We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel near the airport”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Villa Montes Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in San Bruno
Certificate of Excellence
St. Louis
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great hotel near the airport”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We were looking for a hotel near the airport for the night before a flight out of SFO. The Villa Montes was clean, with a modern, eclectic feel. Taylor at the front desk was very friendly and helpful when we checked in and gave us directions to the CalTrain, since we had baseball tickets that night. The room was nicely appointed, but the bathroom could have used a towel rack, shelf and soap dish, as there was not much counter space. We had the room fan on all night, so weren't disturbed by either street or airport noise. The breakfast was the typical Choice Hotels continental breakfast, but with actual dishes, silverware and glasses. The breakfast room was pretty and even had tableclothes. Instead of the usual airport shuttle, they use a cab service. We had to wait a little while, but better than sitting on a shuttle that is making numerous stops.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StLouisFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    135
    32
    8
    9
See reviews for
101
195
32
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
125 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

We had an early flight out of SFO so we wanted to stay near the airport. The hotel is close to the airport and there are several gas stations on the way so you can fill up your rental car. I agree with several other reviewers. Our room was on the Camino Real side of the hotel and we could hear the street noise. Our room also smelled of mold or mustiness. There was no top sheet and the room was too warm to sleep with the duvet. We wanted to print our boarding passes for the next day and we had some trouble with the computer on our floor so we went up to the third floor and used the one there. We we up and out before the breakfast started so I can't comment on it. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. We appreciated the tea and cookies when we checked in. Overall, for being close to SFO this hotel fits the bill but I wouldn't stay here if I was touring in San Francisco.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms on the Camino Real side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AuntieFlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights recently. Used the hotel as a base to tour downtown SF sights without a car. BART station is a 20 minute easy & safe walk from hotel. Accommodations are very nice, clean, comfortable and modern, the rooms have plenty of space and staff is very friendly and helpful. Very close to airport so catching an early morning flight is about as painless as it can get given you are getting up very early. I would stay here again, but a couple of items to be aware of. Breakfast buffet was a bit Spartan so you might want to consider the IHOP right next door. Dinner choices for people on foot are fair to good, we chose West Coast Café (10 minute walk) per the hotel’s recommendation and were very happy with the meal. Also we were on the non-street side of the hotel so our room was very quiet, however you are by a large airport and the 747’s can take off at any time of the day (like Korean Air @ 3:00am). They’ll probably wake you up once or twice in the night, but they are pretty cool to watch out of your window too.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ColoradoDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Stayed here a few months ago. The hotel is nice and is furnished well. Could not use the small second floor pool because some other guest deceided to put Bubble Bath in it.

On the morning we were to leave, the power went out. Because the bathroom has no outside window, it was pitch black in there and we could not take a shower. I complained to the Manager, Mr. Robin Aloneftis, and could not believe what he told us. He said " the power going out was not my fault, it was the fault of the Power Company (PG&E) and therefore us not being able to shower, well, I am sorry for your inconvenience"

I tried to explain to his jerk that the ability to clean myself was the service I was paying for and not being able to do so was not just an "inconvience" it was a violation of the primary reason for staying at a hotel. The fact that I had to say this was insulting. I told him I expected a refund for not delivering the service. HE REFUSED! And instead offered the usual useless "discounts" for our next stay. This is what all lousy hotels do. Treat you like you are stupid.

Rude and condescending. He even suggested i complaint to PG&E. Really??? I travel a lot for business and stay at a hotel 1-2 nights a week. I was was a Choice Hotel Diamond Member. After this experience, I stopped using Choice Hotels.

His self richeousness stunk worse than we did.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beidup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
142 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

I always stay here when on business in the bay area. Believe all the reviews, this place is the best. Here's a tip: stay here when going to a game at either AT&T Park or Candlestick Park. It's a quick drive back to this hotel down the 101 and there is a fantastic hot tub and sauna to warm you up. Last night I left the ballpark gates at 9pm and I was in the hot tub by 940pm!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobe Sound, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

In order to break up our flight schedule from the East Coast to Singapore, we elected to spend the night near the San Francisco airport, and chose the Villa Montes hotel. We were shuttled from the airport to the hotel by taxi, which was complimentary, as was our return to the airport the next day.

We found very pleasant front desk staff when we checked in, who kindly explained the facilities offered by the hotel, as well as local restaurant suggestions for dinner. A reservation was made for our return to the airport the next day, and we went to our room, which was a non smoking King facing the front of the building, and the busy street. I was a bit concerned about traffic noise, but was happy to find that wasn't an issue. The room was very quiet, and the bed was comfortable, providing for a good night's sleep.

Our first impression of the hotel and our room was that of quiet elegance. Lovely fabrics and touches, as well as amenities found in larger hotels made our stay a very pleasant one. Complimentary WiFi, breakfast, and a cocktail reception was included in the rate, and for those who don't have a computer or iPad with them, a computer and printer located at the end of the hall, was available for guests to use. The hotel was very clean throughout, and unlike other hotels, the guest hallway was also quiet, despite the two story lobby and reception area.

There is a library across the street, and businesses in the immediate area. Next door is an IHOP, which was convenient, although not necessarily a gourmet choice for a meal. There is also a bus stop directly across the street, although we didn't venture out to explore.

The hotel is exactly as the photos appear online, and will not disappoint. Should our travels take us to the San Francisco airport area in the future, I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nonna-Papa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed at Villa Montes Hotel for two weeks with two little kids. It was a surprisingly good experience. We got a one bedroom suite for a price lesser than most hotels charge for one room. We were surprised and didn't expect much for what we were paying. Boy was it a nice surprise. The rooms are tastefully decorated, everything is nice and clean. Complimentary breakfast, free wireless internet and parking. The service is very good, the staff are nice and friendly. I have no complaints whatsoever.
The location is good too. It is fairly close to the airport, a CalTrain station and a Bart station, easy freeway access. It is a good midpoint between the city and the peninsula. Walking distance from downtown San Bruno with a variety of restaurants and shops.
The bottom line is you get excellent value for your money. I would definitely stay here again and would recommend this place to my friends.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Runyasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Bruno
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS El Rancho Inn
0.3 mi away
Super 8 San Bruno /SF Intl Arpt West
1.3 mi away
Millwood Inn & Suites
Millwood Inn & Suites
#3 of 7 in Millbrae
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront
0.7 mi away
Hotel Aura San Bruno
Hotel Aura San Bruno
#3 of 13 in San Bruno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
3.2 mi away
Bay Landing Hotel
Bay Landing Hotel
#3 of 12 in Burlingame
4.5 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Montes Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Montes Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel

Property: Villa Montes Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Address: 620 El Camino Real, San Bruno, CA 94066
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Bruno
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Bruno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Montes Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Despegar.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Montes Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Montes
Clarion Collection San Bruno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing