We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quite simply the best mid-range hotel in the entire bay area” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Montes Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Villa Montes Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in San Bruno
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary
Level Contributor
138 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Quite simply the best mid-range hotel in the entire bay area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2009

I stumbled across this on choicehotels.com and was surprised to see it was a Choice hotel. Unlike most of the Comfort / Quality inns in the area, the reviews on this were great so I decided to give it a try. Wow ! Beautiful new hotel, safe underground parking, and a delightfully boutique feel about it. The free WiFi worked like a dream. The location is amazing; San Bruno is near SFO, and I could get from there to San Fran downtown and also the valley, because the hotel is literally 30 seconds from 101 and 280. Most of all, Robin on the front desk (hi Robin, as you are reading this!!) was just about the nicest guy I have met behind a hotel desk in California ! What a guy ! If I could give this 7 out of 5, I would do. The best secret in the valley is no longer a secret. Terry

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    132
    31
    8
    8
See reviews for
97
193
32
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2009

This place was amazing. The bed was like no other. Close to the BART, no problems at all. Friendly and beautiful. Luxury was 5 star. Will definitely stay here again. Took 15 min to get to SF on the BART, no hassle, everyone was so wonderful...Don't pay bigger prices in SF, when you can stay at this little gem in San Bruno . Truly a great find. No parking fees, wonderful breakfast, helpful staff, nothing bad to say at all. Will definitely retrun to do the Napa Valley and stay there.....cudos to all who run this 5 star. Don't forget to try BJ's Brewhouse just down the road.....great food, atmosphere, and wonderful service.....

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Montereybound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiba, Japan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2009

I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights back in late june. Needed one near the airport, and this one was perfect. you could hear the airport a little, but not too much. i slept just fine. Check-in was fast & easy. Cookies at the front desk were awesome as well! The continental breakfast...if you want to call it that....was great! you dont need to go anywhere else, they have a great breakfast menu. i fly in/out of frisco again, i'll most likely stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank norcal180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2009

I stayed there 1 night and found this hotel is a gem around SFO.

Pros : very near to SFO (less than 2 miles, I even got there by 20 min walk from rental car building at SFO), hotel is new and has luxurious amenities, buffet style breakfast

Cons : the wall is thin so I could hear the shower next to the room & noise from the airplanes to or from the SFO airport. the hotel does not provide their own shuttle service, instead they provide complementary taxi service. guest room is a little bit small.

Overall, the quality of service and cleaness of room is excellent.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fiestajun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dc
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2009

I am so glad we found this hotel. We had gone to San Francisco using the Bart from the Hotel. We made a mistake coming back to the hotel and took the Milbrae stop. We had to walk about 5 miles or more; we should have taken the San Bruno stop. The hotel has a nice breakfast; and a great spa, I really enjoyed the internet set up in the hall outside of our room. They had cookies one day, I think my husband was looking for them again and again; but he was disappointed it was just the day of check in. I spoke to the owner last day he was very nice. I hope to stay here again in the future. It was so relaxing and clean!!!!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alleyca21t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2009

Very comfortable hotel. Quiet. Higher end linens and towels. Stylish contemporary decor. Not spectacular, since on site facilities are minimal, but otherwise very nice.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ScaldisNoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2009

I recently spent three nights in on of their suites and how comfortable. I enjoyed the fresh cookies each evening. And the staff is always very helpful and very friendly. This hotel is my choice for the Bay Area!! And it is a great value.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cliffbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Bruno
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS El Rancho Inn
0.3 mi away
Super 8 San Bruno /SF Intl Arpt West
1.3 mi away
Millwood Inn & Suites
Millwood Inn & Suites
#3 of 7 in Millbrae
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront
3.2 mi away
Bay Landing Hotel
Bay Landing Hotel
#3 of 12 in Burlingame
4.5 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Aura San Bruno
Hotel Aura San Bruno
#3 of 13 in San Bruno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Montes Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Montes Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel

Property: Villa Montes Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Address: 620 El Camino Real, San Bruno, CA 94066
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Bruno
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Bruno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Montes Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Despegar.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Agoda and Reservation Counter so you can book your Villa Montes Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Montes
Clarion Collection San Bruno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing