We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautfiul Hotel just a few minutes from the airport”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Montes Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in San Bruno
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 8, 2013

The Villa Montes Hotel is a very well maintained hotel near to the airport. It has a good atmosphere.
The rooms are good, with excellent beds.
We used this hotel as our last night stay and it was one of the best hotels we stayed in for that during three weeks in the USA.
The hotel staff is friendly and helpful. Free transport to the airport was arranged for on request.
The breakfast is a little basic, but good.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FGenJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (453)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

234 - 240 of 453 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

I was shocked how good this hotel was for the price and location - the neighborhood threw me off at first (of course, it's no less seedy than staying over by the airport, possibly better) but once you're inside WOW. super clean, nicely decorated, very comfortable with a great bed, far enough away from the airport so noise from planes is not a problem (I asked to be put top floor facing the back of the building just in case) - I slept like a rock. and, free parking and continental breakfast, not like some other hotels I could mention with hidden fees - now, it's not IN SF where you can walk anywhere interesting by any means, but if you're driving up the coast and want a hotel which is striking distance to SFO, SF and half moon bay THIS is the deal !!!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zackreview2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Overall the hotel was clean and convenient to transportation, a quaint boutique hotel trying to pack in as much sophisticated punch as possible. The breakfast was your basics, simple enough to get the day started:cereal, pasteries, make-your-own belgian waffles, hard boiled eggs, coffee, tea, juice, fruit. The gym was on the top floor. It had a treadmill, elliptical machine, weights, exercise ball, towels and water. Small but the essentials were there. What I liked about the gym was the door that opened up to the roof to get some fresh air in. The jacuzzi/sauna room was nice and clean. The wine reception with cheese and crackers were a nice touch. Liked the free parking. The only issue we had was the morning and afternoon street noise from the cars. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the main street (El Camino) are quieter. Try to get a room in the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunnieJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The bed was a pillowtop and was so comfortable. The continental breakfast was very nice and the staff was friendly. Free parking was a plus! We stayed here twice, to begin and end our Northern CA trip, and we will definitely stay here again. Easy access to San Francisco and SFO.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JDS619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

This is almost like a boutique hotel in the sense that everything is taken care of. From the lighting to the furniture. Nothing luxuriously extravagant but very very nice nonetheless. It has a complimentary Parking garage and breakfast. The breakfast is good but not a lot of variety. There is an Ihop next door for added convenience.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pagnanid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Our stay at the hotel actually got off to a pretty rocky start, as the clerk (we later found to be a trainee) was clueless about the hotel's shuttle policy. However, after that, we had a pretty pleasant stay. The location is pretty good, only a mile or so from the airport and a mile from the BART. There's not too much to do in the area, outside of the run-down mall near the BART station, so I would not recommend it for an extended stay. The neighborhood isn't great, but certainly isn't bad. We felt perfectly safe in the daylight and only somewhat put off at night. Despite being close to the airport, we rarely heard planes and they didn't wake us up. The "spa" area was pretty nice although it would have been nicer if the waterfall was working. The exercise room was nice for such a small hotel. Each room has a remote controlled heating/air unit, which is nice, but we struggled to get anything resembling a consistent temperature. It is located on a pretty busy street, so you may want to ask about a room away from it. Parking is free and there's an adequate continental breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

The hotel location is strategically located, SFO airport and BART are nearby. The room is well appointed with old European flair style fixtures and furnishings, and the very important the bed king sized most comfortable bed I slept in. The only thing I found deficient is the parking. If you check in late like I did, there was no parking space available. The caveat to close proximity to airport you can hear airplane noises but not too bad when you're very tired. The big comfy bed, fluffy pillows and luxuriant bedding can lull you to slumber in a jiffy.

Room Tip: Check in on time if you're traveling by car because of parking availability.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maelle772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Bruno
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus El Rancho Inn
1.3 mi away
Millwood Inn & Suites
Millwood Inn & Suites
#2 of 7 in Millbrae
613 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Aura San Bruno
Hotel Aura San Bruno
#2 of 13 in San Bruno
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency San Francisco Airport - Burlingame
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Grosvenor Airport Hotel
Best Western Plus Grosvenor Airp...
#3 of 28 in South San Francisco
2,076 reviews
3.2 mi away
Bay Landing Hotel
Bay Landing Hotel
#2 of 12 in Burlingame
1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Montes Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Montes Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel

Address: 620 El Camino Real, San Bruno, CA 94066-3530
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Bruno
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Bruno
Price Range: $119 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Montes Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Montes Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Montes
Clarion Collection San Bruno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing