We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Tripadvisor$109
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Expedia.com$109
Priceline$109
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,086)
Filter reviews
1,086 results
Traveler rating
215
408
274
106
83
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
215
408
274
106
83
Show reviews that mention
All reviews room was clean san francisco budget hotel free breakfast coffee maker free parking airport microwave bart neighborhood bay
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 1,086 reviews
Reviewed July 15, 2019

We stayed here and had no maid service for four of the five days there. Breakfast was super crowded with limited options. We had dump our own trash and go to the lobby for fresh towels. What the heck am I paying for???

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank harolddaxf
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel 1550 SF Airport, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2019

We appreciate your constructive feedback in relation to the housekeeping service that you received, as this will allow us to improve upon our policies and procedures in that area. Guest satisfaction is of the utmost importance, and please rest assured that your observations have been duly noted and will be dealt with appropriately. Once again, I thank you for your feedback and apologize for not providing you with a better stay.

Best wishes, Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2019

Tere was no blinder on windows. No seat was available for sitting at breakfast. The bathtub could not be emptied. That really was not a good way to start a trip in the US... Personnel was nice, though

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Olivier C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel 1550 SF Airport, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2019

Dear Olivier, We are very sorry to hear that you didn't love your recent stay with us. Our management team have been alerted to your comments and they will ensure that improvements occur as a result. We hope that you will give us another chance to impress you during your next visit to this area.

Best wishes, Hotel Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2019

Arriving late morning, we enquired whether we could take our pre-booked room earlier than we would normally. We were met with a very grouchy faced receptionist who told us that to do so would cost $30.00 and that check - in time was 3pm. We pointed out that as Wyndham Rewards diamond members we were entitled to early check - in. On hearing this, without another word, he turned to his computer and spent some considerable time examining the screen before eventually producing a room key, again without a single word.
Our annoyance at this behaviour was partially mitigated when we found the room to be a very well appointed suite. Decoration was first class and being at the end of a corridor on th e top floor it was not subject to the usual hussle and bussle of motel rooms.
The breakfast room was airy and furnished with comfortable chairs. There were numerous power points for 'phone charging etc. The food consisted of diy waffles, microwave cheese omlettes 3 kinds of bread for toasting, apples (the only fruit) and yoghurt.Coffee was supplied 24hrs a day from a made - on - demand machine and was of good quality and also orange juice was available. There were no pastries or muffins.
For those who are travelling/just arrived via international flights this motel is ideal, being close and easy to reach from the airport. However, it is not the cheapest and the quality of the breakfast, is not the best of value. Also note that it is located 16 miles from the main attractions.

Date of stay: June 2019
3  Thank Ralph P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel 1550 SF Airport, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2019

Dear Ralph, We were disappointed to hear about the issues that you encountered with our staff. Our staff are normally known for their excellence in customer service, so we apologize profusely that this was not your experience. We will ensure that your comments are discussed with our team, so that improvements can be made. Thank you for sharing your feedback. We really appreciate the opportunity to improve future guest satisfaction.

Best wishes, Hotel Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2019

We came in from Los Angeles one afternoon. We had our flight out to India the next afternoon. We wanted to stay somewhere close to the airport and preferably a place which offers free courtesy shuttle. Days Inn San Bruno was perfect from that perspective. We booked online through one of the hotel booking sites. Rather expensive at about $ 200 for 3 of us sharing a room for one day at a basic budget hotel. But then hotels around San Francisco airport are expensive. If you are willing to take a 20 minute taxi ride for $ 20 from the airport then you do have cheaper options. However, you wouldn’t get a hotel courtesy shuttle for those properties. If you add on the to/from airport taxi fare then your hotel plus taxi costs would probably work out to the same $ 200 for 3 people. Barring the cost, this hotel did live upto all our expectations.

Location & Access:

A few days before our booking I got a email from the hotel giving me precise directions on how to avail the hotel shuttle. On arriving at San Francisco, I collected my luggage, followed the “Hotel Courtesy Shuttle” signs to the pick-up point outside and dialed the hotel from the list displayed at the contact phone. Los Angeles airport has these shuttle pickup points opposite every Terminal. Similarly there are drop-off points at every Terminal. Several hotels share a particular shuttle service and names of the hotels are painted on the side of the shuttle. Our shuttle arrived within 10 mins of our phone call. The shuttle driver helped with our luggage and off we went for the 10 minute ride. The shuttle drivers load and unload your luggage and are generally helpful with directions. They do expect a $ 5 - $ 10 tip. We paid $ 5 for the two bags he handled. Overall, the hotel is very convenient for staying close to the airport.

Ambience & Layout

This is a medium sized three storey building in a clean, spread out neighbourhood with a suburban feel. Parking is available on site. There’s parking on the street in front as well. The wide road in front is a major thoroughfare of San Bruno town and there are several restaurants, bars and commercial establishments within walking distance. There’s an ATM right opposite. The hotel does not have a swimming pool or Gym.

Accommodation:

This is a standard Days Inn. That means the rooms are medium sized. Enough space to move around for two people but rather cramped for 3 people with a roll-away extra bed. We had a King bed in our room with a 12” mattress that provided wonderful support. 4 large pillows, good cotton sheets, soft duvet, tastefully done up blue/white/walnut interior, blinds to shut out the daylight, translucent curtains as well, clean bathroom but fittings were rather aged, coffee maker, microwave, fridge, 40” TV, clock and tablet with USB charging ports, adequate wardrobe space etc. A safe would have been very useful. Adequate hot water and pressure at the shower. Overall quite comfortable and perfect for short budget stays.

F&B:

They do serve breakfast and there are several critical comments here about that. They offered 2 choices of fruit juice - Apple and Orange, Fresh whole apples, 3 choices of bread – Oat with nuts, Plain white and Wheat, 2 choices of cereals – Wheat with raisins and Cornflakes, with more raisins and nuts on the side, Frozen precooked omlettes with cheese (pop into the microwave for 3 mins and reasonably edible!), Waffle Maker with freshly made waffle batter, Tea and Coffee. Certainly not gourmet stuff but adequate to get you started for the day.

There are two vending machines on the ground floor which stocks wafers, small bites, instant noodle cups, water and soft drinks. All for $1 - $ 2.

For meals there are several options up and down the street. Across the street is Zorba’s Pizzeria. We went over for dinner. Excellent Greek food, pizzas and pastas if a tad expensive. They also served wine and beer. More on that in my separate review of the restaurant. Several other Chinese restaurants, American diners and Pizzerias within 5/10 minutes walk. Most establishments however close at 9/9.30 pm.

The hotel also has a tie up for delivering food from restaurants in the vicinity There’s a menu in the room and you can order in all the usual stuff, including wine and beer. But that service is also upto 9 pm.

Service & Staff:

Housekeeping is excellent. Front desk operates 24 hrs but there’s just one person on duty at any point. For airport shuttle one needs to inform the front desk in advance and the shuttle is right on time. I did not try out laundry. Being a budget establishment, there are no other services on offer.

Room tip: Rooms on American Level 2 (International 1st floor) or Level 3 (International 2nd floor) are same.
Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Arup G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel 1550 SF Airport, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2019

Dear Guest, We really appreciate the time that you've taken to leave such a detailed review of your stay with us. Thank you very much, it's great to hear that so many aspects of your stay pleased you so much, and the information that you've provided will be very useful for travelers who are considering staying with us. We would sincerely love to welcome you back again in the future, and we hope that you'll return to our property very soon!

Best wishes, Hotel Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2019

I only stayed at this hotel one night, and that was enough. It's a nice-looking hotel on the outside, but had a very small staff. Only one desk clerk to check guests in, so there was a wait. While waiting my turn, I was surprised to hear Christmas music being played in the lobby. The room was comfortable and clean, for the most part. However, the next morning, I did find a half-eaten pizza someone had left in the mini fridge. Christmas really did come early!

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Sightsee55619174390
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel 1550 SF Airport, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2019

Dear Guest,

We are very sorry to hear that you didn't love your recent stay with us. Our management team have been alerted to your comments about our property and they will ensure that improvements occur as a result. We hope that you will give us another chance to impress you during your next visit to this area.

Best wishes,
Hotel Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews