We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel experience EVER”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Days Inn San Francisco International Airport West
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in San Bruno
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worst hotel experience EVER”
Reviewed September 13, 2010

I have stayed in many, many places around the world, but this was the worst. The elevator was broken, the phone didn't work, the room smelled smoky. There was a plaque at check-in (something mandated by the state gov.) that said the hotel was full of cancer causing substances. The vibe was just so negative. We turned the TV on and got the feeling that someone had been recently viewing adult Pay per View in the room.

But all these things would have been acceptable if we had gotten a good night's sleep. However, at 2 am I was awakened by the sound of voices in some Southeast Asian language next door. About six or seven teenagers had checked in, and they made no attempt to be quiet. They kept yelling, laughing, and moving from room to room pretty much until dawn. I knocked on their door. I tried to call the desk, but the phone didn't work. So I had to get dressed and tramp downstairs. The clerk was friendly. She called the room and threatened them with the police, but the didn't stop. By this time, sleeping was out of the question for me. I just stood in the hall and glared at the kids as they passed by.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daysinn12391, General Manager at Days Inn San Francisco International Airport West, responded to this review, September 21, 2010
I am so sorry for your unpleasant stay at the Days Inn in San Bruno. I am glad that you are able to tell us how your stay was because it helps me communicate with my staff on what needs to be done. I am sorry that the the room was not at your standard, and that some of the amenities were not working, which now the phone has been replaced in the room and also the elevator is fixed.

You letting us know about your stay will help me as a general manager work with my staff to improve this property. I suggest next time you have noisy neighbors, ask the front desk to move you to another room, or area at the property so you can have a better night sleep and I know they gladly will do that!

Thanks,
GM of Days Inn San Bruno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

902 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    348
    228
    92
    64
See reviews for
285
289
105
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2010

As airport hotels go this 'cheapie' ticks all the boxes. Close to San Francisco Airport, but located near shops and services. Free Wi-Fi (although the signal is patchy, depending on the room location), good continental breakfast options, friendly and helpful staff and clean rooms. The standard and comfort is consistent with the price, but location and free parking make it preferable to those located right 'on-airport'.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crawfz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Banos, California
1 review
Reviewed August 7, 2010

I suggest you check out the rooms on the third floor. Though we paid a lil extra $10 for an upgrade, it was well worth it. We even had a safe in our room! The room was very nice. Staff was very helpful and knowledgeable about the area. We decided to use their tour company. Picked us up at the hotel and dropped us back off at night. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunnySD079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2010

Counter person had no pesonality at all. Stayed 5 nites. Room was clean which after reading the some of the reviews on room quality. I was shocked. Bring a air freshener or candle. Turn on the air conditioner to clear out the smell. Hotel had the middle eastern smell. Free parking and breakfast was great.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pjung61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daysinn12391, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn San Francisco International Airport West, responded to this review, August 4, 2010
I apologize for the unpleasant stay you had at this property. We are trying our best to meet our guest needs and thank you for letting us know how your stay was. We will take your review in consideration.

Thank You,

Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2010

My wife and I stayed here during our trip to the bay area, and were very pleased with the ammenities, location, friendly staff and value for the dollar. I would highly recommend this hotel for both business and personal trips.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andydfw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2010

The hotel was fine. By June 2010 the building was pretty new. Rooms were in good quality, common spaces as well.

The cleaning service is not what we can call "well-done". We notice dust and crumbs on the baseboards, showing a poor room service. The bed sheets weren't touched, only the bed-cover was smoothed along the sheets.

The location in fine, near the airport and 20 minutes from San Francisco downtown. They have a shuttle to the airport as well.

The room itself was fine, but they presented 2 very serious faults: bad acoustic isolation and bright rooms in the morning due to the short curtains. It affects a lot the sleep quality since we spent the whole day walking around in SF and all you want at night is a quiet and dark room, without doors banging at 6 am.

Internet worked fine, they have a very good cable TV service (if ever you stay in the room). Breakfast was not bad. However, it was not refilled properly. So, as usual in this kind of hotel, if you don't arrive before 8am, you will have only rests.

I am not completely disappointed, but I won't come back. I'd rather try one of the dozens of hotels available at the same street. Besides, the price was not a differential, it was quite standard.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hugolpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange Park, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2010

The person checking me in was by a young guy obviously just in from out running, still in his sweaty tank top and slinky shorts! This place is evidently run by Indians or Pakistanis and it shows a lack of common hospitality decorum.
The room has cigarette burn holes in the drapes and furniture's bed lamp was cracked a the base, towels were the most flimsy ones I have ever had the misfortune to use for a bath, mold in the bath tile grout, big stains in the hallways and in front of the elevator.
Continental breakfast is a obstacle course to capture whatever meager remnants are left behind by the hordes before me. One AM no cereal, milk, breads, waffle mix and I had to hunt the management down to provide refills.
Checking out ,there were several heated discussions going on with others about their stay at the front desk and I was glad to be out of the place!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keimanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Bruno
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus El Rancho Inn
0.9 mi away
Super 8 San Bruno /SF Intl Arpt West
0.2 mi away
Millwood Inn & Suites
Millwood Inn & Suites
#3 of 7 in Millbrae
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport West
0.5 mi away
Hotel Aura San Bruno
Hotel Aura San Bruno
#3 of 13 in San Bruno
673 reviews
1.5 mi away
Aloft San Francisco Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn San Francisco International Airport West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn San Francisco International Airport West

Property: Days Inn San Francisco International Airport West
Address: 1550 El Camino Real, San Bruno, CA 94066-5302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Bruno
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in San Bruno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Days Inn San Francisco International Airport West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the vibrant energy of San Francisco at our newly renovated hotel near SFO. Offering updated, contemporary decor, functional amenities and a great value, our hotel is ideal for vacations, weekend getaways and business travel. From complimentary breakfast and park-and-fly packages to free Wi-Fi and a convenient airport shuttle, Days Inn San Francisco International Airport West is the smart traveler's choice for accommodations near San Francisco attractions. We offer Early Check In (upon availability and with a small fee) to our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Days Inn San Francisco International Airport West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn San Bruno Hotel San Bruno
San Bruno Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing