruno /SF Intl Arpt West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 San Bruno /SF Intl Arpt West

Address: 421 El Camino Real, San Bruno, CA 94066-4246 (Formerly Cal West Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Bruno
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Bruno
#3 Business Hotel in San Bruno
Price Range: $125 - $322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 San Bruno /SF Intl Arpt West 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Super 8 San Bruno /SF Intl Arpt West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 San Bruno/Sf Intl Arpt w Hotel San Bruno
Super Eight San Bruno
San Bruno Super Eight
San Bruno Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing