We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Montes Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in San Bruno
Certificate of Excellence
Manlius, New York
Level Contributor
163 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Stayed for the night after getting in late to the San Fran area and not wanting to travel far. Hotel is ultra clean and modern. Very friendly and helpful night check in staff. Room had modern and upscale furnishings . Room very small however. I was surprised by this. We had one king bed; maybe the double bed rooms are more spacious. Beautiful bathroom- and loved the toiletries provided. Linens wonderful. I was not as impressed by the work out room. Old elipticals, no treadmill, remote for tv in work out facility not working. Really a let down . Basic breakfast (similar to la quinta- nothing more except flavored syrup for your coffee- which was a nice touch ). Sound may be a problem for light sleepers. Airpane noise loud- its very close to airport. Did not bother us however. All in all, we would stay here again.

Room Tip: Try a double bed room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    135
    32
    8
    9
See reviews for
101
197
32
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2014

Located a couple of miles from SFO Airport pretty much in the center of San Bruno. Perfect access for the airport - but not a good location if your visit is in SF. This is a property that seems like a relatively recent build to convey a 'boutique' hotel atmosphere. The staff is terrific! Very engaged, friendly, efficient - lots of smiles. A+++ to the staff! Has underground parking (but not secured). Rooms are good-sized, comfortable, have a nice ambiance (attempt is more 'classic boutique' than 'Ikea-modern,' and all the expected room-amenities. The Villa Montes offers cookies and complimentary wine in the evenings and has a complimentary 'Fairfield Inn'-style continental breakfast in a rather large dining/meeting room. The neighborhood has a whole bunch of local, neighborhood-style restaurants in close proximity. Pretty amazing diversity of cuisines within walking distance. Definitely an asset for guests! A couple things about the room - not well lit. The overall colors in the room are darker and the available lighting just isn't bright enough - especially over the pedestal where the coffee service is placed. Also, the hotel is immediately - and I mean right up against El Camino Real - the main street in San Bruno. Only the sidewalk width separates the hotel from the street. If you're a light sleeper (I'm not, so didn't bug me) then you'll want to have a room on the opposite side as there is a fair amount of traffic noise. I'm probably being a bit picky.... The Villa Montes really is a gem and I'll look forward to staying there again.

Room Tip: Light sleeper? Ask for a room on the Hensley Avenue side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rihannsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2014

We stayed at Villa Montes for one night and would highly recommend. The hotel is situated a 10 minute drive from SFO arrivals. Our room was a good size with a very comfortable bed. All staff were very helpful and friendly and the spa pool + steam room was a nice feature.

I would highly recommend this hotel if you want to stay close the airport or south of San Francisco.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 2nd floor are close the spa pool + sauna.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Benpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
73 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

upon arrival, we figured were not impressed with location... granted, VERY close to airport is a plus-
it was only upon walking around the area that the convenience was evident.
bleeh sort of street location, but good restaurants nearby.

hotel was excellent-
staff not overly friendly, but fine.
room was lovely!
smallish bathroom.
very comfortable stay.
a bit pricey, but quite enjoyable.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tvdirector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

If you are going onto an inland destination but getting in late, this hotel is just 5 minutes from the airport with very comfortable beds and beautiful decor. Nice people working the front desk with a free glass of wine in the lobby around the fireplace with comfy chairs. Free secure parking. IHOP right next door. There is a Trader Joes right down the street.

Room Tip: Don't get a room in the front, street noise can be a problem for low floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CLWSarasota_Florida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

I spent one night in this place (to get close to SFO for my flight the next morning). I was surprised by how nice this place is. The interior of the hotel is different compared to other hotels in the bay area. It feels like you are on vacation in the Mediterranean's. The room was spacious, and clean. A lot of care went into designing the interior of both the hotel itself and the rooms. The design is very tasteful.
There were fresh cookies and complementary wine in the bar in the evening. I did not check out the spa (but I should next time I stay there). The area around the hotel is not as nice as the hotel itself. (Although I found a good sushi restaurant one block away)
They also arranged a complementary cab ride to the SFO airport, which was very convenient.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank johandm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Level Contributor
132 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014

We're not from the area, and navigation from the airport seemed a bit convoluted. The area around the hotel seemed slightly dodgy, but the hotel itself was perfectly acceptable. The agent at reception was very friendly. Parking is tight in the small underground lot, and I can't imagine that there are enough spaces for everyone, but we had one (I'd leave the monster truck at home). The room was fine - clean, well-decorated, comfortable, and quiet. Breakfast was unremarkable, but OK (on a par with Hampton Inn, for example). If you need to stay near SFO, this may be a good, reasonably-priced choice. There's a mall just up the road with a BJ's Brewhouse.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank opti-wan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Bruno
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus El Rancho Inn
0.3 mi away
Super 8 San Bruno /SF Intl Arpt West
1.3 mi away
Millwood Inn & Suites
Millwood Inn & Suites
#3 of 7 in Millbrae
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Aura San Bruno
Hotel Aura San Bruno
#2 of 13 in San Bruno
668 reviews
2.9 mi away
San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront
3.2 mi away
Bay Landing Hotel
Bay Landing Hotel
#2 of 12 in Burlingame
981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Montes Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Montes Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel

Property: Villa Montes Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Address: 620 El Camino Real, San Bruno, CA 94066-3530
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Bruno
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Bruno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Montes Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Choice Hotels, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Montes Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Montes
Clarion Collection San Bruno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing