We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Hotel, beyond my expectations!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Montes Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in San Bruno
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 10, 2009

This is one of the nicest hotels we have stayed in and that includes four star hotels. The rooms are outstanding as is the entire hotels. The room rate is more the reasonable and includes free underground parking, free use of the hotel computers, complementary newspaper and continental breakfast (toast, bagels, waffles, four choices of cereals, fresh fruit, yorget, coffee, tea, milk and fruit juices). large flat screen t.v, The hotel is five minutes from the BART Station as well as the SF airport.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank discovernewplaces010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (461)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

410 - 416 of 461 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Villa Montes for nine nights while visiting family in San Bruno over Thanksgiving week. We found that it gave us everything we wanted in a hotel - and then some! Our room was spacious, comfortable and quiet. The complimentary continental breakfast was more than adequate - with fresh fruit, juice, cereals, yoghurt and even freshly cooked waffles! And the atmosphere was extremely friendly - with a General Manager who was personally concerned about the comfort of his guests. Nothing like the impersonal reception you'd get from the average "chain" hotel, particularly one so close to a major international airport.

In short, the Villa Montes is a hotel that I would highly recommend to anyone who needs a hotel in the San Buno area - or close to San Francisco International Airport - regardless of their length of stay.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SSN13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2009

Just returned from a five day stay, very, very nice room, bath and amenitities. Only drawback was having to go to desk in lobby for ice!!
We enjoyed access to their computer and printer comfortably set up at end of hall for quick changes to Mapquest. Great location for shopping and access to BART system. Enjoy!!!

Chili's, Wendy's, IHOP and Outback Steakhouse close-by for a quick bite.

Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank MaggieRP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2009

This is really a 4 star hotel (at least) other than in name and in price! The high quality of the rooms and the facilities make a rate of around $125 (via expedia) an absolute bargain - particularly when you factor in the free parking which can be a hard thing to find in the San Francisco area. All the little touches that the management have considered make a real difference in the feel of the place - the furnishings are comfortable and stylish and the service was very polite and considerate. This was by far the nicest hotel we stayed in on our recent 13 day roadtrip around the southwest, and I include the 4 star MGM Grand in Las Vegas in that comparison. I can understand why San Fran visitors might want to stay in the city itself but this place really worked for us and was more than worth the BART trip for our day downtown. The only problem was a little airport noise (which does seem awfully loud in the middle of the night). Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimboNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2009

Stayed one weekend night for a wedding in town. Hotel is quite new; only one year and a few months old. Very friendly and courteous staff. Within ten minutes of checking in, front desk called to see if anything is needed and if everything is satisfactory. Nice size and clean room with sitting area, desk, flat screen LCD TV, and safe. Nicely decorated with good color schemes; loved the crown moldings and valence.

Also has a little "business center" (computer with free internet access and printer) on every floor. Very clean breakfast area with many choices for the free breakfast: waffle, yogurt, bagel, English muffin, toast, pastry, cereals, fruits, coffee, tea, and juices.

Best bed, pillow, and sheets; I stayed in 5 stars hotels before with worse bedding. Can hear airplane noises since it is so close to the airport, but the noise wasn't loud. Once I was in the super comfy bed, couldn't hear and couldn't care less about the noise. Free garage parking with key-card access only to door and elevator. Five minutes to San Francisco International Airport. Great value, highly recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeyRules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2009

I stumbled across this on choicehotels.com and was surprised to see it was a Choice hotel. Unlike most of the Comfort / Quality inns in the area, the reviews on this were great so I decided to give it a try. Wow ! Beautiful new hotel, safe underground parking, and a delightfully boutique feel about it. The free WiFi worked like a dream. The location is amazing; San Bruno is near SFO, and I could get from there to San Fran downtown and also the valley, because the hotel is literally 30 seconds from 101 and 280. Most of all, Robin on the front desk (hi Robin, as you are reading this!!) was just about the nicest guy I have met behind a hotel desk in California ! What a guy ! If I could give this 7 out of 5, I would do. The best secret in the valley is no longer a secret. Terry

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2009

This place was amazing. The bed was like no other. Close to the BART, no problems at all. Friendly and beautiful. Luxury was 5 star. Will definitely stay here again. Took 15 min to get to SF on the BART, no hassle, everyone was so wonderful...Don't pay bigger prices in SF, when you can stay at this little gem in San Bruno . Truly a great find. No parking fees, wonderful breakfast, helpful staff, nothing bad to say at all. Will definitely retrun to do the Napa Valley and stay there.....cudos to all who run this 5 star. Don't forget to try BJ's Brewhouse just down the road.....great food, atmosphere, and wonderful service.....

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Montereybound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Bruno
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus El Rancho Inn
1.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites San Francisco Airport
1.3 mi away
Millwood Inn & Suites
Millwood Inn & Suites
#3 of 7 in Millbrae
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Bay Landing Hotel
Bay Landing Hotel
#2 of 12 in Burlingame
1,042 reviews
0.4 mi away
Courtyard San Francisco Airport
0.7 mi away
Hotel Aura San Bruno
Hotel Aura San Bruno
#2 of 13 in San Bruno
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Montes Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Montes Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel

Address: 620 El Camino Real, San Bruno, CA 94066-3530
Location: United States > California > San Bruno
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Bruno
Price Range: $131 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Montes Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Villa Montes Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Montes
Clarion Collection San Bruno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing